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The First Session of the 60th Oklahoma Legislature began with new leadership in both chambers and concluded with a series of
achievements aimed at making long-term investments for current and future Oklahomans.

The Legislature prioritized comprehensive income tax reform, which included a quarter-percent reduction in the top marginal tax
rate. This change sets the foundation for potential future reductions through a new trigger mechanism and simplifies the tax system
by reducing the number of tax brackets. Economic development was also a top priority, with the establishment of several high-impact
rebate and incentive programs designed to attract significant investment and innovation to the state. Similarly to previous sessions,
education continued to be a central focus as well. The Legislature emphasized in-person learning by limiting virtual school days and
enacting a “bell to bell” ban on cellphone use for students to minimize distractions in the classroom.

Additional investments were made in public safety, health care, and infrastructure. New programs were created to support childcare
workers, provide remedies for elder abuse, and expand behavioral health services. Legislators also aimed to modernize government
operations, reduce burdensome court fees, and improve oversight of administrative rules. m
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' Agriculture, Rural
Development, & Wildlife

Agriculture

HB 1126 prohibits the false advertisement
of food products and the sale of misbranded
food. The Oklahoma Department of
Agriculture, Food, and Forestry must
investigate all credible complaints
regarding food products that are falsely
advertised or misbranded as meat products.

HB 1588 directs the Oklahoma
Conservation Commission to conduct a
comprehensive water quality study to
determine the best course of action for
protecting and improving the health of the
Spring Creek watershed through voluntary,
incentive-based programs.

HB 1356 V0 requires an individual entering
or exiting through gates to a property
designated as an easement to maintain
the gate position. Violators can be found
guilty of a misdemeanor.

HB 1541 requires no single linked deposit
for an at-risk farm or ranch to exceed $1
million and no single linked deposit for a
healthy corner store to exceed $350,000.
The amount of money the State Treasurer
can invest in all linked deposit programs
is increased to the lesser of $500 million
or 15 percent of all available monies for
investment. Lastly, the measure also
allows the State Board of Agriculture to

use a designee to review any completed
agricultural linked deposit loan packages.

HB 1542 removes the requirement for the
state’s reference standards for weighing
and measuring to be sent to the National
Institute of Standards and Technology for
certification. The measure requires them
to be sent to a qualified laboratory.

Wildlife

SB 777 prohibits wild fish from being
sold as a wild-born commodity. A licensed
producer may collect fish broodstock from
public waters, up to the normal possession
limit set by a recreational fishing license, to
use solely for propagation in a recirculating
aquaculture system. Meat and other
consumable products from a captive fish
system may be sold in or out of state with
proper permits. Live fish may also be sold
according to the Department of Wildlife
Conservation’s (ODWC) restrictions. The
department may establish processes and
fees to facilitate broodstock transactions
between the state and in-state aquatic
propagators.

SB 448 requires nonresidents to obtain
written authorization from ODWC before
hunting in a wildlife management area.
The Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation

Commission must create a lottery system as
needed for the distribution of nonresident
permits and charge a permit fee not to
exceed $100.

SB 1073 requires special hunting permits
for wildlife with no open season and
mountain lions to be administered through
a raffle. The measure also allows all special
permits issued by the Oklahoma Wildlife
Conservation Commission to be co-branded
in association with the Governor.

SB 1077 allows deceased, intact Cervidae
to be transported to a taxidermist in the
state with good standing.

SB 447 allows any person to forage for
nuts and edible plants or fungi on certain
state-owned or state-managed property
for personal consumption. Collected nuts
and edible plants or fungi cannot be
resold, and foragers are encouraged to
wear hunter orange outer garments so they
are clearly visible. The measure prohibits
the foraging of nuts and edible plants or
fungi that are threatened, endangered,
or from crops certified by the Oklahoma
Agricultural Experiment Station system
or the Oklahoma Cooperative Extension
Service. Foraging is allowed in Wildlife
Management Areas after July 1, 2026. m

Editor’s note: Measures with Y were vetoed by the Governor and overridden by the Legislature.
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5 Alcohol, Tobacco, &
~ Controlled Substances

Alcohol

SB 1032 allows an establishment licensed
by the Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage
Laws Enforcement Commission (ABLE)
to avoid liability for certain actions of their
employees if those employees maintain
a valid ABLE license and have a seller-
server training certificate within 14 days
of employment. The establishment must
adopt written policies and procedures that
prohibit certain actions and ensure that all
employees have read and understood them.

A licensed establishment asserting an
affirmative defense must provide an
affidavit to ABLE no later than 10 days
after receiving a violation notice. Actions
of an employee not possessing a valid
license will be attributable to the licensed
establishment. Proof by ABLE that a
prohibited action was performed on three
or more occasions in a year will create a
rebuttable presumption that a licensed
establishment has indirectly encouraged
a violation of the law.

HB 2369 establishes a $50 event bartender
license. Alcoholic beverages served on the
premises of an event venue must be served
by an ABLE-licensed caterer or event
bartender licensee. No later than 14 days
after initial licensure, the event bartender
licensee must successfully complete an in-
person training program conducted by an
ABLE-approved entity. Proof of completion
must be made available at the event venue.

HB 1062 allows individuals who are 18
years of age or older to open and serve beer
and wine from their original containers.
Additionally, these individuals may serve
pre-mixed beer, wine, and spirits from
a shaker tin, provided the mixture was
prepared in advance by an employee who
is at least 21 years old.

HB 1270 requires ABLE to notify a
license applicant of any deficiencies in
their application and the actions needed
to correct it within 10 days of receipt. The
applicant has a reasonable period of time
to make corrections after which ABLE will

deliver their decision within 20 days. If
ABLE denies a license, they must specify
their reasoning in writing.

HB 2803 revises provisions governing
agreements between beer distributors and
brewers. If a brewer ends its agreement
with a distributor and hires a new
distributor, the new distributor must buy
any remaining unexpired inventory at
the price the previous distributor paid for
it. The measure also requires any AAA
arbitrator used must have at least 15 years
of experience in franchise law and use the
laws of the state where the distributor is
located.

SB 1031 allows a holder of a beer distributor
license and wine and spirits wholesaler
license under common ownership to obtain
a wine and spirits wholesaler license
without limitations. The measure clarifies
that this does not apply to a retail spirits
license.

HB 2804 clarifies that ABLE licensees may
not knowingly receive any unauthorized
alcoholic beverage.

Medical Marijuana

HB 2807 allows licensed medical marijuana
transporters to temporarily store products
that are documented and traceable in
the seed-to-sale tracking system. The
measure also requires pre-rolls to be sold in
prepackaged form. Dispensaries must sell
or dispose of all non-prepackaged inventory
by November 1, 2025.

SB 1066 requires the Oklahoma Medical
Marijuana Authority (OMMA) to maintain
a registry of recommending physicians. A
physician must be registered to provide a
medical marijuana recommendation to a
licensed patient.

HB 2837 requires all employees of medical
marijuana businesses to complete an
OMMA-approved training course and
submit proof of completion to receive their
employee credentials.

SB 774 modifies provisions regarding the
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identification number on medical marijuana
licenses used to validate the authenticity
of the license. The ID number must be 12
characters instead of 24 and must use a
specific type of barcode. This applies to any
new or replacement patient licenses issued
after the act’s effective date.

SB 518 requires labels on medical
marijuana containers to warn against using
marijuana while driving or pregnant. The
label must also say the product has been
tested for contaminants.

SB 1039 allows a rejected medical
marijuana patient applicant to submit any
missing application information within 30
days of rejection. The measure also requires
medical marijuana business, transporter,
dispensary, and other applicants to pay all
fees in full within 45 days of notification or
have their application denied.

Miscellaneous

SB 398 modifies the registration of
controlled dangerous substances. The
director of the Oklahoma State Bureau of
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control
(OBNDD) must issue a written order
showing cause before the registration of
a controlled dangerous substance can be
revoked. All proceedings must be conducted
in accordance with the Administrative
Procedures Act and OBNDD regulations,
except where more specific provisions of the
Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances
Act apply. Jurisdiction solely exists in the
district court of Oklahoma County. The
measure also allows a subpoena to be
modified or quashed if the show cause
order contains unnecessary information
or testimony.

SB 891 modifies the Oklahoma Kratom
Consumer Protection Act. The measure:

¢ Requires any tests requested by
the State Department of Health to
come from an independent testing
laboratory;

e Modifies the definition of kratom



product to include synthesized
kratom constituents; and

¢ Removes the requirement for
packaged powdered kratom products
to include a calibrated measuring
device. m
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Banking, Business, &
Economic Development

Banking and Financial Services

HB 2765 transfers the administration of
the Invest in Oklahoma program from
the Oklahoma Center for Advancement
of Science and Technology to the State
Treasurer and expands the program to
allow direct investments in Oklahoma
companies. The measure also renames
and restructures the five-member Cash
Management and Investment Oversight
Commission, now called the Invest in
Oklahoma Board. The board members
consist of the Governor, Lieutenant
Governor, State Auditor and Inspector,
and two appointees—one from the Speaker
of the House and one from the President
Pro Tempore of the Senate. The board must
establish investment parameters for the
program and approve the appointments
and contracts of investment advisors and
fiduciary managers hired by the State
Treasurer. Within the board’s parameters,
the State Treasurer may place cash balance
amounts for the program.

HB 1549 updates the Oklahoma Private
Activity Bond (PAB) Allocation Act by
consolidating the number of statutory
activity pools, shortening the application
window for pool volume cap allocations,
and modifying their volume caps. The new
allocation deadline is June 30, and any
unallocated sums remaining in the pools
will be placed in the Consolidated Pool.

Unused funds in the Consolidated Pool
as of December 1 may be carried forward.
The measure also outlines the order for
allocations based on when the project
applications are received.

SB 1083 VO establishes various
requirements for the placement, operation,
and use of digital asset kiosks. The
measure:

¢ Requires digital asset kiosk
operators to be licensed as money
transmitters to engage in digital
asset kiosk transactions;

Requires operators to notify the
Banking Department at least 10
days prior to locating or relocating a
kiosk;

Requires operators to submit a
quarterly report on the location of
each in-state kiosk;

Requires each kiosk to provide terms
disclosures and physical receipts
when possible;

Establishes a $2,000 daily
transaction limit for customers;

Limits a transaction’s charges and
fees to 15 percent of the U.S. dollar
equivalent of the digital assets
involved;

¢ Requires operators to employ

HB 1549
Activity Pool Type Current Vol Cap (%) |New Vol Cap (%)
Student Loan Pool 15.5 10
Economic Development Pool 12 25
Qualified Small Issue Pool 12 0 (eliminate/consolidate)
Beginning Agricultural Producer Pool |1 0 (eliminate/consolidate)
Exempt Facility Pool 2.5 0 (eliminate/consolidate)
Housing Pool 15 40
State Issuer Pool 4 0 (eliminate/consolidate)
Metropolitan Area Housing Pool 12.5 0 (eliminate/consolidate)
Rural Area Housing Pool 8 0 (eliminate/consolidate)
Local Issuer Single Family 17.5 0 (eliminate/consolidate)
Discretionary Pool 0 25 (new)
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compliance officers, use blockchain
technology, and take reasonable
steps to prevent fraudulent
transactions;

Requires operators to provide live
customer service assistance through
a toll-free number from 8 a.m. to 10
p.m. Central Time; and

e Considers violating the license
requirement as a misdemeanor
punishable by a fine of $600 to
$2,000 per violation, imprisonment
of 30 days to one year, or both fine
and imprisonment.

HB 2080 clarifies the distribution of
funds in a share or deposit account with a
“payable on death” designation. If neither
primary nor contingent beneficiaries are
living at the time of the account owner’s
death, the funds go to the account owner’s
estate instead of the deceased beneficiaries’
estates.

HB 1541 requires no single linked deposit
for an at-risk farm or ranch to exceed $1
million and no single linked deposit for a
healthy corner store to exceed $350,000.
The amount of money the State Treasurer
can invest in all linked deposit programs
is increased to the lesser of $500 million
or 15 percent of all available monies for
investment. Lastly, the measure also
allows the State Board of Agriculture to
use a designee to review any completed
agricultural linked deposit loan packages.

HB 2072 repeals the obsolete Task Force
for the Study of State Banking Services.

Business

SB 662 requires the Oklahoma Workforce
Commission (OWC) to implement programs
to develop the workforce in high-demand
or critical occupations, expand work-
based learning opportunities, and grow
innovation in public schools for workforce
success. The commission must also serve
as the centralized data repository for the
state’s workforce development activities



and provide data for the Legislature’s
interactive Workforce & Infrastructure
Working Group map.

SB 663 transfers the Workforce
Coordination Revolving Fund from the
Oklahoma Department of Commerce (ODC)
to OWC. The fund may be used to create
a workforce data integration system and
provide grants for critical workforce needs
that align with the funding policies set by
the Education and Economic Development
Working Group within the Joint Committee
on Pandemic Relief Fund.

HB 1833 establishes the 11-member
Rethinking Paying Subminimum Wage
to Persons with Disabilities Task Force to
operate until November 1, 2027. The task
force must develop a plan to phase out
subminimum wage payments to workers
with disabilities under 14(c) certificates.
The map below shows the states that have
already done this. The goal is to transition
these workers to competitive, integrated
employment at or above minimum wage or
alternative day programs for those unable
or uninterested in transitioning.

SB 638 amends the Unfair Sales Act
by removing the requirement that
retailers include a six percent markup on
merchandise. The measure also creates a
misdemeanor crime for selling motor fuel

below cost, which may be punishable by a
fine of up to $1,000.

SB 677 allows sellers to offer discounts
to customers who pay with cash, check,
or debit cards instead of credit cards. If
a seller wants to impose a surcharge on
credit card transactions, they must clearly
display the surcharge amount both in-store
and online. For phone transactions, the
surcharge must be verbally disclosed to the
customer. The surcharge is limited to the
retailer’s processing cost or two percent of
the total transaction amount, whichever is
less. If a seller only accepts credit cards,
a surcharge cannot be imposed. The
measure also repeals the section of law
prohibiting surcharges on credit and debit
card transactions.

SB 642 allows a general contractor to
provide workers’ compensation insurance
to a subcontractor and their employees
through a written agreement. The general
contractor may deduct the insurance
premium costs from the contract price or
the subcontractor’s pay. The measure also
increases the permanent partial disability
workers’ compensation cap from $360 to
$375 per week beginning July 1, 2025.

SB 1076 increases the maximum gross
annual payroll limit from $100,000 to
$150,000 for agriculture, ranching, and

horticulture employers before their workers
are counted as employees under the
Administrative Workers’ Compensation
Act. The measure also exempts children
working on farms, ranches, livestock
markets, or other agricultural businesses
owned by their parents from being classified
as employees under the act.

SB 95 excludes unpaid individuals
participating in temporary work
arrangements, such as interns and
apprentices, from being considered
employees under the Administrative
Workers’ Compensation Act.

SB 250 eliminates the 50 percent limit on
how much of an employee’s minimum wage
can be compensated with tips, meals, or
lodging. The measure allows employers to
count these benefits toward the minimum
wage as long as they pay at least the federal
minimum wage requirement of $2.13 per
hour.

SB 626 requires an individual or entity
owning or licensing computerized personal
data to notify the Attorney General of any
data breach. Breaches affecting fewer than
500 Oklahomans are exempt from this
requirement, as are breaches involving a
credit union that affect fewer than 1,000
Oklahomans. Failure to comply may lead to
civil penalties of up to $150,000 per breach,

HB 1833 | Subminimum Wage Task Force

2021

OK House GIS Services
26-0207
Saurce: US, Goavernment Accountability Office

State name

)

States that have banned subminimum wages
for workers with disabilities

Year the legislation banning or phasing out
wagqges under 14{e) certificates became law
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depending on severity. Violators may also
face actual damages and an additional
$75,000 penalty for not implementing
reasonable safeguards to protect personal
information. The measure also expands the
definition of personal information within
the Security Breach Notification Act.

SB 911 decreases the percentage of the
state’s average annual wage used to
determine the conditional factor rate
for unemployment taxable wages and
creates a quarterly table for this rate.
The measure also increases the minimum
balance required in the Unemployment
Compensation Fund from $25 million to
$50 million.

SB 377 amends the Fair Practices of
Equipment Manufacturers, Distributors,
Wholesalers’, and Dealers Act. The measure
prohibits equipment suppliers from
preventing dealers from selling competing
brands or requiring separate facilities for
different brands. However, suppliers may
restrict a dealer from selling competing
products if the dealer sources at least 80
percent of its new equipment and has
annual sales exceeding $40 million from
that supplier over the past five years. The
measure also prohibits a supplier from
unreasonably withholding consent to a
dealer’s sale or transfer of business request
without good cause.

HB 1628 requires the Construction
Industries Board (CIB) to administer
residential roofing endorsement
requirements in the same manner as
commercial roofing. The measure further
outlines exam requirements for residential
roofing contractors and modifies the
penalties for violations on a residential job.
Instead of a warning, CIB may levy a fine
of up to $500 for a first violation and $1,000
for the second violation. Additionally, CIB
must be listed as a certificate holder on
a contractor’s liability insurance policy.
The residential roofing endorsement does
not apply to roofing contractors who work
under an endorsed roofing contractor and
only provide roofing construction without
supplying materials.

HB 1216 VO requires fines for any second
or subsequent violation of CIB regulations
to be five times the amount of the initial
offense and allows CIB to seek collection
of unpaid, finalized administrative fines
beginning 90 days after final disposition.

HB 2085 authorizes the Uniform Building
Code Commission to establish a continuing
education and training process for all
construction industry workers affected by
code adoption. The training is free for state-
licensed building code officials, but a fee
may be assessed to all other participants.
The commission must also establish a
workforce development process to increase
the number of code officials in the state.

HB 1256 allows CIB to contract with any
accredited educational institution in the
state that offers skilled trade courses,
rather than being limited to only vocational
or technical schools.

HB 1257 allows a person to file a
complaint with CIB when a roofing
contractor unlawfully offers a homeowner
compensation for hiring them. All
complaints must be open to the public and
forwarded to the Insurance Department,
the Attorney General, and the district
attorney.

SB 516 removes the requirement for a
registrar to notate roofing contractor
responses to complaints in their record.

SB 751 increases the maximum
construction value from $158,000 to
$300,000 for government-owned buildings,
including public trust buildings, to be
exempt from the State Architectural and
Licensed Interior Designers Act.

HB 2084 provides that if an electrical
contractor or journeyman does not complete
their required 12 continuing education
hours within three years of license renewal,
those required hours must be retroactively
completed before their license can be
renewed again. Upon renewal, another 12
hours of continuing education are required
for the next three-year period. The same
renewal process and timeline apply to an
apprentice who fails to complete their three
hours of continuing education.

SB 1075 establishes disclosure
requirements for real estate wholesalers
and provides that failure to follow the
requirements will invalidate a sales
contract. Wholesalers must tell the
homeowner if they intend to sell the
property at a higher price, must suggest
that the homeowner seek legal advice, and
must let the homeowner cancel the contract
within two business days without penalty.
The measure also prohibits wholesalers
from claiming to act on a homeowner’s
behalf or misrepresenting themselves as
licensed professionals. Wholesalers may
not place liens or otherwise cloud the title
of the property.

SB 877 requires real estate license holders
to complete a Real Estate Commission-
specified number of continuing education
hours on deed theft by November 1, 2028.
The measure also requires real estate
brokers to notify buyers of the signs and
risks of deed theft upon closing a sale.

HB 1646 removes the state-mandated
minimum classroom hours for trainee
real estate appraiser certification. Instead,
education requirements will follow the
Appraiser Qualification Criteria established
by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of
the Appraisal Foundation.

SB 1062 allows a real estate broker or
owner to compensate any licensed real
estate professional for providing brokerage
services.

HB 1076 creates a statewide licensing
system for food truck operators, allowing
them to operate anywhere in the state
provided they follow local health and
zoning regulations. Food truck vendors
must provide a copy of their state license
to a local authority who must authorize
them to operate within five days provided
all local regulations are followed. A food
truck operating in a county governed by a
city-county health department must obtain
a local food establishment license.

Food trucks must keep their vehicles clean
and in good repair, display their licenses,
and notify the State Department of Health
(OSDH) and local officials before serving at
mass gatherings. They must also provide
trash receptacles and maintain cleanliness
within a 25-foot radius.

Lastly, the measure allows the State
Commissioner of Health to promulgate
rules, with certain exceptions. Any food
truck vendor who has been notified of a
possible suspension or revocation of their
license may request an administrative
hearing. OSDH may issue civil penalties
to a mobile food vendor operating without
a license or with a suspended or revoked
license.

HB 2286 creates an Assistant Funeral
Director license. To obtain a license,
the person must be at least 18 years of
age and have earned at least 60 hours
from a regionally accredited college or
university. Licenses are issued by the
Oklahoma Funeral Board upon completion
of the Oklahoma State Law Examination
for Funeral Directors, submission of the
application and recommendation letter,
and payment of the $150 application fee.
Assistant funeral director licensees must
be registered under the Oklahoma licensed
funeral director who supervises them.
Licenses expire December 31st of each
year and must be renewed prior to the
expiration date. Assistant funeral directors
are subject to the continuing education
requirement for license renewal.

HB 1365 adds the following options to
the list of exams an applicant for funeral
directing or embalming licensure may pass
for certification:

¢ The International Conference of
Funeral Service Examining Board
National Board Arts Exam;

¢ The Oklahoma Funeral Directors
Exam; or

¢ The Oklahoma Embalmers Exam.
HB 2736 requires all criminal background
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checks for a public accountant application
to be conducted by the Oklahoma State
Bureau of Investigation and be provided
to the Oklahoma Accountancy Board. The
measure also removes the requirement that
applicants reside in the state immediately
prior to submitting their application.

HB 1819 V° increases the cap on the yearly
optometry license fee set by the Board of
Examiners in Optometry from $300 to $500.

SB 672 requires the Governor to have
documented scientific evidence that the
nature of a particular business would
contribute to the spread of disease prior
to issuing an executive order closing such
businesses during a presidentially- or
gubernatorially-declared pandemic. Before
closing businesses, the Governor must send
a notice to each affected business and allow
time for a hearing.

SB 111 requires individuals installing more
than one sewage disposal system per year
to obtain certification from the Department
of Environmental Quality.

SB 644 clarifies that the Massage Therapy
Practice Act does not affect local zoning or
licensing requirements for massage therapy
business locations.

Economic Development

SB 987 creates the nine-member ODC
Board to:

¢ Set rules and policies for the
department;

¢ Approve strategic plans and
budgets;

¢ Advise in appointing and
compensating the chief executive
officer;

¢ Endorse economic projects with
the Legislative Evaluation and
Development Committee; and

¢ Submit annual reports to the
Governor and Legislature
recommending future activities.

The Secretary of Commerce serves as the
board’s chair. Board members must have at
least five years of private sector experience
and expertise in certain fields. Member
appointments must include representation
from municipalities with populations of
50,000 or less.

HB 2781 creates the Reindustrialize
Oklahoma Act (ROA-25), an investment
rebate program administered by ODC.
The program will run until July 1,
2045, offering rebates to manufacturing
establishments that invest a minimum
of $2 billion in capital expenditures and
create at least 700 new direct jobs within
the first year of the rebate period. By
year two, the jobs threshold increases

to 1,000 for the remainder of the rebate
period. The establishment must also meet
the Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program
requirements, but it may not receive
Quality Jobs rebate payments for any
project or development receiving ROA-25
rebate payments.

To set up a funding stream for the rebate
payments, the State Treasurer must
purchase a 15-year annuity from funds
appropriated to the ROA-25 Revolving
Fund upon receiving notice of a satisfactory
project feasibility study from ODC. The
annuity distributions then transfer to
the ROA-25 Beneficiary Fund each year
to provide ODC with the funding to
issue rebate payments to the qualifying
establishment.

A companion measure to HB 2781, SB 1000
transfers $255 million to the ROA-25
Revolving Fund. $180 million will come
from the Perform Fund, and the remaining
$75 million will come from funds previously
appropriated to ODC.

SB 209 creates the Taiwan Regional Trade
Office within ODC to facilitate economic
relationships between Oklahoma-based
businesses and businesses in the Taiwan
region. The office must:

e Maintain a physical office in Taipei;

* Promote business-to-business trade
between Oklahoma and Taiwan-
region businesses;

¢ Provide information and resources
to Oklahoma businesses about trade
opportunities;

¢ Foster positive relationships with
Taiwan-region governments in line
with U.S. foreign policy;

¢ Coordinate business outreach and
activities with ODC;

¢ Organize and fund trade-related
travel between Oklahoma and
Taiwan-region countries;

¢ Monitor relevant federal-level trade
actions and advocate for Oklahoma’s
involvement;

¢ Offer training programs for
Oklahoma businesses about trading
with the Taiwan region;

¢ Create and distribute promotional
and educational materials; and

e Undertake other activities aligned
with its mission to build trade ties.

SB 1171 repeals the Perform Act and its
corresponding investment rebate program.

SB 324 VO creates the Oklahoma Research
and Development Rebate Fund and Program
to allow qualifying establishments to

receive a five percent rebate reimbursement
for qualified research expenditures. The
program will be administered by ODC
and is limited to a $20 million cap every
fiscal year.

HB 2110 creates the Bringing Sitcoms
Home from Hollywood Pilot Program Act
and establishes an incentive rebate program
for live audience episodic series that are
filmed or produced in Oklahoma. The
measure outlines the incentive structure
and a list of qualified activities that would
increase the incentive percentage. The
minimum base rebate is 25 percent, and
the maximum incentive is 30 percent.

To qualify, an eligible project must have a
minimum budget of $200,000 per episode,
have at least six episodes per season,
and have a minimum of 50 live audience
members in attendance for each episode.
The production company must also utilize
apprentice services to qualify for the rebate.
The number of apprentices required on a
project depends on the amount of qualified
Oklahoma expenditures being claimed for
the incentive rebate. Furthermore, the
production company must feature an
approved logo in its closing credits for at
least five seconds.

If a production company is also claiming
a sales tax exemption for production
expenses, it is barred from receiving the
rebate payments unless it repays the
full amount of the sales tax exemption to
the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC).
Application for the rebate program will
be administered by the Department of
Commerce Film and Music Office, and
payments will be issued from OTC to
eligible production companies. The program
has a $10 million annual funding cap and
will sunset on July 1, 2032.

HB 2374 V© expands the Filmed in
Oklahoma Act of 2021 by adding animation,
commercials, documentaries, feature films,
game shows, pilots, reality television,
scripted television, and talk shows to
the definition of film. The measure also
removes the salary restriction for above-
the-line personnel and requires loan-out
company employees to pay state income
tax on services performed in Oklahoma.

HB 2794 appropriates the following
amounts from the Progressing Rural
Economic Prosperity (PREP) Fund to ODC:

e $5 million for a municipal park in
Oklahoma County located north of
1-344 and west of 1-35;

e $4 million to relocate a naval
submarine located east of State
Highway 165 and north of State
Highway 62; and

¢ $1.8 million for infrastructure
improvements at an industrial park
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located south of State Highway 62
and east of State Highway 283.

SB 578 extends the sunset date of the
Oklahoma Quality Events Incentive Act
from June 30, 2026, to June 30, 2031.

HB 2768 modifies the Oklahoma Quality
Jobs Incentive Leverage Act by increasing
the maximum investment cap for qualified
establishments from $250 million to $700
million.

HB 2746 modifies the health insurance
coverage requirement for the Oklahoma
Remote Quality Jobs Incentive Act.
Qualifying employers must provide basic
health insurance and cover at least 50
percent of the premium costs for their
employees. Employee assistance plan
services do not count towards this
requirement.

SB 473 directs any entity receiving funding
from the Rural Economic Action Plan
(REAP) to develop a plan to measure the
qualitative effects of at least two REAP-
funded projects and submit a report to
ODC by January 1, 2028.

SB 586 categorizes leased and contract
employees as a business’s own employees
for new direct job creation requirements
under the Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program.

SB 573 requires a small business tenant
claiming the incubator tax credit to
submit an annual form to ODC to continue
qualifying for the credit. The form must
include employment levels, interns
employed, payments to subcontractors,
gross annual revenues, annual costs for
property and services, any additional
financial assistance, and taxable income.

SB 575 requires entities receiving incentive
payments for constructing or expanding
facilities in enterprise zones to give ODC
consent to report information to the
Incentive Evaluation Commission on a
per-project basis.

Insurance

HB 1084 prohibits the solicitation or
acceptance of assignment agreements for
post-loss insurance benefits for property
damage under auto, residential, or
commercial property insurance policies.

HB 1512 authorizes the Insurance
Commissioner to apply for a federal waiver
with the U.S. Secretary of Health and
Human Services that would allow the
state to modify certain requirements of
the Affordable Care Act. The commissioner
may also establish and operate a health
insurance marketplace exchange.

HB 1160 reforms the Oklahoma Property
and Casualty Insurance Guaranty
Association Act, which serves as a backstop

to cover claims when an insurer becomes
insolvent. Notable changes include setting
a $300,000 payment limit for single-event
cybersecurity insurance claims paid by
the association and giving the association
discretion to pay cybersecurity claims on
behalf of a high net worth insured. The
association may also join organizations of
similar state associations and designate
such organizations as liaisons in order
to bind the association in agreements or
settlements with receivers of insolvent
insurance companies. Furthermore, the
measure prohibits insurers from using
the association’s existence to sell or solicit
insurance and excludes any insurance
provided by a government from the
provisions of the act.

HB 1497 adopts the group capital
calculation instructions and liquidity stress
test framework developed by the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners
(NAIC) as tools that the Insurance
Commissioner can use to enhance insurance
group supervision. The measure requires
insurers to include their annual capital
ratio and stress test results with their
registration unless the insurer meets
specific exemption criteria set by NAIC.
The Insurance Commissioner may share
confidential regulatory information with
a third-party consultant, provided they
maintain confidentiality. However, the
measure prohibits publicly disseminating
information about an insurer’s group
capital ratio or liquidity stress test results
to prevent misleading comparisons.

HB 1498 is the omnibus Oklahoma
Insurance Department clean-up bill, which
modifies various insurance provisions
related to prepaid funeral benefits, cemetery
merchandise, and medical liability trusts.
Changes include:

¢ Requiring prepaid funeral benefit
and cemetery merchandise permit
holders to respond to any inquiry
from the Insurance Commissioner
within 20 days and notify the
commissioner of any changes in
business name, address, or contact
information within 30 days;

¢ Allowing permit holders to apply to
renew an expired permit within 90
days of expiration with an additional
fee;

e Allowing a fixed annuity to cover
prepaid funeral benefits;

Reducing the notification period

for organizations to inform the
commissioner about the termination
of a cemetery merchandise surety
bond from 90 days to 30 days prior
to the bond’s termination;

¢ Removing the requirement for the

commissioner to submit a report
analyzing administrative costs of
medical professional liability trusts
and insurers providing medical
liability coverage;

Repealing the sections of law
requiring composite data reports
on closed medical liability claims to
be compiled, stored in a database,
and submitted to the Governor and
Legislature; and

Repealing a section of law that
exempts surplus lines insurers from
due diligence searches.

SB 1050 V° reduces the amount of time an
insurer has to request a refund for a paid
claim from 12 months to six months after
the payment is made to the claimant. When
the insurer is requesting a refund from a
health care provider, this period is reduced
from 18 months to 12 months. Any health
benefit plans that act outside of these time
limits are in violation of the Unfair Claims
Settlement Practices Act.

HB 1811 reduces the amount of time a
health care provider has to submit a timely
prior authorization request for continued
inpatient care for a chronic condition from
72 hours to 24 hours before the previously
approved care ends.

HB 1501 caps the commission payable to
a public insurance adjuster at 10 percent
of the settlement when adjusting for an
entity subject to the Governmental Tort
Claims Act.

SB 901 prohibits the Office of Management
and Enterprise Services from promoting
or marketing other forms of insurance
in conjunction with the firefighter Risk
Management Program.

SB 1135 exempts insurance premium
tax deposits into the Medicaid Health
Improvement Revolving Fund from
statutory apportionment requirements
starting calendar year 2025. The
measure also prohibits any accountable
care organization, provider-led entity,
commercial plan, or dental benefit manager
contracting with the Oklahoma Health
Care Authority from claiming the Home
Office Tax Credit.

HB 1516 raises the minimum age a minor
can contract for a life, accident, or health
insurance policy from 15 to 16 years of
age. The measure also requires parental
or guardian consent for a minor to hold
any type of insurance policy.

HB 1187 clarifies that when a state
employee opts out of a state-provided health
insurance plan, they do not have to be
covered by a group health insurance plan. m
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SB 139 requires school boards to adopt
policies prohibiting student cell phone
usage for the 2025-2026 school year. The
policy must include disciplinary actions for
violations. Schools may provide exceptions
for emergencies and for students who need
a phone to monitor health issues. Cell
phone policies become optional for school
districts beginning with the 2026-2027
school year.

A companion measure to SB 139, SB 1129
directs the Office of Educational Quality
and Accountability to use $500,000 of its
appropriated funds to administer a grant
program to purchase cell phone storage
equipment.

SB 140 creates the Oklahoma Math
Achievement and Proficiency Act. The
measure requires elementary school
students to be screened three times per
year for deficiencies or advancements
in math and provided appropriate math
instruction based on their results. The
measure also provides for summer math
academies and establishes new guidelines
for college teacher prep programs that train
math teachers.

HB 1087 requires schools to extend their
school year by one day. The measure
also adds 10 years to the teacher salary
schedule, extending it from 25 years of
experience to 35 years of experience. This
ensures teachers receive an annual raise
for 10 additional years.

SB 711 modifies provisions regarding
school A-F report cards. The measure:

¢ Prohibits chronic absenteeism from
being included as a measure of
school success on the state school
report cards;

¢ Modifies how school grades are
calculated;

¢ Allows schools to receive up to three
bonus points on their report card
for providing in-person classroom
instruction above 180 days and
1,080 hours; and

¢ Allows schools to receive up to two
bonus points on their report card for
improving their chronic absenteeism
rate.

The measure also requires the State Board
of Education (SBE) to amend the state
Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) plan
in accordance with the changes in the bill.
SBE must submit the proposed amendment
to the U.S. Department of Education by
August 1, 2025.

SB 364 prohibits school districts from
using corporal punishment on any student
identified with a disability in accordance
with the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act.

HB 2287 modifies the calculation of per-
pupil expenditure by requiring the following
expenses to be included:

* Academic instructional costs related
to career and technology education
programs in comprehensive schools
or at technology centers that
satisfy high school graduation
requirements; and

Instructional costs related to
concurrent classes that satisfy high
school graduation requirements.

SB 105 removes the requirement for a
student to have attended a public school
prior to applying for the Lindsey Nicole
Henry Scholarship. The measure also
requires the parents of students with
individualized education plans (IEP),
individualized service plans (ISP), or other
qualifications under the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act IDEA) to meet
annually with the private school to identify
necessary services for the student.

SB 758 limits the number of virtual days
and hours a school can count toward
its required amount of instruction time
starting with the 2026-2027 school year.
The measure allows a district to count up to
two days, or 12 hours, of virtual instruction
time toward its required 180 days or 1,080
hours, only if the following has occurred:
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The school board has approved the use of
virtual instruction;

The State Superintendent has approved
the district’s virtual instruction plan; and

A state of emergency or proclamation has
been issued by the Governor for a specific
reason relating to school district or charter
school operation.

SB 684 amends various provisions of
the Parental Choice Tax Credit Act. The
measure:

¢ Removes taxpayer information from
the online tax credit recipient list;

¢ Defines accrediting association
and requires participating schools
to meet the program accreditation
requirements by March 1, 2027;

Directs the Oklahoma Tax
Commission (OTC) to annually
calculate and apply a percentage
adjustment formula for the $5
million homeschooler tax credit cap;

Allows unused private school

credits to be reallocated to the next
fiscal year limits when a taxpayer
loses eligibility or chooses to forgo
participation in the program. If the
credit is forsaken prior to September
1, it may be reallocated for the
current application year to the next
eligible taxpayer;

Removes the requirement that the
private school credit be paid in two
installments and instead requires
the full credit amount to be paid by
August 30;

Requires the Oklahoma Department
of Human Services (DHS) and the
Oklahoma Health Care Authority
(OHCA) to verify an applicant’s
income-based benefit eligibility
when requested by OTC;

¢ Sets the application period for
the 2026-2027 school year and



subsequent years as March 15
through June 15;

Grants priority consideration for
claimants who received the credit in
the prior year, regardless of income.
First priority still goes to those with
a combined adjusted gross income
below $150,000; and

Requires participating private
schools to electronically provide
student enrollment information to
OTC by June 15 each year.

HB 1279 establishes procedures for
submitting and settling an appeal for
denial of a tax credit under the Oklahoma
Parental Choice Tax Credit Program. A
taxpayer must file a written protest within
15 days of receiving the denial notice. If an
oral hearing is requested by the taxpayer,
OTC must allow the taxpayer at least 10
days of lead time from the mailing date
to appear and present in support of their
protest. OTC has 60 days to decide on the
protest. This decision is final unless the
taxpayer appeals to the Oklahoma Supreme
Court within 30 days of a certified copy of
the order being mailed.

HB 2259 modifies multiple provisions of
the Education Open Transfer Act. The
measure grants the children of certain
military personnel a provisional transfer
into a school regardless of capacity,
provided the student lives in the district
boundaries within six months of filing for
the transfer. School districts are required to
accept a certain number of these provisional
transfers each year. The measure also
prohibits a school from denying a military
student’s transfer prior to establishing
residency for having an IEP, requiring
special education, or needing other special
accommodations. Lastly, the measure
clarifies that students with intra- and
inter-district transfers may automatically
maintain their transfer from year to year,
provided they are not denied a continuing
transfer based on certain attendance or
behavioral reasons.

SB 212 directs the Commission for
Educational Quality and Accountability
to create a two-year pilot program that
helps teacher prep programs develop
new, high-quality pathways for entering
the teaching profession. The commission
must hire a technical assistance provider
to evaluate each teacher prep program
that has applied. The technical assistance
provider must submit their findings to the
teacher prep programs in a report. The
programs must submit a response detailing
their plan for addressing any findings.
The commission will review all submitted
responses and select one to receive $500,000
and implement their plan.

HB 1466 gives school districts the

opportunity to request a hearing before
SBE if the board is considering a reduction
in their accreditation status. The measure
establishes the process a district must
follow when requesting a hearing and
requires SBE to promulgate rules for
the hearings in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act.

HB 1086 requires gifts, grants, or donations
that a school places in its general fund to
be included in its carryover calculation.
The measure also restores the penalty
issued to school districts that have
carryover balances above the allowable
amount. Lastly, the measure removes a
calculation used to determine the weighted
membership for students using online
instruction from districts where they are
not residents.

HB 1096 removes statutory references to
the American College Testing Program
(ACT) and replaces it with language
expanding testing options to other
college entrance exams, including the
ACT, Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT),
and Classical Learning Test (CLT). This
change allows a student’s score on the CLT
to qualify them for the Oklahoma State
Regents Academic Scholars Program and
also allows a student’s score on the SAT or
CLT to qualify them for the Oklahoma’s
Promise Scholarship. The measure requires
students to take the CLT exam at a brick-
and-mortar testing site.

SB 942 requires public schools and
universities to integrate the definition of
antisemitism into their codes of conduct
and integrate antisemitism awareness
into their training for staff and students.
The State Department of Education (SDE)
and the State Regents must designate a
Title VI coordinator to monitor antisemitic
discrimination and harassment, investigate
all submitted complaints, and submit an
annual report to the Legislature about the
state of antisemitism in schools.

SB 841 amends the Strong Readers Act by:

¢ Allowing an individual with
advanced training or specialization
in literacy instruction to be on the
student reading proficiency team;

Removing the requirement for
certain teacher candidates to pass a
reading instruction comprehensive
assessment prior to graduation, but
clarifies that those teachers still
must complete the assessment to
become certified; and

Clarifying that science of reading
training should be taught to
candidates seeking certification in
childhood education, elementary
education, and special education,
with completion of such training
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leading to a micro-credential for
these teachers.

SB 745 extends the cut-off age for
completing high school from 26 to 30.
Anyone over the age of 21 who is completing
their high school diploma must do so
through a virtual program. Such individuals
are excluded from being included in the
calculation of a school’s A-F report card
and chronic absenteeism data.

HB 1483 extends whistleblower protections
to school support employees.

HB 1393 modifies the process a school must
use to obtain parental consent for placing
a student with an IEP in the Oklahoma
Alternative Assessment Program (OAAP).
SBE must create a parental consent form
for school districts to use. The measure lists
the requirements of the form, including a
statement detailing the benefits and risks
of parental consent or refusal. Schools
must hold an IEP team meeting with the
parent if they determine the student should
participate in the OAAP. Parental consent
is required for a student to participate in
the OAAP unless the district documents
reasonable efforts to obtain consent without
parental response or the district obtains
approval through a due process hearing.

SB 387 expands eligibility for the STEM
Workforce Pipeline Program to include
individuals enrolled in a technology center
school.

HB 2047 requires schools to call 911 as
soon as possible when epinephrine is
administered to a student. The measure
further requires schools to provide teachers
and staff with annual training on food
allergies, recognizing anaphylaxis, and
administering epinephrine.

HB 1732 prohibits the Oklahoma Secondary
School Activities Association from signing
exclusive broadcasting agreements that
prevent local broadcasters from airing
public school sports competitions.

HB 2151 requires SDE to publish any
guidance documents received from the U.S.
Department of Education to a designated
public website within five days of receipt.

HB 1485 allows a teacher with an
emergency or provisional certificate to be
hired on a temporary contract.

HB 2743 clarifies that any cooperative
purchasing agreement entered into
by a school district cannot include new
construction. Funds from cooperative
purchasing agreements must be applied
to a district’s chargeables or direct
administrative costs. The measure prohibits
districts from taking a percentage of the
funds as profit.

HB 1940 allows the Office of Juvenile



Affairs to apply to create a charter school to
educate students who are in county custody.

HB 1958 allows a school board to submit an
affidavit to SDE as proof they took a specific
action instead of submitting approved board
minutes. The affidavit must be signed and
sworn by the applicable personnel. The
measure does not exempt a school board
from keeping minutes in accordance with
the Open Meetings Act.

SB 674 combines the Charter Schools
Incentive Fund and the Charter School
Closure Reimbursement Revolving Fund,
creating the Charter Schools Incentive and
Closure Reimbursement Fund.

Teachers

HB 1727 allows the children of public
school teachers to qualify for an Oklahoma’s
Promise scholarship under the following
conditions:

¢ The household income may not
exceed 700 percent of the federal
poverty level; and

The teacher must be a certified,
full-time teacher who has worked
in a public school district for at
least 10 years. This excludes
superintendents, principals, and
other administrators.

The measure also extends the scholarship
application deadline to December 31 of
a student’s senior year and to age 17 for
homeschooled students.

HB 1277 clarifies the circumstances
under which SBE may revoke or
suspend a teacher’s license. SBE may
not revoke or suspend a license without
first going through due process, unless
there is an emergency as defined in the
Administrative Procedures Act. SBE is
also required to notify a teacher and the
school superintendent of any investigation
into a teacher. It must also notify a teacher
and the school district via mail and email
within three days of filing an application
to revoke a teacher’s license.

SB 840 establishes a micro-credential for
certified teachers who complete Certified
Academic Language Therapist (CALT)
certification or Center for Effective Reading
Instruction (CERI). Individuals with such
micro-credentials may screen students for
and identify characteristics of dyslexia.

SB 235 provides matching funds to school
districts that offer financial assistance
to employees pursuing standard teacher
certification. Eligible school districts must
apply to SDE for the matching funds, which
will be provided on a first-come, first-served
basis. Any district that receives matching
funds must submit a report to SDE with a
status update on the employee’s progress

and their employment status. The general
appropriations bill provides $5 million in
funding for this initiative.

HB 1601 allows certain teachers to use
up to six weeks of accrued sick leave to
extend their statutorily-provided maternity
leave. A teacher’s maternity leave may not
exceed a total of 12 weeks, unless extra
time is recommended by a licensed medical
professional.

HB 1412 requires teachers who have
been designated as advanced, lead, or
master educators to receive stipends
instead of salary increases. The stipends
will not be included in the calculations for
minimum salary schedule or retirement
benefits. The measure also allows school
districts receiving the highest amounts of
Title I funding per student to designate
an additional 10 percent of teachers as
advanced, lead, or master.

HB 1465 clarifies the types of former
military service that count towards credit
on the teacher salary schedule.

HB 1955 clarifies that the Commission for
Educational Quality and Accountability
can pay up to $1,800 of selected teachers’
National Board certification costs. If a
teacher does not complete the certification
process, they will be required to repay any
money received. The measure also clarifies
that all teachers seeking initial National
Board certification can participate in the
Education Leadership Oklahoma mentoring
program for up to three years.

SB 794 requires the Commission for
Educational Quality and Accountability
to establish standard requirements for
student teachers. The requirements must
include the completion of a minimum
number of weeks of field experience and
the completion of a teacher apprenticeship
program.

Student Safety

HB 1075 modifies the procedure a school
district superintendent must follow when
filing a termination recommendation for
a teacher or administrator who is under
investigation for alleged abuse of a student.
The measure requires a superintendent to
submit a copy of their recommendation for
termination to SBE regardless of whether
the staff member resigns before or after the
recommendation is made.

SB 553 prohibits SDE from issuing a
teaching license to anyone who has been
convicted of failing to report suspected
child abuse or neglect. Any certified
teacher convicted of this crime will have
their teaching license revoked. Further, a
career teacher may be dismissed and not
reemployed for failure to report abuse.
School employees are required to annually
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sign an attestation acknowledging their
responsibility to report suspected child
abuse or neglect. Any time a teacher or
substitute teacher leaves a school district
and seeks a position at another district, the
measure requires their original district to
state in a letter whether the teacher was
alleged to have had inappropriate behavior
with a student.

HB 2798 creates a felony crime for any
school superintendent or administrator
who knowingly fails to promptly report
or interferes with the prompt reporting
of child abuse or neglect. The crime is
punishable by community service and two
to 10 years in prison, a fine of at least
$20,000, or both.

HB 2779 directs the Department of Public
Safety to use $750,000 of its appropriated
fiscal year 2026 funds for the School Secure
Program.

HB 1995 clarifies that resource officers and
security guards employed by a school can
be charged with the crime of rape when
the victim is a student.

SB 630 clarifies that contractors and
subcontractors employed by a school can
be charged with the crime of rape when
the victim is a student.

Higher Education

SB 796 prohibits state colleges and
universities from using state funds to
support diversity, equity, and inclusion
(DEI) positions, activities, or programs.
State colleges and universities are also
prohibited from requiring DEI statements
on applications, disclosure of personal
pronouns, and DEI-related training or
education. State colleges and universities
are required to review and eliminate
any such departments, activities, and
procedures and submit a certificate of
compliance to legislative leaders and the
Governor by July 1, 2026. The map on the
next page shows states that have enacted
similar policies.

SB 490 modifies provisions of the Student
Athlete Name, Image, and Likeness Rights
Act (NIL). The measure:

e Prohibits colleges and universities
from using state funds to make NIL
payments;

e Allows a college or university to
enter into exclusive or non-exclusive
licenses or endorsement agreements
for a student athlete’s NIL;

¢ Clarifies that students with NIL
deals are not employees of a
collegiate athletic association or
their school;

¢ Clarifies that TV or radio sports
broadcasters do not need athletes or



spectators to sign a release or NIL
license to broadcast the game;

¢ Allows a college or university to
revoke a student’s NIL agreement if
the student receives a payment that
is not permitted by the act or is not
permitted by the collegiate athletic
association; and

Clarifies that a NIL contract

cannot extend beyond the student’s
eligibility to play sports, but a school
can still use promotional materials
featuring the athlete after the
student’s eligibility has expired.

HB 1282 amends the existing Oklahoma
State Regents Academic Scholars Program
and renames it the Oklahoma Rising
Scholars Award Act. The measure provides
full-ride scholarships for up to five years to
students who score in the top 0.5 percent on
the ACT or SAT and have an exceptional
GPA or class rank, as determined by the
State Regents. Other qualified students
include Presidential Scholars, National
Merit Scholars, and National Merit
Finalists. Lastly, the measure establishes
how scholarship amounts will be calculated.

SB 31 creates a financial assistance
program to help eligible National Guard

members pay for a certification or licensure
program at a CareerTech school for up
to three years. The measure establishes
eligibility requirements and requires
a Guard member to repay a calculated
amount if they fail to comply with the
requirements. Guard members must
apply for all federal education grants and
scholarships before seeking assistance
through this scholarship.

HB 2257 clarifies that the Oklahoma
National Guard Educational Assistance
scholarship includes college enrollment
fees upon review and approval by the State
Regents for Higher Education (SRHE)
and the State Military Department. The
department may establish a cap on the
number of scholarship recipients per
semester. The measure also requires
scholarship recipients to have a Military
Occupational Specialty or Air Force
Specialty Code to maintain scholarship
eligibility after the first semester.

HB 1287 authorizes the University of
Oklahoma’s Board of Regents to create a
math tutoring pilot program within OU’s
College of Education. The program will
provide math help to the lowest performing
ninth grade students from the state’s
largest public school districts.

SB 701 authorizes SRHE to permit state
colleges and universities to offer courses or
degree programs outside of their assigned
function or mission to meet unmet workforce
needs. The measure also repeals a section
of law which prohibited undergraduate
courses offered through Oklahoma State
University from duplicating those offered
by Tulsa Community College.

HB 1017 creates a 10-member commission
to explore the feasibility of a new NCAA
Division II athletic conference among
colleges and universities within the state.
The commission is authorized to enter into
contracts with experts and consultants
when necessary and is required to submit
a report of its findings to the Legislature
within 12 months of its first meeting.

HB 2888 removes non-taxable income
sources from the calculation used to
determine financial eligibility for an
Oklahoma Tuition Equalization Grant.

HB 2903 repeals a section of law creating
a student advisory board to SRHE.

SB 283 expands the amount of transactions
SRHE can finance through the master lease
program each year. m
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HB 2164 VO raises the penalty for public
corruption from a misdemeanor to a felony.
A person convicted of public corruption
is prohibited from holding any public
office in the state, and any corruption
violation is grounds for termination of
state employment. An officer, employee,
or contractor of a state agency who
obtains nonpublic information for personal
gain is guilty of a felony, punishable
by imprisonment of up to 5 years, a
fine of up to $10,000, or both fine and
imprisonment. Additionally, business or
familial relationships must be disclosed
in bid submissions to prevent collusion,
bid-rigging, and conflicts of interest.

HB 2235UNE ITEM VETO modifies the
compensation process for individuals
wrongly convicted of a crime. A person may
request expungement based on innocence
proven by DNA evidence or obtain a full
pardon from the Governor. Compensation
includes $50,000 for each year served in
prison, with an additional $50,000 per year
for time spent on death row. Individuals
released on parole or probation may
receive an extra $25,000 for each year
of supervision. Awards under $1 million
are paid as a lump sum, while those over
$1 million include an initial lump sum
of $1 million, followed by the remaining
payments over three years.

A provision that would have allowed the
individual to obtain state health insurance
and a provision that would have provided
higher education tuition waivers to the
individual and their children were line
item vetoed by the Governor.

HB 1001 creates Lauria and Ashley’s Law,
requiring anyone convicted of accessory to
murder in the first or second degree to serve
at least 85 percent of their sentence before
becoming eligible for parole.

HB 1003 increases the age limitation for
rape by increasing the age of consent to 18
years of age. The measure also removes an
age qualifier to clarify that sex between a
school employee and a student under the
age of 20 is considered rape. Additionally,

the measure modifies the Romeo and Juliet
exception by stating that a consensual act
between two people who are at least 16
years old is only considered rape if one
of them is more than 4 years older than
the other.

HB 1217 prohibits a person from engaging
in an adult performance that contains
obscene material on public property or in
a public place where a minor is present.
Political subdivisions are also prohibited
from allowing, permitting, organizing,
or authorizing an adult performance
containing obscene material in such
settings. Violators guilty of a misdemeanor,
punishable by imprisonment of up to one
year, a fine of $500 to $1,000, or both fine
and imprisonment.

HB 1460 removes the following court fees
assessed to various defendants:

¢ $5 for a misdemeanor possession of
marijuana or drug paraphernalia
offense;

* $15 for a misdemeanor or felony
DUI offense;

e $40 for an indigent representation
application;

$100 to the Drug Abuse Education
and Treatment Revolving Fund for a
DUI offense;

$300 per month for electronic
monitoring; and

Reimbursement to law enforcement
for costs incurred while cleaning an
illegal drug laboratory site.

HB 1462 directs the court to prioritize
payments for restitution to the victim when
sentencing an offender. The court clerk
must inquire whether restitution is owed
before accepting any payment toward fines,
fees, or assessments from the offender.

HB 1995 clarifies that resource officers and
security guards employed by a school can
be charged with the crime of rape when
the victim is a student.
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SB 630 clarifies that contractors and
subcontractors employed by a school can
be charged with the crime of rape when
the victim is a student.

HB 1066 prohibits those convicted of abuse
against an intimate partner or abuse of a
child from receiving bail on appeal.

HB 1360 allows the director of the
Oklahoma Attorney General’s Address
Confidentiality Program to request that a
participant’s personal information be kept
in a secure location at the applicable county
assessor’s office. Personal information
can only be made available to authorized
personnel.

HB 1413 establishes that any guilty or
nolo contendere plea or finding of guilt for
a stalking offense can be used as a prior
stalking conviction for 10 years following
the completion of any sentence or court-
imposed probation.

HB 1935 modifies the statute of limitations
for failure to report abuse or neglect to
allow a victim to make a report up until
they turn 45.

HB 1273 V© requires persons convicted
of domestic abuse to complete an
assessment and attend a 52-week batterers’
intervention program or a pilot batterers’
intervention program. In an effort to
investigate the effectiveness of additional
intervention models, the Attorney
General may certify two pilot batterers’
intervention programs in Oklahoma and
Tulsa Counties for 36 months beginning
February 1, 2026. The measure outlines
certification requirements and directs the
Attorney General to promulgate rules for
the programs. All participants are subject
to a validated risk assessment conducted
by a qualified professional to determine
program placement.

SB 541 increases the maximum sentence
for domestic assault and battery with a
deadly weapon that is likely to produce
death to up to life in prison. The measure
also adds domestic abuse against a



pregnant woman with knowledge of the
pregnancy and a subsequent offense of
domestic assault and battery to the list of
85 percent crimes.

SB 607 allows the following to be admissible
in pre- or post-trial criminal and juvenile
delinquent domestic abuse proceedings:

¢ A statement reporting a domestic
abuse incident made by the victim to
a law enforcement officer within one
week of the incident;

¢ A protective order filed within one
week of the incident; or

e Testimony given at a hearing on
application for a protective order.

SB 623 allows emergency temporary
orders, emergency ex parte orders, and
notices of hearings to be served upon a
defendant in custody at a county jail. The
initial attempt of service must be within
24 hours of issuance.

SB 813 requires a peace officer conducting a
preliminary investigation for an emergency
protective order to make every attempt to
serve the subject of the order and complete
a return of service when filing the petition
with the district court. The officer must file
the petition with the district court the next
business day if they cannot obtain service.
The measure also requires the court clerk
to document the date and time for the
hearing and provide the information to the
officer. The officer must provide the victim
and subject of the order with a copy of the
completed order. The measure repeals a
section of law related to a stalking warning
letter form.

HB 1364 categorizes the use of artificially
generated sexual depictions of another as
nonconsensual dissemination of private
sexual images.

HB 1563 V° allows a defendant to issue
a subpoena duces tecum to a business
or commercial entity for production of
books, papers, documents, or recordings.
An Oklahoma-licensed attorney can issue
and sign a subpoena duces tecum on behalf
of a court. A subpoena authorized in this
manner does not give a defendant access to
victim interview information or recordings.

Additionally, the measure outlines the
process for discovery of law enforcement
records by a prosecuting agency. Law
enforcement must provide any requested
body or vehicle-mounted camera videos from
an arrest or recorded sobriety test within
30 days. The prosecution must make the
records available to the defendant within
90 days of the filing of information. Lastly,
the measure outlines what information a
prosecuting agency can redact from records.

HB 1592 VO establishes punishments for
organized retail crime. If the property is

valued less than $15,000, the punishment
is up to five years in prison, a fine of up to
$1,000, or both. If the property is valued
more than $15,000, the punishment is
up to eight years in prison, a fine of up to
$1,000, or both. Additionally, the measure
allows a pattern of criminal offenses
committed across multiple municipalities
to be considered organized retail crime.
The Oklahoma Organized Retail Crime
Task Force is recreated until June 1, 2026,
to be staffed by the Office of the Attorney
General.

HB 2622 categorizes the repeated use of
real property or structures for the following
acts as a public nuisance:

¢ Unlawful drug distribution;
¢ Prostitution;

¢ Violations of the Massage Therapy
Practices Act; or

¢ Human or sex trafficking.

HB 1595 increases the maximum
punishment for assault from 30 days to
90 days in the county jail. The measure
also increases the maximum punishment
for assault and battery from 90 days to six
months in the county jail.

HB 1597 creates an offense for impeding,
threatening, or harassing a first responder.
The offense is classified as a misdemeanor
and punishable by imprisonment for up to
one year in the county jail, a fine of up to
$1,000, or both.

HB 1693 modifies death penalty procedures
for the mentally incompetent. A forensic
examiner has 45 days to determine a
person’s competency and provide their
reports to the applicable attorneys
and court. The court must conduct a
hearing within 30 days of all completed
examinations.

If the trial court finds the person competent
for execution, the warden must proceed
with the judgment. If the prior execution
date has expired or the Court of Criminal
Appeals has issued a stay, a new execution
date must be set.

If the person is found incompetent, the
court must order competency restoration
services such as treatment, therapy, or
training to begin within 30 days of the court
order. The Department of Mental Health
and Substance Abuse Services (ODMHSAS)
must reevaluate the person’s competency
within four months after services begin.
The court must hold a hearing to confirm
the department’s competency finding within
45 days after receiving the report. If the
court determines that the person remains
mentally incompetent, the department
must continue to provide competency
restoration services. Any entity providing
such services must notify the appropriate
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attorneys and court if the person appears
to regain competency.

SB 497 requires the Forensic Review Board
to notify the district attorney of the county
in which an individual was found not guilty
by reason of mental illness at least 45 days
before meeting to determine eligibility for
therapeutic visits, conditional release, or
discharge.

SB 1089 V° modifies the process of
determining competency for the mentally
incompetent. The measure prohibits any
time period in which a defendant refused
medication intended to restore competency
from being included in the calculation used
to determine a reasonable period of time
for regaining competency. The court must
hold a hearing to determine whether the
person has regained competency within
30 days of the expiration of the reasonable
period of time. ODMHSAS must submit a
report to the court and applicable attorneys
detailing the person’s status and progress
in competency restoration at least 15 days
prior to the hearing. Criminal proceedings
must resume if the court determines the
person is competent. If the person is found
incompetent, the court must determine
whether additional services may help
restore competency.

The department must continue all
appropriate efforts to restore the person to
competency after the dismissal of criminal
charges and annually report the person’s
progress to their attorney, the applicable
district court, and the prosecuting attorney.
Additionally, the department must notify
such individuals 60 days prior to any
discharge, leave, granting of visiting status,
or transfer. The prosecuting attorney can
file an objection to the notice, and the
court must hold a hearing within 30 days
of receiving the filed objection. Any order
relating to granting or denying discharge,
leave, granting of visiting status, or transfer
can be appealed by either the person or the
prosecuting attorney to the Supreme Court.

HB 1886 modifies the penalty for those
convicted of human trafficking a person
under the age of 18. The minimum
punishment is 10 years in prison and the
maximum is life without parole. Convicted
persons must pay for psychological
evaluations and any necessary psychological
counseling for the victim.

Additionally, the measure creates the
Human Trafficking Awareness and
Education Program within the Office of
the Attorney General to promote and
coordinate a public awareness program
for law enforcement agencies, communities,
and schools. Human trafficking victims
must be treated with fairness and respect.
They must also be informed of their legal
rights, any financial assistance, and other
social services.



HB 1991 authorizes defendants to post
bond in another jurisdiction when that
jurisdiction has a request to hold the
defendant.

HB 1993 clarifies the crime of eluding
a peace officer by including flashing red
lights or a combination of flashing red,
blue, and white lights in the description of
what constitutes a visual signal directing
a driver to pull over.

HB 2068 repeals the requirement for
signage at every fire alarm box stating
the false reporting of a fire is a crime.

HB 2104 continues the Legislature’s efforts
to streamline the various crimes found
in the Oklahoma Statutes by providing a
classification of felony offenses.

HB 2105 reclassifies various criminal
offenses and requires jury instructions
to include the minimum time served for
an offense. The judgment and sentence
document must include the classification
level of the felony crime the defendant
was convicted of and minimum amount
of time to be served. If the Department
of Corrections (DOC) receives a judgment
and sentence document that is missing
this information, the department must
default to the lowest possible classification
level and minimum time to be served for
that offense.

HB 2131 V° modifies the procedures for
advising grand juries. A transcript of the
testimony must be provided to the attorney
for the accused, district attorney, assistant
district attorney, attorney general, or
assistant attorney general upon request.
Persons who obtain a copy of a grand jury
transcript are prohibited from disclosing its
contents. Transcripts may not be used for
any purpose other than proceedings related
to the grand jury testimony, civil asset
forfeiture, or an accusation for removal
of a public official from the grand jury.
The pleadings relating to a request for
grand jury transcripts must be sealed,
and any related hearing must be closed
to the public, unless the presiding judge
finds that the public interest in opening
the hearing outweighs the public interest
in maintaining secrecy.

HB 2376 requires the District Attorneys
Council to provide a list of early termination
applications made for suspended or split
sentences over five years, with copies of
any objections or other responses to the
applications, to Legislative leadership and
the Governor by November 30, 2025, and
every odd year thereafter.

HB 2705 directs law enforcement agencies
to inform sexual assault victims of the
status of forensic evidence upon request.
The sexual assault victim has the right to
be informed of whether a DNA profile was
obtained, if the profile was entered into the

Combined DNA Index System Database
(CODIS), and whether or not a confirmed
match was found in CODIS.

HB 2818 allows for the justified defensive
display of a firearm or other deadly weapon.
The unlawful pointing of a firearm does
not apply to a person acting in self-defense
or defending a home or business. The fine
for unlawfully pointing a firearm while
possessing a concealed carry license is
removed.

SB 53 replaces child pornography with
child sexual abuse material throughout
statute.

SB 369 includes strangulation as an
element of aggravated assault and battery
upon a law officer.

SB 599 makes a first-time offender of rape
or sodomy of a child under 14 eligible for
the death penalty or life without parole. A
person convicted of lewd molestation of a
child under 12 can also be sentenced to at
least 10 years in prison, life, life without
parole, or death.

SB 631 V0 requires persons convicted of
discharging a firearm at or into a dwelling,
business, or public building to serve 85
percent of their sentence. The measure also
provides that any attempt, conspiracy, or
solicitation of any 85 percent crime subjects
the perpetrator to serve 85 percent of their
sentence.

SB 657 allows an officer to appeal an
unjustified use of deadly force ruling to the
Court of Criminal Appeals within 10 days.
The court must prioritize these appeals
and enter an order staying proceedings
pending the outcome of the appeal. If an
appeal is not brought within 10 days of
the ruling, the officer waives the right to
immediate appeal but does not waive any
right to assert the claim at trial or upon
direct appeal.

SB 731 allows testimony from vulnerable
adults that would otherwise be classified
as hearsay to be admissible in criminal
trials relating to kidnapping and abuse
of children.

HB 1178V° creates a misdemeanor crime
for using a service animal to gain treatment
or benefits without having a disability or
actively training a service animal.

SB 861 updates statutory language
regarding gang-related offenses.

SB 925 authorizes victims of title theft
to file a notice of fraudulent conveyance
and makes title theft a felony crime. The
notice must contain an accurate and full
description of the affected real property
and be filed in the applicable county clerk’s
office. County clerks can refuse to file the
notice if the clerk reasonably believes the
notice constitutes a sham legal process
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or the filing constitutes a slander of title.
County clerks must prominently display a
sign stating that it is a crime to knowingly
file a fraudulent document pertaining to
real property. County clerks can charge a
fee for recording the notice.

A person convicted of filing real property
documents with intent to deceive is guilty
of a felony subject to a maximum $5,000
fine, imprisonment up to three years, or
both. Persons committing title theft with
the intent to defraud the owner of the
real property or an interest in the real
property is guilty of a felony and subject
to a maximum $5,000 fine, imprisonment
up to 10 years, or both.

SB 981 allows a court to deny bail for
persons arrested for DUT if the person has
two prior DUI felonies.

Corrections

HB 2780 creates the Prison Acquisition
Revolving Fund for DOC to purchase a
prison from a private prison contractor. A
companion measure to HB 2780, SB 1160
appropriates $312 million to the Prison
Acquisition Revolving Fund. $238,077,462
will come from the Revenue Stabilization
Fund, and the remaining $73,922,538 will
come from the General Revenue Fund.

SB 85 increases the per diem
reimbursement rate paid to counties by
DOC for retaining inmates from $27 to
$32 per day.

SB 595 creates the Oklahoma dJail
Standards Act, updating and streamlining
requirements for all detention and lockup
facilities. A facility may request a waiver
if enforcement of the requirements would
impose undue hardship upon the inmates,
county, municipality, or public trust.

SB 76 authorizes the Governor and the
Pardon and Parole Board to revoke parole.
The Governor may only revoke parole they
have granted, and the board may only
revoke parole it has granted with a majority
vote.

SB 83 exempts inmates serving life
sentences from the requirement to place
20 percent of their earned wages into an
account to be paid upon release.

SB 690 allows inmates awaiting trial,
sentencing, or transfer from a county jail to
DOC to earn achievement credits towards
a high school diploma.

SB 418 requires DOC or its contracted
entities to designate multi-occupancy
restrooms, changing rooms, and sleeping
quarters for the exclusive use of either
males or females. Any individual who
encounters a person of the opposite sex in a
restroom or changing room or is required to
share sleeping quarters with a person of the
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SB 652 consolidates the number of
permissible election dates to eliminate
inconsistent odd-even year election dates
and establishes a fixed election calendar
that requires elections to be held on one of
the dates below beginning January 1, 2026:

¢ Second Tuesday of February;
¢ First Tuesday of April;

¢ Third Tuesday of June;

¢ Fourth Tuesday of August;

¢ First Tuesday after the First
Monday of November; and

¢ Second Tuesday of December
beginning in December of 2025 and
every four year after.

The Governor may only hold a special
election on the modified election dates.
Additional special election dates are
outlined in the measure for use under
specific circumstances.

SB 1086 authorizes the Secretary of
the State Election Board to compare the
list of registered voters in Oklahoma to
any federal, state, or local database that
contains information on the citizenship
status of persons residing in Oklahoma.
The secretary must send notice to any
registered voter listed in the database as
not being a citizen of the United States.
The registered voter has 30 days to present
proof of citizenship to the applicable county
election board via mail, email, or in person.
If the registered voter fails to present proof,
the voter’s registration is canceled.

Additionally, the measure requires the
electronic voter registration list held by
the secretary to be made available to the
following people:

¢ In-state residents who are citizens of
the United States;

¢ Official representatives of political
parties recognized by state law;

¢ Candidates for office in Oklahoma

and their official representatives;
and

¢ Other persons authorized by state
law.

Any person requesting the voter
registration list must complete an
application form. Knowingly providing
the list to a foreign national, commercial
interest, or governmental entity is unlawful.
Additionally, the voter registration list
may not be used for commercial purposes.
Commercial purposes do not include the
use of the voter list by campaigns, political
parties, government officials, or public
opinion pollsters to contact voters.

SB 147 directs county election boards to
conduct a post-election audit for general
elections, primary elections, special
elections, and presidential primary
elections. Under the direction of the
Secretary of the State Election Board, the
secretary of the county election board may
also conduct a post-election audit for any
election.

HB 1865 allows the Secretary of the State
Election Board to approve additional
ballot printing on election day in cases of
shortages or emergencies. The measure also
prohibits the use of vote centers on election
day, except when the secretary approves
their use for emergencies.

What is a vote center?

It is a place where any voter in
the entire jurisdiction can vote
on election day, regardless of
the voter’s precinct assignment.

HB 1678 modifies the process to determine
the winner of a tie vote in a primary,
primary runoff, or general election. The
names of each candidate must be written
down on separate pieces of paper, which
are placed in identical, small, opaque
containers. The containers are then placed
inside a larger transparent container and
tumbled. A designated person with no direct
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interest in the election will draw a winner
from the transparent container and expose
all other names not drawn to the witnesses
present. The provisions of this measure
do not apply to elections of state officers.

SB 536 requires the county election board
to notify the State Election Board who they
are employing as the assistant secretary.
The assistant secretary may execute the
duties of the secretary during any absence
or vacancy in the office and vote as a
member of the board if authorized by the
State Election Board.

SB 890 centralizes campaign finance
and financial disclosure filings for
municipalities, counties, and school districts
under the Oklahoma Ethics Commission.
Additionally, for filings related to all
candidates for county office and county
campaign committees, the measure removes
the requirement for certain statements to
be notarized and the $50 processing fee for
statements of organization filings.

HB 1414 allows veterans who served as
military police for four or more years to use
those years of service to meet the four years
of peace officer experience required to run
for county sheriff. Veterans must present
their Certificate of Release or Discharge
from Active Duty form at the time of filing.
Lastly, the Secretary of the State Election
Board may create an additional form for
candidates to prove completion of the
required peace officer experience.

SB 814 allows a uniformed-service voter
who is currently deployed to request an
emergency absentee ballot.

SB 831 raises the per diem paid to
members of the State Election Board and
the chair and vice-chair of each county
election board for attending meetings to
$75. The previous per diem amounts were
$50 for State Election Board meetings
where hearings were conducted and $35
for all other state or county election board
meetings.

SB 1028 requires the Oklahoma State



Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) to run
national criminal history background
checks for initial and renewal public notary
applications. OSBI may electronically
obtain applicants’ fingerprints and charge
the applicant for the background check. A

person with a felony conviction may not
apply for or renew a notary license.

HB 2795 increases the funding cap for the
Ethics Commission’s Political Subdivision
Enforcement Fund from $150,000 to
$450,000.
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SB 1143 creates the State Election Board
Voting System Revolving Fund for the State
Election Board to purchase and install
an integrated election administration
system. m



HB 2756 requires transmission developers
to obtain a certificate of authority from
the Corporation Commission (OCC) before
they build any high voltage transmission
lines and facilities with a rating of 300
kV or higher. The measure also requires
transmission developers to inform various
stakeholders of their intentions to build a
high-voltage facility.

HB 2752 prohibits renewable energy
facilities from using eminent domain to
build on private property. The measure
also requires high voltage transmission
developers to obtain a certificate of
authority from OCC prior to using eminent
domain.

SB 998 allows utility companies to begin
recovering work-in-progress expenses prior
to the operation of a new or newly-expanded
facility. OCC must permit a special rate
for the recovery of such expenses. If the
initiative to construct or expand a natural
gas facility is terminated before completion,
the utility must automatically refund
customers any money collected through
the special rate plus interest. The utility
has 90 after terminating the project to
issue refunds.

HB 1422 increases the maximum bond
capacity for the Grand River Dam Authority
from $2 billion to $3.6 billion.

SB 132 modifies state law regarding idle
gas wells. If an operator has idle gas wells
that have not produced for a consecutive
20-year period as of the effective date of the
act, they must plug or produce from those
wells in the following manner:

e 25 percent of their idle wells must
be plugged or producing by July 1,
2028;

¢ 50 percent of their idle wells must
be plugged or producing by July 1,
2031; and

¢ All remaining idle wells must be
plugged or producing by July 1,
2035.

Once a gas well is deemed idle, the operator
will have 10 years to plug or produce from
it. A well is deemed idle if there has been no
commercial production from it in 10 years.
OCC may grant exemptions for good cause.

HB 1372 grants a 50 percent reduction
in gross production taxes on oil and gas
produced from wells on OCC’s orphaned
well list. The reduction lasts for 36 months.
A producer overseeing a recovery project
for an orphaned well must file a $25,000
security interest for each recovered well
with the Secretary of State, which will be
held in interest for OCC’s well plugging
fund.

HB 1369 requires the surety bonds posted
by oil and gas companies to be based on the
number of wells they operate.

OCC can require a higher surety bond
amount from an operator based on their
past performance, but they cannot require
an amount higher than $150,000.

Number of Wells | Surety Amount
1-10 $25,000
11-50 $50,000
51-100 $100,000
100 or more $150,000

SB 480 allows certain companies and
individuals that produce power on their
own premises to avoid being regulated as a
public utility. They may not sell the power
to the public.

SB 130 requires OCC to hire a consulting
firm to study the feasibility of nuclear
energy generation in the state. The measure
lists the requirements of the study, which
must be delivered to legislative leaders in
March of 2026.

SB 269 requires OCC to regulate Class VI
CO2 injection wells and the injection of CO2
for carbon sequestration. The commission
may approve the creation of a CO2 storage
unit as part of a CO2 sequestration facility
and lists the application and notification
requirements. Anyone with the rights
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to inject and store CO2 in at least 63
percent of the land that will constitute
the proposed storage unit may apply to
create a CO2 storage unit. A certificate of
completion will be issued to the owner of
a site no earlier than 50 years after the
cessation of all injections, if the owner
maintained mechanical integrity of the site
and complied with applicable regulations.

The commission is also authorized to levy
fees for each ton of CO2 injected into the
storage unit. The fees will be deposited
into the Class VI Carbon Sequestration
Storage Facility Revolving Fund, created
in the measure. If a facility or storage unit
deposits more than $5 million into the
fund, fees assessed to the facility will cease
until the money is spent or until the fees
collected by the facility have fallen below
$4 million. The measure lists how the fees
can be spent and directs the commission to
send legislative leaders a report assessing
the effectiveness of the fund.

SB 713 VO requires new wind energy
facilities to seek the FAA and FCC’s
approval to install light-mitigating
technology prior to operation. If approved,
the facility must install the technology
within 24 months. Any commercial wind
facility currently in operation must seek
the FAA and FCC’s approval to install
light-mitigating technology upon the
refurbishment of a facility or renewal
of a new power offtake agreement. The
technology must be installed within 24
months of approval. A county can issue
revenue bonds to purchase light-mitigating
technology for existing windmills that do
not currently have it. The installation and
maintenance of the technology must be paid
for by the operator of any such windmills.

HB 1373 requires an industrial solar
power facility to include a provision
in their contract with the landowner
guaranteeing they will remove the solar
equipment from the landowner’s property
in accordance with state law. Any contract
agreement that exempts an industrial solar
power facility from such liability is void.



Solar power facilities are also required
to provide the landowner with financial
assurance, proving their ability to remove
their equipment from the property. Such
financial assurance must be updated every
five years to account for inflation and other
cost adjustments. A solar power facility may
not cancel such financial assurance before
they have completed their obligations to
remove the equipment.

SB 335 prohibits rate-regulated utilities
from offering ratepayer-funded incentives
to promote switching from natural gas to
electricity.

HB 1666 modifies the Oklahoma
Underground Facilities Damage
Prevention Act to clarify that any grading
or maintenance of county roads that does
not change the existing road grade or ditch
flow line is not considered excavation.

SB 460 establishes natural gas as the
preferred fuel source for all new energy
generation facilities and for any added
capacity to existing generation facilities.

SB 469 requires all applications for rebates
through the Oklahoma Emission Reduction
Technology Rebate Program to be submitted
to the Department of Environmental
Quality (DEQ) by January 1, 2027. The
measure also allows an applicant to submit
an application to DEQ for preliminary
review.

SB 897 extends the sunset date for the
Corporation Commission Plugging Fund
from July 1, 2026, to July 1, 2031.

Natural Resources

SB 940 requires the Oklahoma
Conservation Commission to implement
a plan for the control, removal, and
eradication of harmful and invasive plants
on state-owned and operated lands. Various
state agencies must compile and present
a report detailing the affected inventory
and subsequent plan to control or remove
such species no later than January 1, 2026.
Such agencies must submit a report to the
Legislature no later than November 1,
2026, and each year thereafter, detailing
the progress on such control and removal.

HB 1438 raises the caps on certain grants
administered by the Oklahoma Water
Resources Board (OWRB).

HB 1543 VO allows the Conservation
Commission to enter into contracts with
conservation district directors to fulfill its
duties. The measure also updates language
to clarify the commission can work with
tribal entities. Lastly, the measure removes
the ability of the commission to maintain a
Conservation District Consolidation Fund.

HB 2789 appropriates the following
amounts from the Statewide Recovery
Fund to OWRB:

¢ $3,300,000 for water and wastewater
infrastructure needs around the U.S.
Air Force Sustainment Center; and

* $6,625,661.48 for water and
wastewater projects in small cities
and rural water districts.

The measure also creates corresponding
State Recovery Special Accounts for

Energy & Utilities | 21

OWRB, limits administrative costs to four
percent of the funds, and requires quarterly
expenditure and contract reports to be
submitted to the Legislature.

SB 1151 appropriates $4.2 million from
the Progressing Rural Economic Prosperity
(PREP) Fund to OWRB for the following
projects:

¢ $2 million in water infrastructure
funding for a rural water sewer and
solid waste management district
experiencing certain contamination
issues;

e $2 million for constructing water
lines in a county of 150,000 to
200,000 people that is not adjacent
to an interstate; and

$200,000 for water and wastewater
infrastructure grant programs and
improving deficient dams.

SB 940 requires the Oklahoma
Conservation Commission to implement
a plan for the control, removal, and
eradication of harmful and invasive plants
on state-owned and operated lands. Various
state agencies must compile and present
a report detailing the affected inventory
and subsequent plan to control or remove
such species no later than January 1, 2026.
Such agencies must submit a report to the
Legislature no later than November 1,
2026, and each year thereafter, detailing
the progress on such control and removal.

HB 1438 raises the caps on certain grants
administered by OWRB. m



* General
2 Government

State Government

SB 1027 modifies several pieces of the
initiative and referendum petition process.
Most notably, the measure establishes
limits on the number of valid petition
signatures allowed from each county.

If the petition is to change state law, the
number of valid signatures allowed from
each county is capped at 11.5 percent of the
number of votes cast in the county during
the most recent statewide general election
for Governor. If the petition is to change
the state constitution, the signature count
from each county may not exceed 20.8

percent of the number of votes cast in the
county during the most recent statewide
general election for Governor. Citizens
signing a petition must include the county
of residence associated with their voter
registration card.

The measure also requires the gist
statement of any initiative or referendum
petition to be explained in basic words and
prohibits the use of any words that have
special meaning for a particular profession.
Further, the gist statement may not reflect
any partiality and must indicate whether a
proposed measure will have a fiscal impact

on the state and the potential source of
funding.

Any person who circulates a petition must
be a registered voter in Oklahoma. The
circulator must disclose to those signing the
petition and the Secretary of State (SOS) if
they are being compensated to circulate the
petition and by whom. Circulators cannot
receive compensation from an entity outside
of Oklahoma or be compensated based
on the number of signatures. A weekly
report must be sent to SOS detailing any
expenditures related to the circulation of
the petition and attesting that all donated
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are based on the votes cast in the 2022 election and must
be recalculated after each gubernatorial election.
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funds were received from resources within

Oklahoma.

HB 2289 adds currently elected state
and federal officials to the definition of
at-risk individual, authorizing them to
file a written notice and request that
their personal covered information, as
well as their immediate family’s covered
information, be kept private. State agencies
are prohibited from publicly posting or
displaying such covered information and
have 72 hours to remove it from any public
post after receiving the written notice.

HB 2674 creates the Statewide Official
Compensation Commission to set salaries
for statewide elected officials. Statewide
elected officials include the Governor,
Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General,
State Treasurer, State Auditor and
Inspector, Superintendent of Public
Instruction, Insurance Commissioner,
Commissioner of Labor, and members of the
Corporation Commission. The commission
will consist of the same nine members as
the Board on Legislative Compensation.

HB 2762 requires individuals who lobby
on behalf of associated international
corporations to register as international
corporation agents with SOS and pay
the $25 filing fee. Persons covered by a
national security agreement with the U.S.

Committee on Foreign Investment are
exempt from this measure.

SB 672 requires the Governor to have
documented scientific evidence that the
nature of a particular business would
contribute to the spread of disease prior
to issuing an executive order closing such
businesses during a Presidentially- or
Gubernatorially-declared pandemic. Before
closing businesses, the Governor must send
a notice to each affected business and allow
time for a hearing.

SB 535 allows public bodies to request
advance payment of records request fees
if the total fee cost would exceed $75 or if
the requestor has outstanding fees from
a previous request. Additionally, public
bodies are allowed to require a requestor
to complete a form describing the request
with reasonable specificity. If the requestor
fails to describe the request with reasonable
specificity, the public body can deny the
request.

Additionally, the definition of law
enforcement agency is expanded to
include state and local fire marshals when
investigating potential violations or when
acting on behalf of a law enforcement
agency as it relates to the Oklahoma Open
Records Act.
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SB 1028 requires the Oklahoma State
Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) to run
national criminal history background
checks for initial and renewal public notary
applications. OSBI may electronically
obtain applicants’ fingerprints and charge
the applicant for the background check. A
person with a felony conviction may not
apply for or renew a notary license.

The notary application fees are also
increased from $25 to $50. The renewal
application fee is increased from $20 to
$45, and the fee for same-day filing service
is increased from $25 to $50. The bond
amount that notaries must file with SOS
is increased from $1,000 to $10,000.

SB 500 prohibits governmental entities
from contracting with companies that
discriminate against firearm entities
or trade associations. The Purchasing
Division of the Office of Management and
Enterprise Services (OMES) is authorized
and responsible for reviewing governmental
contracts to confirm these terms are met.

SB 552 prohibits a state agency that
receives federal or state funds from
using, procuring, or contracting with
any biotechnology equipment or service
from a federally-designated biotechnology
company of concern.



HB 1607 requires all state agencies to
report the number of contract employees
within their agencies to OMES by July 1,
2026, and each year after. The report must
include the contract employee’s pay and the
conditions of their contract. Reporting must
be made through existing payroll software.

SB 582 removes the requirement for
agencies to include an estimate of revenue
collection for the next two fiscal years when
submitting their General Revenue Fund
and Special Revenue Funds reports to the
director of OMES.

SB 491 allows a public body to hold an
executive session to discuss the sale, lease,
or acquisition of real property by the public
body.

SB 36 exempts the Grand River Dam
Authority (GRDA) from having to receive
authorization from OMES or the Long-
Range Capital Planning Commission before
renewing leases, transferring property,
purchasing property, or constructing a
building.

SB 676 clarifies that the Department
of Mental Health and Substance Abuse
Services (ODMHSAS) is solely responsible
for implementing the Suicide Prevention
Act and allows the department to
submit their annual evaluation report
electronically to the Governor and
legislative leadership. The measure also
repeals the following obsolete commissions:
Oklahoma Suicide Prevention Council,
Electronic and Information Technology
Accessibility Advisory Council, Oklahoma
School for the Visual and Performing Arts,
Permanent Legislative Liaison Committee,
Staff Review Committee of the Senate, and
Oklahoma Merit Protection Commission.

HB 2785 VO establishes budget review
responsibilities and reporting requirements
for the director of OMES as they relate to
ODMHSAS.

HB 2108 is the clean-up bill for the
Oklahoma Employee Insurance and
Benefits Act, updating several statutory
references to reflect the 2024 transfer of
duties from OMES to Oklahoma Health
Care Authority (OHCA). The measure
also clarifies that OMES may approve a
mid-year adjustment requested by OHCA
provided that a need for an adjustment is
substantiated by an actuarial determination
or more current experience rating.

HB 2302 designates certain parking spaces
on the state capitol grounds to be assigned
by the Governor, President of the Senate,
and Speaker of the House. The measure
authorizes the Department of Public Safety
(DPS) to use the southernmost row of
parking spaces in the south parking lot
for a large vehicle inspection station. DPS
may post signage informing the public
of the inspection station. All unassigned

parking spaces south of the capitol and
east of Lincoln Boulevard are reserved for
visitors. Additionally, the measure requires
OMES to maintain all streets, roads, and
state-owned parking lots within the capitol
grounds.

HB 2082 removes the requirement for the
Oklahoma Department of Transportation
(ODOT) to maintain any streets, roads, or
parking lots within the State Capitol Park
and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Park.

SB 447 allows any person to forage for
nuts and edible plants or fungi on certain
state-owned or state-managed property
for personal consumption. Collected nuts
and edible plants or fungi cannot be
resold, and foragers are encouraged to
wear hunter orange outer garments so they
are clearly visible. The measure prohibits
the foraging of nuts and edible plants or
fungi that are threatened, endangered,
or from crops certified by the Oklahoma
Agricultural Experiment Station system
or the Oklahoma Cooperative Extension
Service. Foraging is allowed in Wildlife
Management Areas after July 1, 2026.

SB 68 adds OSBI, District Attorneys
Council, Office of the Attorney General,
and Office of the State Auditor and
Inspector to the definition of state agency
as it relates to the Information Technology
Consolidation and Coordination Act. The
measure authorizes all state agencies
subject to the act to employ IT personnel
to develop and implement the agencies’
technology strategies. Before hiring IT
personnel, the state agency must enter into
a memorandum of understanding with the
state chief information officer to ensure
data integrity and security.

HB 2743 clarifies that any cooperative
purchasing agreement entered into
by a school district cannot include new
construction. Funds from cooperative
purchasing agreements must be applied
to a district’s chargeables or direct
administrative costs. The measure prohibits
districts from taking a percentage of the
funds as profit.

SB 991 adopts the non-legally binding
working definition of anti-Semitism
adopted by the International Holocaust
Remembrance Alliance. The definition must
be used as a guide for training, education,
recognizing and combating anti-Semitic
hate crimes or discrimination, and tracking
anti-Semitic incidents within the state.

SB 1169 dissolves the Oklahoma Capital
Assets Management and Protection Board,
transfers its duties to the Long-Range
Capital Planning Commission, and modifies
the Oklahoma Capital Assets Maintenance
and Protection Fund allocations to certain
five-year plans.

HB 2783 establishes a seven-year term
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limit for board members of the Tobacco
Settlement Endowment Trust Fund and
provides that board members serve at the
pleasure of their appointing authority.

SB 988 transfers the administration of the
agriculture lien filing system from SOS to
the Oklahoma County Clerk, allowing the
clerk to levy the same fees as the SOS. The
clerk must establish a transition document
to move all current active filings from the
SOS to the clerk’s office at no charge, with
filings processed in the order received.

HB 1376 increases the number of
members representing small and medium-
sized manufacturing firms on the board
of directors for the Oklahoma Alliance
for Manufacturing Excellence (OAME)
from five to nine. The measure requires
the executive director of the Oklahoma
Center for the Advancement of Science and
Technology, a designee from the Oklahoma
Department of Commerce (ODC), and a
designee from the Oklahoma Department of
Career and Technology Education to be ex
officio members of the board. At any given
time, only one person who is not affiliated
with a membership-qualifying entity or
firm may serve on the board.

SB 951 VO requires an appraiser approved
by the Commissioners of the Land
Office (CLO) to evaluate any permanent
improvements a lessee has made to CLO-
leased land. If that land is leased to another
person, the new lessee is responsible for
reimbursing the previous lessee for those
improvements. Failure to pay is a default
of the lease. Further, the measure prohibits
a lessee from being charged any extra fees
for irrigating land for agricultural purposes
if the water doesn’t not come from CLO-
owned land.

SB 162 creates the State Capitol Arch
Memorial Statue Revolving Fund to be
used for the installation and maintenance
of veteran memorial statues around the
State Capitol Arch.

HB 2776 wupdates the financing
arrangements for two legacy capital
projects approved last session. The measure
eliminates the $19 million authorization to
repair the tunnels in the Capitol Complex
and increases the financing authorization
for the Kelley Building and Kelley Annex
by $19 million. As a result, the renovation
budget for the day care facility at the Kelley
buildings increases to $45,322,300.

HB 1187 clarifies that when a state
employee opts out of a state-provided health
insurance plan, they do not have to be
covered by a group health insurance plan.

SB 901 prohibits OMES from promoting
or marketing other forms of insurance
in conjunction with the firefighter Risk
Management Program.



HB 2673 requires any funds provided by
enforceable pledges for monetary donations
to the Oklahoma Museum of Popular
Culture Supplemental Revolving Fund
to count towards the $18 million total the
fund must reach before any expenditures
can be made.

SB 494 removes obsolete references to
CompSource and repeals its pilot program
and compliance exemptions. The measure
also repeals a section of law relating
to workers’ compensation premiums
calculations.

County and Municipal
Government

HB 1664 allows three county commissioners
from the same county to attend conferences,
trainings, social events, and proceedings of
the Legislature, as long as official action
is not taken. For counties with a budget
board, county commissioners and other
elected officials may discuss budgetary
matters provided that a quorum of the
county budget board is not present and no
official action is taken.

SB 403 allows county purchasing agents
to select the next lowest and best bidder
from the list of qualified bidders if the
original bidder is unable to provide
the service. Bidders will be considered
at or below the amount they originally
bid. Additionally, the measure exempts
information technology, telecommunication
goods, and certain professional services
from county purchasing and procurement
requirements.

HB 1166 amends the annexation process
for municipalities. The measure establishes
that no municipality may annex more than
the greater of 10 percent of its current
land area or eight square miles in one area
unless the municipality obtains the written
consent from the property owners of at least
65 percent of the acres to be annexed and
25 percent of the population to be annexed.

A municipal service extension plan must
be included in the notice published in the
newspaper and mailed to all property
owners within the proposed annexed
territory. If the extension of municipal
services is not substantially complete
within the allotted time, the affected
owners may either petition a court for
enforcement of completion or bring a
process for detachment. The measure
further establishes the guidelines for the
detachment process.

Additionally, a municipality may annex
territory without reaching the owners’
consent threshold if the territory to be
annexed is bordered by at least 50 percent
of municipal property and the governing
board proves that annexation would be
more beneficial to owners. Owners can

refute the annexation by showing that
it better benefits them to stay detached.
Municipalities cannot annex territory in
this manner more than once per year.

Lastly, a municipality may not attach
ad valorem taxes to an annexed area for
a sinking fund to satisfy any judgment
if the annexed area was not part of the
municipality at the time of judgment.

SB 694 VO prohibits a municipality from
detaching municipal property from its
corporate limits if the property includes
an intervening strip less than 66 feet wide,
is separated only by a railway right-of-way,
is a highway right-of-way adjacent to or
contiguous with a municipality, or includes
properties that will be split in two. The
measure allows the state, county, political
subdivision, or governmental entity that
would assume responsibility over the
proposed detached territory to give written
consent to the detachment.

SB 1014 VO requires counties, cities, local
governmental entities, and public trusts
with a county or municipality as its sole
beneficiary to have a local bid preference
when awarding public construction
contracts exceeding $100,000 or
construction management trade contracts
exceeding $50,000, when a local bidder
submits a bid within five percent of the
lowest bid.

HB 1663 modifies county treasurer resale
auction processes to allow online auctions.
The measure:

e Allows tax debt to be paid off any
time before a resale auction begins;

Requires online auction sales to
start during normal business hours
during the week of the second
Monday of June;

Requires the public notice for all
sales to specify whether the sale will
be conducted online or in person;

Prohibits a sale from being
invalidated due to errors in
advertisement or sales procedures if
the sale was conducted at the proper
time and place; and

Clarifies that certified funds may
be accepted as payment, including
online payments received from an
online auction.

SB 747 allows county sheriffs to sell
property through an online auction
marketplace to fulfill a writ of execution. If
they choose this option, the sale notice must
specify that it will occur online, including
the date, time, and bidding link. The online
platform must also offer a non-electronic
bidding option and may require bidders to
accept reasonable terms of service. While
no buyer’s premium can be charged, a fee
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of up to $425 may apply for each confirmed
sale. Additionally, individuals involved in
the sale, including relatives within the third
degree, are prohibited from purchasing the
property through the online auction.

SB 523 authorizes sheriffs, deputy sheriffs,
and reserve deputy sheriffs assigned to
perform duties in counties outside of their
jurisdictions to have the same powers they
do in their original jurisdictions. Liability
for their conduct remains with the county
of original jurisdiction.

HB 1414 allows veterans who served as
military police for four or more years to use
those years of service to meet the four years
of peace officer experience required to run
for county sheriff. Veterans must present
their Certificate of Release or Discharge
from Active Duty form at the time of filing.
Lastly, the Secretary of the State Election
Board may create an additional form for
candidates to prove completion of the
required peace officer experience.

SB 890 centralizes campaign finance
and financial disclosure filings for
municipalities, counties, and school districts
under the Oklahoma Ethics Commission.
Additionally, for filings related to all
candidates for county office and county
campaign committees, the measure removes
the requirement for certain statements to
be notarized and the $50 processing fee for
statements of organization filings.

HB 2147 VO creates the Municipal Code
Lien Enforcement Act. The measure allows
any fees, penalties, and abatement costs
of $1,500 or more imposed against a non-
owner-occupied property for violations of a
municipality’s housing and building codes
to be enforced as a lien. A municipal code
lien is superior to all other liens, excluding
tax liens.

Municipalities must enact an ordinance
or resolution approving the use of the
provisions of this act before proceeding
with a judicial foreclosure on a property
with a municipal lien. After a municipal
code lien is filed with the county clerk, the
code enforcement director must identify the
properties on which to begin a foreclosure,
which may not occur until six months after
the lien is filed. The petition must be mailed
to all interested parties and published in
the county newspaper.

SB 681 requires a county assessor to
include instructions for obtaining a
senior property tax freeze when mailing a
valuation increase notice to a homestead
property owner.

HB 1095 allows the governing body of a city
or town to authorize the concealed carry of
handguns into any building or office space
except courthouses, courtrooms, prisons,
jails, detention facilities, or other facilities
used to hold prisoners. Additionally, the



measure clarifies that district or municipal
judges and county employees can only carry
a firearm in the courthouse within their
jurisdiction. Further, any municipally-
elected official or municipal employee can
only carry a firearm at municipal buildings
within their jurisdiction.

HB 1052 requires all chiefs of municipal
fire departments, fire protection districts,
and volunteer fire departments to submit
incident reports within 48 hours of the
incident through the National Emergency
Response Information System (NERIS).

SB 251 makes mental health and substance
use jail intake screenings and reentry
programs eligible for ODMHSAS funding
if applied for by county governments
and multi-county partnerships. Each
government or partnership will be allocated
at least 0.5 percent of the total amount
appropriated to the department for such
services.

HB 2083 and SB 1091 allow a campus
police officer to serve as an elected member
of the governing board of a municipality if
the municipality is outside of the officer’s
jurisdiction.

SB 405 authorizes county commissioners
to work with ambulance service districts
in an effort to minimize costs.

HB 2165 authorizes counties to enter into
interlocal agreements for services offered
by circuit engineering districts.

SB 752 eliminates the requirement that a
vendor be authorized by a state contract
in order to work with a board of county
commissioners to establish an online
bidding process.

HB 1392 raises the mortgage certification
fee collected by county treasurers from $5
to $10.

HB 1547 requires members-elect of the
county fair association to designate a day
to vote for a president, vice president,
secretary, and board of directors. Those
elected may be removed from their
position for attending less than 50 percent
of meetings in a calendar year or by a
unanimous vote of all other members.

HB 2037 repeals the Oklahoma County
and City Energy Conservation Act and a
section of law outlining energy conservation
measures for school buildings.

SB 957 repeals two sections of law outlining
city and county investment policies
to recodify and combine the approved
investment list into one section of law.

Pensions and Retirement

SB 434 increases the maximum retirement
contribution percentage for county

employees from 18.5 percent to 22 percent
beginning July 1, 2025.

HB 1091 updates provisions related to
the Oklahoma Firefighter Pension and
Retirement System (OFPRS). Changes
include:

¢ Excluding payments to repurchase
service credit and prior military
service credit from the definition of
contributions;

Outlining which contributions are
repaid to a member’s estate or the
beneficiary’s estate if the member is
deceased and there are no surviving
beneficiaries;

Outlining which contributions are
repaid to a member who terminates
service before normal retirement
age;

Clarifying the process and type

of funds that may be used to pay
contributions and associated interest
for any member rejoining the system
after previously withdrawing their
accumulated contributions;

e Requiring any member wishing to
purchase service credit from another
retirement system to be an active
OFPRS member for at least 30
months;

Requiring members wishing to
purchase service credit to act within
90 days of receiving the computed
purchase price from the system or be
subject to a price recalculation;

Capping the amount of credited
service at 30 years; and

Directing the board to promulgate
rules for military service credit
purchases at actuarial cost.

HB 1458 modifies the process for
designating a funeral home as the
beneficiary for death benefits from the
Oklahoma Public Employees Retirement
System. Upon the death of a retiree, a
beneficiary may request to reject the
benefits and send those funds to a funeral
provider through an irrevocable written
disclaimer. The measure classifies this
transfer as a qualified disclaimer rather
than an assignment of benefits for tax
purposes.

HB 1027 is a technical clean-up bill for the
Oklahoma Law Enforcement Retirement
System. The measure updates the definition
of member to include university police
officers and GRDA lake patrolmen and
dispatchers, who were added to the system
in 2001 and 2003, respectively. The bill also
clarifies the price to purchase service credit
while a member is on temporary disability.
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Public Finance and
Appropriations

HB 2766 is the general appropriations
bill for fiscal year 2026. Please refer to the
House Budget Transparency Portal for a
detailed explanation of the $12.59 billion
in appropriated funds.

SB 1126 is the spending limits bill for
the $3,983,479,266 appropriated to the
Oklahoma State Department of Education
(SDE) for fiscal year 2026.

SB 1136 is the spending limits bill for
OHCA for fiscal year 2026. The measure
allocates $100,031,677 for expanding
programs and replacing funding lost due
to reduced federal matching funds.

SB 1137 is the spending limits bill for the
Oklahoma Department of Human Services
(DHS) for fiscal year 2026. The measure
allocates:

e $7,762,004 for replacing funding
lost due to reduced federal matching
funds;

e $2.5 million for permanently
implementing the second daily meal
of the ADvantage Waiver Program,;
and

® $5.6 million for the Child Abuse
Multidisciplinary Account.

DHS must also maintain the previous
year’s funding levels for senior nutrition
programs, as well as provider rates and
service authorizations for the Community,
Homeward Bound, In-Home Supports
Waiver for Adults, In-Home Supports
Waiver for Children, and ADvantage
Waivers programs.

SB 1140 is the spending limits bill for
ODMHSAS for fiscal year 2026. The
measure allocates:

e $10,812,408 for replacing funding
lost due to reduced federal matching
funds;

* $9,480,421 for meeting the
requirements of the consent decree;

e $18.5 million for the continuum of
care for children in crisis; and

e $1.3 million for veterans’ services.

SB 1141 is the spending limits bill for the
State Department of Health (ODH) for
fiscal year 2026. The measure allocates:

® $150,000 for sickle cell outreach;

e $200,000 for Oklahoma State
Athletic Commission operations; and

e $3 million to authorized health
centers for increasing access to
primary care.

SB 1153 is the spending limits bill for


https://former.okhouse.gov/fiscal/FiscalPortal.aspx

the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture,
Food, and Forestry for fiscal year 2026. The
measure allocates:

e $1 million for Oklahoma State
University Robert M. Kerr Food
and Agricultural Products Center
operations;

e $5.2 million for Oklahoma State
University Cooperative Extension
Service offices;

e $1.3 million for research centers
affiliated with Oklahoma State
University Agriculture Experiment
Stations; and

¢ $5.5 million for cooperative
extension and agriculture research
programs affiliated with Langston
University.

SB 1155 is the spending limits bill for ODC
for fiscal year 2026. The measure allocates:

¢ $500,000 for the Community
Expansion of Nutrition Assistance
Program;

¢ $100,000 for preserving Oklahoma
sports heritage and pride through a
local nonprofit; and

¢ $198,660 for Head Start programs,
excluding administrative expenses.

HB 2780 creates the Prison Acquisition
Revolving Fund for the Department of
Corrections to purchase a prison from a
private prison contractor.

A companion measure to HB 2780, SB 1160
appropriates $312 million to the Prison
Acquisition Revolving Fund. $238,077,462
will come from the Revenue Stabilization
Fund, and the remaining $73,922,538 will
come from the General Revenue Fund.

HB 2773 authorizes $250 million from the
Legacy Capital Financing Fund for the
Oklahoma State University Veterinary
Medical Authority to construct, refurbish,
or expand its animal teaching hospitals.

HB 2774 authorizes $200 million from
the Legacy Capital Financing Fund for
the University Hospitals Authority to
construct, refurbish, or expand facilities
for its pediatric heart hospital.

HB 2776 wupdates the financing
arrangements for two legacy capital
projects approved last session. The measure
eliminates the $19 million authorization to
repair the tunnels in the Capitol Complex
and increases the financing authorization
for the Kelley Building and Kelley Annex
by $19 million. As a result, the renovation
budget for the day care facility at the Kelley
buildings increases to $45,322,300.

HB 2775 authorizes $41.6 million from
the Legacy Capital Financing Fund to

construct, refurbish, or expand military
facilities for the Military Department.

HB 2772 appropriates $610 million to the
Rebuilding Oklahoma Access and Driver
Safety (ROADS) Fund for fiscal year 2026
and directs ODOT to use $20 million of
its ROADS funding each fiscal year to
construct, repair, and maintain highway
weight stations until June 30, 2033.

HB 2777 appropriates $21,253,658 from
the Opioid Lawsuit Settlement Fund to
the Oklahoma Opioid Abatement Revolving
Fund, distributing $1,253,658 of that
amount to non-litigating subdivisions.

SB 1150 appropriates $15 million to the
Department of Aerospace and Aeronautics
to upgrade airport facilities.

HB 2790 appropriates $10 million from the
Statewide Recovery Fund to the Office of
Juvenile Affairs (OJA) to provide academic,
social, and emotional services for young
Oklahomans. The measure also creates
the Statewide Recovery Special Account
for OJA, limits administrative costs to two
percent of the funds, and requires quarterly
expenditure and contract reports to be
submitted to the Legislature.

HB 2789 appropriates the following
amounts from the Statewide Recovery
Fund to the Oklahoma Water Resources
Board (OWRB):

¢ $3,300,000 for water and wastewater
infrastructure needs around the U.S.
Air Force Sustainment Center; and

* $6,625,661.48 for water and
wastewater projects in small cities
and rural water districts.

The measure also creates corresponding
State Recovery Special Accounts for
OWRB, limits administrative costs to four
percent of the funds, and requires quarterly
expenditure and contract reports to be
submitted to the Legislature.

SB 1151 appropriates $4.2 million from
the PREP Fund to OWRB for the following
projects:

e $2 million in water infrastructure
funding for a rural water sewer and
solid waste management district
experiencing certain contamination
issues;

$2 million for constructing water
lines in a county of 150,000 to
200,000 people that is not adjacent
to an interstate; and

$200,000 for water and wastewater
infrastructure grant programs and
improving deficient dams.

HB 2791 appropriates the following
amounts from the Statewide Recovery
Fund to DHS:
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e $195,000 for a facility serving
domestic violence victims;

e $328,000 for a food program focusing
on food distribution, education,
workforce development, and health
assessments; and

¢ $5 million for expanding child care
services.

The measure also creates corresponding
Statewide Recovery Special Accounts for
DHS, limits administrative costs to two
percent of the funds, and requires quarterly
expenditure and contract reports to be
submitted to the Legislature.

SB 1178 appropriates the following
amounts from the Statewide Recovery Fund
to ODMHSAS:

® $7,929,596.45 to expand the Tulsa
Center for Behavioral Health; and

e $66.5 million to pay for a
replacement facility for Griffin
Memorial Hospital.

SB 1179 appropriates $800,000 from
the Statewide Recovery Fund to the
J.D. McCarty Center for Children with
Developmental Disabilities.

SB 1152 allows the Oklahoma Tourism and
Recreation Commission to use $5 million
from the Oklahoma State Park Trust Fund
for lodge construction and maintenance.

HB 2788 returns unused funds from
projects that received funding from the
Joint Committee on Pandemic Relief
Funding. The following leftover funds are
transferred back to the Statewide Recovery
Fund for re-appropriation:

¢ $1,560,875 from the original $2.8
million provided to DHS for housing,
food security, and transitional tools
for domestic violence victims;

$162,668.85 from the original
$12,802,993 provided to DHS for
food insecurity grant programs;

$1,490,675.08 from the original
$4,537,500 provided to the Health
Care Workforce Development
Revolving Fund for a grant program
with Care Providers Oklahoma to
recruit, educate, and stabilize the
state’s healthcare workforce;

$2,164,039 from the original $10
million provided to the Oklahoma
State University Medical Authority
for a rural advanced care pilot
program;

e $5 million from the original $25
million provided to ODH for medical
facilities treating disproportionately
impacted populations;

¢ $20.5 million from the original $87



million provided to the ODMHSAS
for a replacement facility for Griffin
Memorial Hospital; and

¢ $3.3 million from the original $8
million provided to OWRB for
critical water and wastewater
infrastructure needs in central
Oklahoma.

HB 2779 directs DPS to use $750,000 of
its appropriated fiscal year 2026 funds for
the School Secure Program.

HB 2794 appropriates the following
amounts from the PREP Fund to ODC:

e $5 million for a municipal park in
Oklahoma County located north of
1-344 and west of 1-35;

¢ $4 million to relocate a naval
submarine located east of State
Highway 165 and north of State
Highway 62; and

¢ $1.8 million for infrastructure
improvements at an industrial park
located south of State Highway 62
and east of State Highway 283.

HB 2793 appropriates $8 million from the
PREP Fund to the Emergency Medicine
Revolving Fund.

HB 2792 turns the PREP Fund into
a revolving fund not subject to fiscal
year limitations. The measure also re-

appropriates funds to any project funded
by PREP in 2022.

HB 2744 re-appropriates $20 million of
PREP funds previously given to ODC in
2022 for state fair facility upgrades. The
agency may continue using these funds for
the same purpose.

SB 1181 appropriates $2,418,180 from
the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA)
Administrative Costs Fund to OMES for
implementing programs and expenditures
following actions taken by the Joint
Committee on Pandemic Relief Funding.

SB 1180 appropriates $248,000 from
ARPA Administrative Costs Fund to the
Legislative Services Bureau for obligations
that may arise out of ARPA-related
contracts during fiscal year 2026.

HB 2782 allows the OHCA to transfer
up to one-third of the Rate Preservation
Fund balance to another OHCA-controlled
fund for cash flow purposes, with the
requirement that the funds be returned
by the end of the fiscal year.

HB 2796 allows ODC to transfer funds
between any accounts or subaccounts
within the Oklahoma Disaster Mitigation
and Recovery Matching Fund.

HB 1124 removes the federal Coronavirus

Capital Projects Fund as a funding source
for the Statewide Recovery Fund.

SB 300 dissolves the Oklahoma Capital
Investment Board and transfers any
remaining contracts and obligations to
the Oklahoma Center for the Advancement
of Science and Technology.

Administrative Rules

HB 2728 creates the Regulations from
the Executive in Need of Scrutiny
(REINS) Act of 2025, which establishes
new requirements for state agencies
when adopting major administrative
rules. The measure aims to improve
economic impact analysis and legislative
oversight of the rule-making process. The
Legislative Office of Fiscal Transparency
(LOFT) must conduct rule impact
analyses for major rules promulgated by
the agencies. LOFT must determine if a
proposed rule could incur costs exceeding
$1 million in the first five years and
report its findings to the Legislature.

HB 2729 requires state courts, hearing
examiners, and administrative officers
to independently interpret state laws,
regulations, and documents without relying
on state agency interpretations. In cases
involving state agencies with remaining
uncertainty, the court or hearing officer
must prioritize interpretations that limit
agency power and maximize individual
liberty.

HB 2731 moves the deadline for state
agencies to submit administrative rules to
the Legislature from April 1 to February
1 each year.

SB 995 deems any rules not acted upon
by the adoption of a joint resolution
disapproved and removes the Governor’s
ability to approve rules when the
Legislature fails to adopt a resolution.

SB 1024 prohibits an agency from adopting
a proposed rule unless it receives approval
from the Governor or appropriate cabinet
secretary. The measure requires a
submitted rule impact statement to also
include:

e An analysis of alternatives to
adopting the proposed rule;

¢ A summary and preliminary
comparison of any existing or
proposed federal regulations that are
intended to address the activities to
be regulated by the proposed rule;
and

Estimates of the amount of
resources needed and state employee
time spent to develop the rule.

HJR 1033 approves all proposed permanent
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rules submitted on or before February 1,
2025, of the following agencies:

¢ Oklahoma Department of
Agriculture, Food, and Forestry;

e Oklahoma Conservation
Commission;

¢ Oklahoma Corporation Commission;

e Department of Environmental
Quality;

¢ Oklahoma Liquefied Petroleum Gas
Board;

¢ Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation
Department;

e Oklahoma Water Resources Board;
and

¢ Department of Wildlife
Conservation.

HJR 1034 approves all proposed permanent
rules submitted on or before February 1,
2025, of the following agencies:

¢ Board of Tests for Alcohol and Drug
Influence;

e Office of the Attorney General;

¢ Oklahoma Department of
Emergency Management;

e Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics
and Dangerous Drugs Control; and

e State Board of Licensed Social
Workers.

The measure also approves all proposed
permanent rules of OJA and DPS submitted
on or before February 1, 2025, except:

¢ An OJA rule relating to the
disqualification of a board member
from voting; and

¢ A DPS rule relating to motor vehicle
storage facility requirements.

HJR 1035 approves all proposed permanent
rules submitted on or before February 1,
2025, of the following agencies:

e Commission on Children and Youth;
¢ State Department of Health;
¢ Department of Human Services;

e State Board of Medical Licensure
and Supervision;

¢ Board of Medicolegal Investigations;

e State Board of Osteopathic
Examiners;

e State Board of Examiners of
Perfusionists;

e Health Care Workforce Training
Commission; and



¢ Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation
Commission.

The measure also approves all proposed
permanent rules of the Oklahoma Funeral
Board, Oklahoma Board of Chiropractic
Examiners, OHCA, and ODMHSAS, with
the following exceptions:

e Funeral Board rules relating
to selection rooms, funeral
merchandise pricing lists, crematory
licensing, and the use of metal ID
discs during the crematory process;

¢ A Board of Chiropractic Examiners
rule relating to the use of injectables
by a chiropractic physician;

¢ A Health Care Authority rule
relating to behavioral health
integration services; and

e ODMHSAS rules relating to
diversion control plan and medical
director definitions, modifications
of the use of take-home doses,
requiring pregnancy tests of all
female consumers, and the refusal of
persons to participate in treatment
services.

SJR 18 approves all proposed permanent
rules submitted on or before February 1,
2025, by the following agencies:

¢ Oklahoma State Athletic
Commission;

¢ Oklahoma Department of
Emergency Management;

¢ Oklahoma Department of Veterans
Affairs;

¢ Oklahoma Department of Aerospace
and Aeronautics; and

¢ Oklahoma Department of
Transportation.

The measure also approves all proposed
permanent rules of OMES, except:

¢ A rule relating to the acceptance of
late bids;

¢ A rule relating to bid evaluations;
and

¢ A rule relating to the sale of
property to another public agency.

SJR 21 approves all proposed permanent
rules submitted on or before February 1,
2025, by the following agencies:

¢ Oklahoma Abstractors Board,;
¢ Oklahoma Accountancy Board;

¢ Alcoholic Beverage Laws
Enforcement Commission;

¢ Board of Governors of the Architects,
Landscape Architects, and Licensed
Interior Designers of Oklahoma;

¢ Oklahoma Department of
Commerce;

¢ State Election Board,;
e State Fire Marshal Commission;

e Oklahoma Horse Racing
Commission;

¢ Insurance Department;
¢ Department of Labor;
¢ Oklahoma Lottery Commission;

¢ Oklahoma New Motor Vehicle
Commission;

¢ Oklahoma Public Employees
Retirement System;

¢ Real Estate Appraiser Board;

¢ Oklahoma Real Estate Commission;
* Secretary of State;

® Oklahoma Tax Commission; and

¢ Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle,
Dismantler, and Manufactured
Housing Commission.

The measure also approves all proposed
permanent rules of the Oklahoma
Department of Securities (ODS) and the
Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority
(OMMA), except:

¢ An ODS rule relating to record
inspections;

e An ODS rule relating to the denial of
requests for copies of records;

e OMMA rules relating to tamper-
evident seals; and

e OMMA rules relating to the testing
for pesticides.

SJR 22 approves all proposed permanent
rules submitted on or before February 1,
2025, by the following agencies:

¢ Oklahoma State Regents for Higher
Education;

¢ Oklahoma Department of Career
and Technology Education;

e Statewide Charter School Board;

¢ Office of Educational Quality and
Accountability; and

¢ Oklahoma Commission for Teacher
Preparation.

The measure also approves all proposed
permanent rules of SDE, except:

¢ A rule relating to the optional use
of Robert’s Rules of Order during
meetings;

¢ A rule relating to the timely
response to records requests;
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¢ A rule relating to the timely
response to petitions;

¢ A rule relating to the collection of
citizenship data;

e A rule relating to open transfer
notifications; and

¢ A rule relating to certified teachers
passing the U.S. Naturalization
Test.

Tourism

HB 2161 establishes processes and
timelines for museums to acquire legal
title to undocumented and loaned property
after time passes with no contact from
the property lender. For undocumented
property, the item may be acquired by a
museum if held for at least seven years. The
museum must publish two public notices
and may take ownership if no claim appears
within 90 days. For loaned property,
title can be acquired after two years of
no contact with the lender, provided the
museum notifies the lender or publishes
a notice if unreachable. Museums must
maintain detailed records of undocumented
and loaned property for at least two years
and inform lenders of any contact changes.
They can also take conservation measures
or dispose of such property for safety or
preservation, even without lender consent.
Lenders have two years to file claims after
ownership transfer to the museum. If
ownership of loaned property is claimed
by someone who proves their interest,
the museum is not liable for returning it
without court action.

HB 1571 removes the sunset date for the
Route 66 Commission and eases restriction
on the use of funds from the commission’s
revolving fund.

SB 249 extends the sunset date for tax
incentives provided by the Oklahoma
Tourism Development Act from January
1, 2026, to January 1, 2032.

HB 1122 makes multiple changes to the
Oklahoma State Athletic Commission. The
measure:

¢ Separates the commission from
ODH, deeming it a distinct agency;

e Clarifies the commission has
jurisdiction over professional and
amateur combative sports;

e Allows the commission to halt the
unlicensed promotion of professional
combative sports and seek penalties
against those who coordinate such
unsanctioned events; and

Clarifies when and how testing for
HIV, hepatitis B, and hepatitis C
must be conducted.



HB 2673 requires any funds provided by fund must reach before any expenditures from the Oklahoma State Park Trust Fund

enforceable pledges for monetary donations can be made. for lodge construction and maintenance.

to the Oklah M f Popul . . .

Culbore Suip?xentgls%ue?ol%m go%‘;sg SB 1152 allows the Oklahoma Tourism and  HB 1089 aligns Oklahoma law with federal

to count towards the $18 million total the Recreation Commission to use $5 million law regarding the simulcasting of horse
races that are broadcast at race tracks. m

Sunset Extensions

Measure Entity New Sunset Date
HB 1031 |Oklahoma Energy Resources Board 7/1/2031
HB 1032 |[State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision 7/1/2030
HB 1033 |[State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 7/1/2030
HB 1034 |Archives and Records Commission 7/1/2028
HB 1035 |Capitol-Medical Center Improvement and Zoning Commission 7/1/20 30
HB 2286 |Oklahoma Funeral Board 7/1/2029
SB 393 |[State Board of Licensed Social Workers 7/1/2027
SB394 |[State Anatomical Board 7/1/2030
SB395 |[State Board of Examiners of Psychologists 7/1/2028
SB396 [|Oklahoma Board of Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselors 7/1/2028
SB 676 |[State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering 7/1/2025

General Government | 30



' Health &
" Services

Human

Public Health

HB 1600 creates the Lori Brand Patient
Bill of Rights Act of 2025, which outlines
the rights of individuals being treated in the
state, including the rights of minor patients.
The measure also outlines responsibilities
for a patient, their guardian, or a legally
authorized representative.

SB 1067 authorizes a local government
entity or ambulance service provider
acting on its behalf to annually submit
ambulance service rates set by the local
government to the Insurance Department.
The department must submit a review of
the data to the Legislature by January 1,
2027. The rates will sunset unless modified
by the Legislature before December 31,
2027.

HB 2295 prohibits a public trust hospital
from moving more than 15 miles away if
it is located in a community with fewer
than 30,000 residents. Following the
announcement of a closure, the hospital
facility and municipality must each appoint
a mediator. The mediators must hire a
third mediator. All mediators must agree
on the hospital’s sale price. The hospital
must be transferred to the municipality if
it is willing to pay the agreed upon price
and has the staff to run the hospital.

If the hospital is sold to another entity,
the trustees must certify that they have
not entered into any agreement in which
they or their family receives any financial
or employment benefits. If a public third
party has been leasing the hospital, the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS) provider number will revert back
to the hospital immediately after lease
termination. All hospital trustees must
complete a trustee education program
within 90 days of appointment.

HB 1278 creates a grant program
administered by the State Department of
Health (ODH) to fund ALS research and
help support Oklahoma residents afflicted
with or caring for a family member with

ALS.

HB 2011 allows firefighters to claim an
income tax credit for up to $250 per year
to cover medical expenses for detecting
cancer. For tax year 2028 and subsequent
tax years, the total amount of credits will
be capped at $1.5 million per year.

HB 2013 allows a driver license or state
ID cardholder to designate that they
have been diagnosed with epilepsy. The
cardholder may choose if the designation
is on the card or in the Oklahoma Law
Enforcement Telecommunications System.
The State Commissioner of Health must
provide medical professionals with
information to help them determine if
epileptic patients are at risk for sudden
unexpected death in epilepsy (SUDEP). The
Division of Health Care Information must
develop an information program to notify
individuals with epilepsy of the danger of
SUDEP. When an autopsy is conducted
on a person with epilepsy or a history of
seizures, there must be an investigation
and determination as to whether they died
as a result of SUDEP. If this is determined
to be the case, this must be noted on the
death certificate and reported to the North
American SUDEP Registry.

HB 2262 requires referral agencies to
provide the representatives for people
with Alzheimer’s or dementia with a form
disclosing the type of memory care provided
at each facility the person is considering.
ODH must maintain a public database of
such forms. The measure also requires
memory care facilities to display a poster in
a conspicuous location stating that if such
persons or their representatives were not
given a copy of the disclosure form, they
may file a complaint with the Consumer
Protection Unit of the Office of Attorney
General.

SB 391 dissolves the Opioid Overdose
Fatality Review Board and moves the duties
of the board to the Attorney General’s office.
Entities must comply with the Attorney
General’s requests for records in accordance
with these duties. The Attorney General
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may assign these powers and duties to any
of the office’s employees.

HB 1688 requires birth and death
certificates to be filed with the
Commissioner of Health rather than
the State Registrar of Vital Statistics. If
there is a refusal to identify paternity on a
birth certificate, ODH may register a birth
certificate as such. Birth certificates with
minor corrections made beyond one year
after birth must be marked as amended,
and the commissioner must allow minor
corrections to death certificates if the
request is made in writing or electronically
within one year of issuance.

SB 804 VO requires the State Commissioner
of Health to establish minimum
standards of care for assisted living
centers and continuum of care facilities.
The commissioner must also make rules
requiring execution of a plan of care and
resident service contracts. Lastly, the
measure requires each assisted living
center to establish and maintain an internal
quality assurance committee that meets at
least quarterly.

SB 889 codifies federal regulations
requiring hospitals to publish a digital
file and consumer-friendly list of at least
300 standard hospital charges on their
websites. The list must include the 70
services specified as shoppable services
by CMS. It must also be available for free
and include a simple description of the
charges, billing code, discounted cash price,
maximum and minimum negotiated rates,
and prices reflecting health insurance
coverage. Hospitals must update it
annually. ODH may monitor each hospital’s
compliance, provide a written notice, and
request a corrective action plan for any
violations. The department may impose
an administrative penalty if the hospital
fails to respond to the request or comply
with the action plan.

HB 2784 authorizes the Oklahoma State
University Medical Authority (OSUMA) to
enter into a cooperative venture to train
students at a Level I Trauma Center



operated by the Oklahoma State University
Medical Trust or an affiliated entity of
the trust for Medicaid supplemental
payments. OSUMA must provide an annual
certification to the Oklahoma Health Care
Authority (OHCA) stating the trauma
center meets the standards for receiving
Medicaid supplemental payments. The
measure outlines which entities in the
state qualify for the partnership and also
creates the Emergency Medicine Revolving
Fund for OSUMA.

A companion measure to HB 2784,
HB 2793 appropriates $8 million from
the Progressing Rural Economic Prosperity
Fund to the Emergency Medicine Revolving
Fund.

SB 873 directs the University Hospitals
Authority to operate a public Level I
Trauma Center, which must meet the
standards and requirements set by
the American College of Surgeons. The
authority must annually certify to OHCA
that the trauma center meets such
standards in order to receive Medicaid
supplemental payments.

HB 1738 clarifies that if a public trust
hospital enters into a joint venture or
acquires an interest in a not-for-profit
entity to carry out its mission, that entity
is not subject to the Oklahoma Open
Meeting Act and Open Records Act. All
information is confidential except to the
extent the information provider consents
to disclosure. The trust may hold executive
sessions to discuss confidential materials if
necessary. The provisions of this measure
do not apply to budgetary information
related to appropriations.

SB 903 adds one member to the Advisory
Committee on Medical Care for Public
Assistance Recipients. The new member
must represent a contracted entity or
health plan association representing more
than one such contracted entity.

SB 770 V° modifies the composition of the
Commission for Rehabilitation Services.
The commission is expanded from three
to seven members. Three members
will be appointed by the Governor, and
legislative leadership will each make two
appointments.

SB 947 is a clean-up bill related to the
2024 transfer of the Office of Long Term
Care Ombudsmen from the Department
of Human Services (DHS) to the Attorney
General’s office. The measure changes the
employer of the ombudsmen funded through
the Nursing Facility Quality of Care Fund
from DHS to the Attorney General’s office.

SB 452 designates October 25 as Dwarfism
Awareness Day.

HB 2773 authorizes $250 million from the
Legacy Capital Financing Fund for the

Oklahoma State University Veterinary
Medical Authority to construct, refurbish,
or expand its animal teaching hospitals.

HB 2774 authorizes $200 million from
the Legacy Capital Financing Fund for
the University Hospitals Authority to
construct, refurbish, or expand facilities
for its pediatric heart hospital.

HB 2777 appropriates $21,253,658 from
the Opioid Lawsuit Settlement Fund to
the Oklahoma Opioid Abatement Revolving
Fund, distributing $1,253,658 of that
amount to non-litigating subdivisions.

SB 1178 appropriates the following
amounts from the Statewide Recovery Fund
to the Department of Mental Health and
Substance Abuse Services (ODMHSAS):

* $7,929,596.45 to expand the Tulsa
Center for Behavioral Health; and

¢ $66.5 million to pay for a
replacement facility for Griffin
Memorial Hospital.

Health Care and Medicaid/
Medicare

SB 56 requires OHCA, pending federal
approval, to establish a program under
which a family member of a Medicaid
member may be recognized as a caregiver
and may, under the direction and
supervision of a registered nurse, provide
services to their family member through a
licensed home care agency. The program
must require the family caregiver to meet
qualifications prescribed by the Oklahoma
Health Care Authority Board. The
administrator of the authority may apply
for state plan amendments and waivers as
necessary for implementation and securing
federal financial participation for state
Medicaid expenditures under the federal
program.

HB 1389 VO adds contrast-enhanced
mammogram and molecular breast imaging
to the definition of diagnostic examination
for breast cancer. The measure also provides
that all health benefit plans include
coverage for supplemental examinations
for breast cancer.

SB 1019 prohibits any insurer from
establishing, implementing, or enforcing
any policy, practice, or procedure that
imposes a time limit on the amount of
covered anesthesia services provided during
a medical or surgical procedure or restricts
coverage or payment of anesthesia time.

SB 176 requires any health benefit plan
that offers coverage for contraceptive drugs
to provide a three-month supply the first
time the enrollee obtains the drug and
a six-month supply for each subsequent
refill, regardless of if the enrollee was in
a health benefit plan the first time they
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obtained the drug. An enrollee may obtain
only one six-month supply during each
six-month period. Nothing in this measure
prohibits an enrollee from requesting a
smaller supply or requires coverage of
medications that could be used to terminate
a pregnancy.

SB 109 requires health benefit plans
to cover genetic testing for certain gene
mutations in individuals with a personal or
family history of cancer and cancer imaging
for individuals with an increased risk of
cancer.

HB 1576 Y° requires OHCA to include
coverage of rapid whole genome sequencing
as a separately payable service for Medicaid
beneficiaries when certain criteria are met.
The chief operating officer of OHCA can add
more requirements if new medical evidence
supports it. Any genetic data generated
must be used to diagnose and treat the
patient. The data can be used in scientific
research if consent is expressly given, and
permission can be rescinded at any time.
The patient or their legal guardian may
request access to testing results.

HB 2049 requires OHCA to ensure that
Medicaid managed care plans and related
insurers comply with federal and state
laws governing mental health or substance
use disorder coverage. State Medicaid and
Children’s Health Insurance Programs
(CHIP) must ensure compliance and use
a standardized process to mitigate any
noncompliance findings. Contracts with
managed care plans must require regular
parity analysis, and OHCA must develop
a standardized process for resolving parity
complaints.

SB 253 requires OHCA to include a
supplemental item in its annual budget
request for funding necessary to meet
additional costs for reimbursing nursing
and intermediate care facilities for
individuals with intellectual disabilities
at the most recent audited cost.

HB 2797 eliminates certain OHCA
procedures used to audit provider claims
for Medicaid home and community-based
services. OHCA and DHS must collaborate
to improve audit methods and create a
training program to familiarize providers
with the new standards by November 1,
2027. DHS is responsible for conducting
annual performance audits of community-
based services, while OHCA audits claims
to ensure federal compliance.

SB 515 allows an insurance enrollee to
pay out-of-pocket for a medically necessary
service as long as the service is normally
covered by their benefit provider. If the
enrollee negotiates a lower price, the
provider must accept the payment without
billing the enrollee or the benefit plan for
any difference. The provider must put the



amount towards the patient’s deductible
and out-of-pocket expense. The amount
credited may not exceed what an enrollee
would have paid under their health care
plan and will not carry over when a new
plan contract or agreement plan begins.

HB 1808 streamlines the prescription
approvals process by requiring utilization
review entities to make their prescription
drug authorization requirements easily
accessible online for both enrollees and
healthcare providers. All health benefit
plans must also make drug formularies
easily accessible online and submit the
link to the Insurance Commissioner by
October 1 each year. Prior authorizations
or adverse determinations must be decided
within 24 hours for urgent prescription
drugs or four business days for nonurgent
prescription drugs. In addition, the
measure sets up an appeals process and
requires all adverse determinations to
include alternative drugs covered by the
health plan’s formulary and be made
by a qualified physician, pharmacist, or
licensed mental health professional. No
prior authorization is required for drugs
administered for emergency care. For drugs
that treat chronic conditions, the prior
authorization will be valid for three years
unless the prescription is for an opioid
or a weight loss drug. The measure also
requires continuity of care when a patient
changes health care plans by requiring the
utilization review entity for the new plan
to honor a prior approval from the old plan
for at least 60 days.

HB 1810 requires utilization review entities
contracting with OHCA for Medicaid
services to make their prior authorization
requirements, including clinical criteria,
easily accessible on their websites for both
members and participating providers.
Contracting entities must make prior
authorization or adverse determinations
within specified timeframes, depending
on the urgency of the healthcare service.
Any changes to these requirements must
be communicated clearly and in advance.

All adverse determinations and appeals
must be made by a licensed physician
or mental health professional with
appropriate qualifications under the
clinical direction of a medical director.
The measure prohibits prior authorization
requirements for emergency healthcare
services and pre-hospital transportation.
Contracting entities must implement and
maintain a Prior Authorization Application
Programming Interface (API) for electronic
processing, with compatible electronic
systems obtained by July 1, 2027.

SB 806 directs OHCA to seek any necessary
federal approval to allow the state Medicaid
program to cover nutrition services,
including case management, nutrition

counseling, and nutrition prescriptions.
The measure also requires the State
Department of Education to provide
technical support to schools that apply
for grants under the Oklahoma Farm to
School Program Act.

HB 2052 specifies that domestic health
maintenance organizations (HMOs)
providing basic health services to Medicaid
recipients are only subject to the benefit
coverage criteria and regulations of the
Medicaid program. HMOs are also exempt
from specific coverage mandates for a
variety of specific tests and treatments as
well as grievance procedures.

SB 438 requires a health insurance plan,
insurer, or contracted vendor to notify a
health care provider of any credit card
fees associated with initiating or changing
payments. They must also inform the
provider of their payment options and give
clear instructions on how to choose their
preferred payment method.

Medical Professions

HB 2298 V© allows Advanced Practice
Registered Nurses (APRN) with certain
qualifications to apply to the Oklahoma
Board of Nursing for independent
prescriptive authority. The measure
requires the APRN or their employer to
carry malpractice insurance. The measure
also establishes the eligibility requirements
for physicians who are supervising APRNs
without independent prescriptive authority.
The State Board of Medical Licensure
and Supervision and the State Board of
Osteopathic Examiners must promulgate a
uniform set of rules for proper supervision
of APRNs and make a list of physicians
available for supervision. Lastly, the
measure clarifies that pharmacists may
only dispense prescriptions for controlled
dangerous substances prescribed by a
physician assistant (PA) licensed in this
state pursuant to a practice agreement.

HB 2584 V° authorizes PAs with at least
6,240 hours of postgraduate clinical
experience to practice independently from
physician supervision. The State Board of
Medical Licensure and Supervision must
maintain a public list of such PAs and
provide a form for reporting hours. PAs
practicing independently must be covered
by malpractice insurance and may prescribe
supplies, services, and drugs, including
Schedule ITI-V controlled substances. PAs
operating under a practice agreement may
additionally prescribe Schedule II drugs
with protocol determined by the delegating
physician. The measure also expands the
Physician Assistant Committee from seven
to nine members, with five committee
members being PAs.

HB 2050 authorizes the State Board of
Medical Licensure to grant limited licensure
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to an international medical school graduate
who graduated from a medical school that
meets the requirements of the Educational
Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates
(ECFMG). The medical school graduate
must secure employment with a provider
that has an accredited training program
and must be supervised by the chair of the
department. After three years of practice
in good standing and passing the required
U.S. Medical Licensing Examination steps,
the graduate may apply for full licensure.

HB 1658 allows an unlicensed laser
practitioner to perform laser hair removal
under the supervision of a licensed
physician, PA, or APRN. The physician,
PA, or APRN must meet with patients for
an initial evaluation and create a patient
chart that includes informed consent and
a treatment plan.

SB 424 V° directs ODH to establish a
voluntary certificate for community health
workers. Certified community health
workers may:

® Serve as liaisons between health and
social services and the community to
facilitate service access;

¢ Assist individuals in attaining
employment, education, and
occupational training; and

¢ Build individual and community
capacity by increasing health
knowledge and self-sufficiency
through a range of activities.

SB 669 updates various administrative
requirements for dentistry, including:

¢ Creating an expanded duty permit
for dental assistants in oral
maxillofacial surgery to replace the
existing assistant permit;

e Aligning permit requirements for
dental hygiene interns with those of
dental interns;

e Authorizing dental interns who have
completed the second semester of
their third year of dental school to
administer scaling, root planing, and
local anesthesia;

Requiring dentists to conduct in-
person patient examinations before
prescribing or overseeing treatments
and list all dentists involved

on patient records and billing
documents;

Requiring dentists to notify the
Board of Dentistry about office
closures and the location of patient
records; and

e Extending the period to reinstate
expired certifications for dentists,
dental hygienists, and dental
assistants from one year to five



years, with the board potentially
requiring additional training before
reinstatement.

HB 2261 creates a framework for a multi-
state compact for the practice of social
work. A potential member state must meet
all specified criteria. The measure also
outlines requirements for an individual to
be eligible for a multistate license, which
can only be held in one state at a time. A
member state may continue to enact and
enforce their own laws, regulations, or other
rules related to the practice of social work.
The measure creates a joint government
agency among the compact member states
called the Social Work Licensure Compact
Commission. The commission must develop
a coordinated data system and implement
the compact. The measure also outlines
the process for termination or default of
compact membership.

SB 805 enacts the Dietitian Licensure
Compact to facilitate the interstate practice
of dietetics. The compact requires member
states to:

e Participate in the Compact
Commission’s data system to track
licensees;

¢ Inform the commission of any
disciplinary actions against
licensees;

e Implement procedures to check
applicants’ criminal history;

¢ Ensure that applicants obtain and
maintain a valid license; and

¢ Acknowledge the compact privilege
for licensees meeting the specified
requirements.

SB 929 modifies various provisions
relating to the State Board of Osteopathic
Examiners. The measure:

e Updates the mission, powers, and
required qualifications of the State
Board of Osteopathic Examiners;

Allows the board to punish willful
violations of its orders and impose
additional penalties;

Authorizes the board to obtain
national criminal history checks

on applicants seeking a letter of
qualification for expedited licensure
through the Interstate Medical
Licensure Compact;

Prohibits the board from reinstating
or issuing a license to someone it has
previously deemed unqualified until

certain criteria are met;

¢ Authorizes the board to reconsider a
license revocation;

* Requires the board to establish
restrictions for special licenses;

¢ Allows the board to issue an
osteopathic faculty license without
examination under certain
circumstances;

¢ Authorizes the board to institute
disciplinary action and enforce
sanctions; and

¢ Authorizes the board to revoke
or suspend a license holder
for violations of the Oklahoma
Pharmacy Act.

Other provisions include:

¢ Modifying the publicly available
register of licensed osteopathic
physicians;

Prohibiting an osteopathic physician
from claiming they are a board-
certified specialist unless they have
completed certain requirements;

Creating an advanced resident
training license for osteopathic
physicians;

Requiring all licensed osteopathic
physicians to carry malpractice
insurance; and

Requiring licensees of the board to
report any criminal investigation in
a jurisdiction which concerns that
licensee within 14 days.

SB 443 VO updates statutory language to
distinguish the secretary of the State Board
of Medical Licensure and Supervision from
the board’s medical advisor. The measure
also authorizes the board to obtain a
national criminal history background check
on physician or PA applicants seeking a
letter of qualification to register for an
expedited license under the Interstate
Medical Licensure Compact.

SB 880 is clean-up language regarding
the membership of the Oklahoma Board of
Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselors. One
member of the board must be picked from
a list of names submitted by the Oklahoma
Behavioral Health Association instead of
the Oklahoma Substance Abuse Services
Alliance.

SB 808 clarifies that a licensed physical
therapist operating under a direct-to-
employer contract may evaluate and treat
patients without a referral from a licensed
health care practitioner for up to 30 days.

Pharmacy

HB 2048 VY© creates the 340B
Nondiscrimination Act, which prohibits
health insurance issuers, pharmacy benefits
managers, and other third-party payors
from:
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¢ Discriminating, offering lower
reimbursement, or imposing any
separate terms upon a provider on
the basis that a provider participates
in 340B drug pricing;

Requiring a provider to reverse,
resubmit, or clarify a 340B drug
pricing claim after the initial
adjudication; and

Requiring or compelling the
submission of ingredient costs or
pricing data pertaining to 340B
drugs.

The measure also creates restrictions for
manufacturers. The Insurance Department
and Attorney General may make rules and
regulations interpreting provisions of this
act. The Attorney General may impose civil
fines for violations. Nothing in this measure
will be less restrictive than federal law and
will not conflict with federal law or other
state laws.

SB 993 modifies provisions relating to
pharmacy audits, including:

¢ Prohibiting the auditing entity from
assessing a fine for any prescription
audited unless there is a valid
recoupment under the Pharmacy
Audit Integrity Act;

Requiring the auditor to ensure each
preliminary findings report contains
specific information, and the plan
sponsor of the report must receive

a copy within 30 days of the final
disposition;

Requiring auditors to notify the
Attorney General if findings of
fraud, willful misrepresentation, or
abuse are forwarded to the district
attorney;

Modifying the requirements for
auditors conducting an audit based
on the suspicion of fraud; and

e Modifying state law regarding
below-cost reimbursement denials.

SB 789 requires a pharmacy auditor to
allow the pharmacy to use drug purchase
records, without limitation, to validate
the dispensing of a prescription drug
or controlled dangerous substance. The
measure also establishes requirements for
pharmacy benefit managers (PBMs) that
share their provider network or contracts
with other PBMs. Such PBMs may not
combine any Employee Retirement Income
Security Act (ERISA) or government plans
with any non-ERISA or nongovernment
plans. Lastly, the measure prohibits
effective rate contracting and creates
penalties for violations.

HB 1585 allows pharmacy technician
applicants who are at least 17 years old



and in approved youth apprenticeship or
CareerTech programs to complete Phase
II training without being pharmacy
employees. All pharmacy technician
training programs must be annually
approved by the State Board of Pharmacy
and carry liability insurance on student
participants.

SB 906 prohibits a licensed retail pharmacy
from exceeding a 4-to-1 technician-to-
pharmacist ratio.

Children, Youth, and Family
Services

SB 658 prohibits DHS from forcing adoptive
or foster parents to accept government
policies on sexual orientation or gender
identity that contradict their personal
beliefs. The measure also prohibits DHS
from denying adoption or foster placement
based on these beliefs.

HB 1965 establishes procedures for
terminating parental rights. If a jury trial
is waived, the court must issue a scheduling
order within 30 days, and a bench trial
must start within 90 days, unless all
parties agree to a delay or exceptional
circumstances arise. Reunification services
in a child’s individualized service plan are
limited to 15 months from when the child
enters foster care. If the parent has not
resolved the issues leading to foster care
by that time, the district attorney may seek
termination of parental rights, with certain
exemptions. When appointing guardians,
preference must be given to the child’s
relatives. The measure also requires first-
time juvenile offenders facing misdemeanor
charges to receive diversion services.

HB 1566 establishes civil remedies for
cases of elder neglect, exploitation, or
abuse, allowing claims to be filed in district
court. Victims or their representatives may
seek damages and attorney fees. Courts
may order access to the victim’s records
and grant restraining or injunctive relief
to prevent further harm. Additionally,
physician-patient or spousal privilege may
not be used to withhold evidence in these
proceedings.

HB 1575 requires DHS to study the
feasibility of creating a unified and
streamlined eligibility and enrollment
system for state public assistance programs.
Upon conclusion, a report must be
submitted to the Governor and Legislature.

HB 1574 authorizes the Office of Juvenile
System Oversight to inspect privately-
owned children’s institutions and facilities
that receive state or federal funding on a
periodic basis or as needed when complaints
are filed. The office may examine and
copy all records and budgets pertaining
to the children and youth service system,

interview residents, subpoena witnesses,
and hold public hearings.

HB 1863 requires the Oklahoma
Commission on Children and Youth to
create and maintain a secure database
for multidisciplinary child abuse teams to
use during case review. The database will
maintain strict security and be subject to
confidential records requirements. The
multidisciplinary teams are required
to develop a written protocol for joint
investigation of cases by law enforcement
and child welfare staff and formalize a case
review process that uses the newly-created
database.

SB 870 VO creates the Accountability,
Transparency, and Protection for Exploited
Youth Act, which requires employees
of state-run juvenile facilities, private
contractors, and group homes under
the supervision of the Office of Juvenile
Affairs (OJA) to report any form of sexual
misconduct or exploitation. Individuals who
fail to report such incidents are guilty of
a felony and subject to a two year prison
sentence, a maximum $5,000 fine, or both.
Employees, OJA, and the contracted entity
can be held civilly liable, facing possible
civil fines of up to $50,000.

HB 2081 creates the Uniform Child
Abduction Prevention Act to allow a court
to order abduction prevention measures in a
child custody proceeding on its own motion
if it finds evidence establishing abduction
as a credible risk.

HB 2778 V° creates the Teacher
Recruitment and Retention Program to
expand access to the Child Care Subsidy
Program for employees of childcare
facilities. The program will sunset on
November 1, 2028, and be administered
by the Oklahoma Partnership for School
Readiness. To qualify for the program,
the employee’s annual gross household
income must not exceed $120,000 for a two-
parent household or $60,000 for a single-
parent household. Employees who meet
the household income limits will have their
income excluded from consideration when
calculating cost-sharing or co-payment
responsibilities under the Child Care
Subsidy Program. If a childcare facility
employee qualifies for the Child Care
Subsidy Program under normal program
requirements, they are entitled to a full
co-payment waiver.

SB 949 is clean-up language following
the 2024 transfer of the Office of Client
Advocacy from DHS to ODH. The measure
authorizes a designated representative
from the Office of Client Advocacy to
inspect juvenile court records and receive
confidential information without a court
order. The Office of Client Advocacy must
also establish a system for investigating
allegations of misconduct by a person
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responsible for a vulnerable adult not rising
to the level of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.
Lastly, the measure authorizes the State
Commissioner of Health to issue subpoenas
for testimony or records connected with
an investigation conducted by the Office
of Client Advocacy.

HB 1565 requires staff of the state’s
child abuse hotline to immediately report
referrals of abuse or neglect in writing to
local law enforcement when the alleged
perpetrator is not someone responsible
for the child. The hotline supervisor must
ensure that the report has been made,
and DHS must maintain a record of
each referral it has transmitted to law
enforcement.

HB 2207 allows a qualified residential
treatment program to file a petition for
a protective order on behalf of a child in
its care against a third party who poses a
physical or emotional threat. The program
must present evidence of harassment,
abuse, neglect, exploitation, or other
welfare endangering behaviors.

HB 2647 allows courts to waive
preplacement home studies for qualified
relatives who are looking to adopt a child.
The relatives must have been married
for a year and have no record of felony
conviction or protection orders against
them. The measure does not prohibit a
single immediate relative from requesting
a home study waiver.

HB 1579 removes the cap on salaries for
juvenile bureau directors and employees.

HB 1847 requires DHS to work with the
Oklahoma State Fire Marshal to develop
guidelines allowing family child care homes
and large child care homes to operate under
the building requirements established in
the 2018 International Residential Code as
adopted by the Oklahoma Uniform Building
Code Commission. The measure prohibits
political subdivisions from placing stricter
fire and life safety requirements on child
care homes.

HB 2392 establishes a rebuttable
presumption that a parent is unfit for
guardianship or custody if the parent has
been convicted of a crime listed in the
Oklahoma Child Abuse Reporting and
Prevention Act.

SB 1179 appropriates $800,000 from
the Statewide Recovery Fund to the
J.D. McCarty Center for Children with
Developmental Disabilities.

HB 2790 appropriates $10 million from the
Statewide Recovery Fund to OJA to provide
academic, social, and emotional services
for young Oklahomans. The measure also
creates the Statewide Recovery Special
Account for OJA, limits administrative
costs to two percent of the funds, and



requires quarterly expenditure and contract
reports to be submitted to the Legislature.

HB 2791 appropriates the following
amounts from the Statewide Recovery
Fund to DHS:

® $195,000 for a facility serving
domestic violence victims;

e $328,000 for a food program focusing
on food distribution, education,
workforce development, and health
assessments; and

e $5 million for expanding child care
services.

The measure also creates corresponding
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Statewide Recovery Special Accounts for
DHS, limits administrative costs to two
percent of the funds, and requires quarterly
expenditure and contract reports to be
submitted to the Legislature. m



SB 453 addresses three issues related
to civil procedure. First, the measure
creates the Oklahoma Expedited Actions
Act to allow lawsuits with a monetary
relief request of $250,000 or less to use
an expedited actions process that has set
deadlines and limits. The court may also
refer an expedited case to an alternative
dispute resolution process. The process
cannot exceed a half-day in duration, cost
no more than double the civil filing fees,
and must be completed within 60 days
before the initial trial setting.

Further, the measure modifies the standard
for the admissibility of expert testimony
to align with the federal rules of evidence.

Lastly, the measure raises the award cap for
noneconomic losses for bodily injury claims
from $350,000 to $500,000. For permanent
and severe personal bodily injuries, there is
no cap. For a permanent mental injury that
prevents the plaintiff from being employed
or enjoying a reasonable standard of living,
the cap is $1 million.

SB 632 outlines the framework for the
creation of two business court divisions
headquartered in Oklahoma County and
Tulsa County. The measure:

¢ Directs the Oklahoma Supreme
Court and business court judges
to promulgate rules for the
implementation and administration
of business courts;

¢ Authorizes business court judges to
appoint a secretary-bailiff, law clerk,
and other personnel approved by the
Chief Justice;

e Sets the salary for a business
court judge at the same pay as an
associate judge of the Supreme
Court;

¢ Sets the term for business court
judges at eight years;

¢ Qutlines the qualifications to serve
as a business court judge, which
include being at least 35 years of

age, being a United States citizen,
and having at least 10 years of legal
experience;

Outlines the business court judge
appointment process, in which

the Speaker of the House provides
the Governor with a list of three
candidates, the Governor chooses
an appointee from the list, and the
Senate confirms the appointment;

Allows the Governor to reject the list
of appointees from the Speaker and
request a subsequent list. The list
must be provided to the Governor
within 40 days of the request, or

the Governor can appoint any
person who meets the statutory
qualifications to serve;

Provides for an appointed business
court judge to serve on an interim
basis if the appointment is made
when the Legislature is not in
session;

Requires the aforementioned
appointment process to be used to
fill vacancies;

Outlines the authority and
jurisdiction of business courts and
lists the types of cases that can be
added to a business court docket
beginning January 1, 2026, as long
as the claim amount is at least
$500,000;

Allows a jury trial if claimed by
a party within the time period
established by court rules;

Requires non-jury trials to be
resolved within 12 months unless
an extension is requested by the
disputing parties; and

Establishes a $1,500 filing fee for
cases filed in business court.

SB 1168 raises the recovery cap for
claims brought under the Governmental
Tort Claims Act and requires the claim
liability limits to be inflation-adjusted every
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five years. For property damage-related
claims, the maximum recovery amount is
increased to $75,000. Nuisance claims are
capped at $275,000 for cities and counties
with a population of 150,000 or more and
$225,000 for smaller cities and counties.
For any other type of claim, the maximum
claim amount is $250,000 for small cities
and counties and $375,000 for cities and
counties at or above the 150,000 population
threshold. Furthermore, medical negligence
claims at a university hospital or mental
health hospital are limited to $300,000. The
measure also sets an aggregate cap of $2
million for any number of claims arising
out of a single occurrence or accident.

HB 2770 provides a 15 percent pay increase
for judges beginning July 1, 2025.

HB 2771 increases the number of judges in
various judicial districts across the state.
For the Oklahoma-Canadian Counties
Judicial Administrative District, the
number of special judges is increased from
one to two beginning July 1, 2025.

For District Court Judicial District No. 7
(Oklahoma County), the number of district
judges is increased from 15 to 16 starting
with the 2026 election cycle. The additional
judge for the 16th seat will be elected at-
large.

For District Court Judicial District No.
26 (Canadian County), the number of
district judges is increased from two to
three starting with the 2026 election cycle.
All three judges in District No. 26 will be
elected at large.

HB 2103 prohibits any member of the
Judicial Nominating Commission from
participating in the decision-making
process if they are related to an applicant.
Any member who violates this must be
immediately removed and cannot be
reappointed. Commission members must
disclose the date and amount of any
contributions made to the judicial campaign
of any applicant within 10 days of receiving
the list of applicants. The measure requires
that the address on record with the State



Election Board for a member of the
Oklahoma Bar Association be used when
determining eligibility for membership on
the commission.

SB 600 doubles the civil court filing fee for
court-appointed special advocates (CASA)
from $5 to $10.

HB 216770 increases the fees for publishing
a legal notice in a newspaper. The measure
also requires newspapers to post these
notices on their websites and in a statewide
public notice database. Any temporary
outage that prevents online posting is
considered a harmless error if the notice
was published in the printed version.
Newspapers may also establish a notice
submission deadline of up to five business
days before publication. If a notice is
printed incorrectly, the newspaper must
publish the first insertion of the notice for
free in a future issue.

HB 2619 subjects commercial litigation
funding agreements to discovery upon
request and prohibits information related
to the agreement from being admissible
evidence at trial. The agreement
disclosure must include an affidavit from
the producing party certifying whether a
foreign state or instrumentality of a foreign
state has been or will be a source of funding
for the agreement. Consumer litigation
funding agreements are exempt from the
disclosure requirement.

HB 1850 establishes the Oklahoma
Uniform Trust Code as developed by the
Uniform Law Commission (ULC). The
measure is a comprehensive codification
of common law on trusts, organized into
sections covering the following topics:

¢ Judicial proceedings;
¢ Representation;

¢ Creation, validity, modification, and
termination of a trust;

¢ Creditor’s claims;
¢ Revocable trusts; and
¢ Trustee powers, duties, and liability.

HB 2117 adopts the Uniform Collaborative
Law Act as developed by the ULC, allowing
parties to resolve disputes collaboratively
without court involvement. The measure
details the process for entering and
terminating a collaborative law agreement,
the responsibilities of collaborative law
attorneys, and the confidentiality of
communications during the process.

HB 2258 adopts the Uniform Electronic
Legal Materials Act as developed by the

ULC. The measure requires all official
legal materials in electronic form to be
authenticated, preserved, and permanently
accessible to the public. This encompasses
the state constitution, session laws,
statutes, administrative code, Attorney
General opinions, The Oklahoma Register,
and agency rules and decisions.

HB 1777 modifies the Oklahoma Citizens
Participation Act, commonly known as
the “anti-SLAPP” law, by excluding civil
actions related to officer-director, employee-
employer, or independent contractor
relationships seeking:

¢ Recovery for misappropriation
of trade secrets or corporate
opportunities; or

¢ Enforcement of non-disparagement,
non-compete, non-disclosure, or
confidentiality agreements.

HB 1743 establishes a five-day deadline
to file a combined notice and petition
for summary administration in probate
proceedings, starting from the date the
order admitting the combined notice and
petition is granted.

SB 200 clarifies the process for distributing
estate funds to a minor who does not have
a qualified guardian within 90 days of the
distribution order. The estate executor
or administrator must apply to the court
for permission to deposit the funds into
an in-state bank or financial institution.
These funds may then be withdrawn by a
guardian or by the minor upon turning 18.

Civil Procedure

HB 2036 modifies the circumstances under
which property owners may be reimbursed
during eminent domain proceedings for
railroads and oil and gas pipelines. Property
owners are eligible for attorney, appraisal,
and engineering fee reimbursement if:

¢ The property owner—or both the
property owner and the condemning
authority— requests a jury trial
and the jury’s award is at least 10
percent more than the greater of
the commissioners’ award or the
condemning authority’s last offer;

Only the condemning authority
requests a jury trial and the jury’s
award is at least 90 percent of the
greater of the commissioners’ award
or the condemning authority’s last
offer; or

e The property cannot be acquired
through condemnation because
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the requesting party abandons the
proceeding.

SB 999 modifies various provisions of the
Uniform Unclaimed Property Act. Any
abandoned will or trust found in a safe
deposit box must be delivered to the State
Treasurer, who must then provide a copy to
anyone who can prove ownership and the
owner’s death. The identifying information
of people entitled to abandoned property
is immediately publicly accessible once
recorded.

Safe deposit box contents with approved
claims must be released to the claimant,
their representative, or a specified
carrier, with any unpaid fees deducted.
If a representative files a claim that is
approved, payment will go directly to the
claimant after subtracting any agreed-upon
fees. Payments must be processed within 60
days of approval. The State Treasurer must
maintain electronic records of property
received. If a claim is denied, the State
Treasurer may hold a hearing to consider
contesting evidence.

HB 2171 allows property owners to remove
unlawful restrictions from their property
records by filing an amendment with
the county clerk. Additionally, owners
associations can eliminate unlawful
restrictions from their governing documents
without a vote from members. If a member
identifies an unlawful restriction and
requests an amendment, the association
has 90 days to assess the claim and, if
validated, an additional 90 days to amend
the relevant documents.

HB 1060 establishes the Uniform
Easement Relocation Act as developed
by the Uniform Law Commission. The
measure allows a servient estate owner
to relocate an easement through a civil
action if the relocation does not lessen
its utility, increase the burden on the
easement holder, impair its purpose or
safety, or negatively impact the value or
condition of the affected properties. The
servient owner must give any affected real-
property interest owners notice and pay for
the relocation costs. Certain easements,
including public utility and conservation
easements, are excluded from relocation
under this measure.

SB 198 authorizes municipalities, counties,
and the state to enter real estate contracts
of up to 180 days that include contingencies
for obtaining necessary permits, lot
changes, zoning changes, and other land
use approvals. m



HB 1222 prohibits law enforcement from
releasing a person arrested for a second
or subsequent DUI without the person
first appearing before a judge to determine
bail. The measure establishes that certain
timing requirements for tests admitted into
evidence do not apply to persons under the
influence of alcohol or other intoxicating
substances. Lastly, the measure clarifies
that a person may withdraw blood when
presented with a written statement signed
by a peace officer stating that exigent
circumstances necessitate the withdrawal
of blood.

SB 641 creates the Oklahoma Motor
Vehicle Consumer Protection Act,
establishing that hourly rates for labor
for administrative charges must align with
the Unfair Claims Settlement Practices
Act. However, the Insurance Commissioner
may annually adjust rates to account for
inflation beginning on January 1, 2027.
Administrative charges may only be
charged up to four hours. The measure
also establishes maximum rates for storage
provided by an auto body repair shop.

SB 20 creates the Oklahoma Secure Roads
and Safe Trucking Act of 2025, requiring a
non-domiciled commercial driver to possess
a valid work visa and proof of citizenship
while operating a commercial motor vehicle.
Violators are subject to a $3,000 fine. A
driver operating a vehicle while under
prohibition is guilty of a misdemeanor
and may also be subject to a $1,000 fine,
imprisonment in the county jail for up to
90 days, or both a fine and imprisonment.

Further, any person operating a commercial
motor vehicle must possess a valid
commercial driver license from the United
States, Canada, or Mexico with a valid
work visa and proof of citizenship from
the country that issued the license. Any
operator of a commercial motor vehicle must
be able to demonstrate sufficient proficiency
in the English language. Violators are
subject to a $3,000 fine and are prohibited
from operating a commercial vehicle until
they meet identification requirements. A

driver operating a vehicle while under
prohibition is guilty of a misdemeanor
and may be subject to a $1,000 fine,
imprisonment in the county jail for up to
90 days, or both a fine and imprisonment.
The fine for this violation is to be deposited
in the Trauma Care Assistance Revolving
Fund.

HB 2163 V° creates the public access
counselor position within the Office of the
Attorney General. If a public body denies
or delays a person’s request to inspect a
public record, that person may file a request
for review with the public access counselor
within 30 days of being denied. If the public
access counselor determines the denial was
illegal, the counselor must forward a copy of
their review to the public body within seven
business days, specifying which documents
must be furnished. The Attorney General
has 60 days to review a request and issue
guidance to the public body or official. After
receiving the guidance, the public body
must either comply with the Open Records
Act or respond to the requester.

SB 786 prohibits consuming marijuana
or inhaling secondhand marijuana
smoke while operating a motor vehicle.
Additionally, no person operating a motor
vehicle may possess any open container of
marijuana in the passenger area. The fee
for violations is $250.

SB 398 modifies the registration of
controlled dangerous substances. The
director of the Oklahoma State Bureau of
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control
(OBNDD) must issue a written order
showing cause before the registration of
a controlled dangerous substance can be
revoked. All proceedings must be conducted
in accordance with the Administrative
Procedures Act and OBNDD regulations,
except where more specific provisions of the
Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances
Act apply. Jurisdiction solely exists in the
district court of Oklahoma County. The
measure also allows a subpoena to be
modified or quashed if the show cause
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order contains unnecessary information
or testimony.

HB 1021 removes the requirement for
motorcycle handlebars to not be higher
than eye level of the operator.

HB 1022 lowers the fine for failing to yield
which results in a fatality or great bodily
injury from $1,000 to $500. The measure
adds a $500 fine for failing to yield and
causing serious bodily injury. Additionally,
the court can require a convicted person
to attend a remedial driving course, pay
restitution, or revoke their license for up
to 90 days. Money collected from these
fines must be deposited into the Motorcycle
Safety and Education Program Revolving
Fund.

HB 1095 allows the governing body of a city
or town to authorize the concealed carry of
handguns into any building or office space
except courthouses, courtrooms, prisons,
jails, detention facilities, or other facilities
used to hold prisoners. Additionally, the
measure clarifies that district or municipal
judges and county employees can only carry
a firearm in the courthouse within their
jurisdiction. Further, any municipally-
elected official or municipal employee can
only carry a firearm at municipal buildings
within their jurisdiction.

SB 500 prohibits governmental entities
from contracting with companies that
discriminate against firearm entities
or trade associations. The Purchasing
Division of the Office of Management and
Enterprise Services (OMES) is authorized
and responsible for reviewing governmental
contracts to confirm these terms are met.

SB 742 allows judges of the Court of Civil
Appeals, judges of the Court of Criminal
Appeals and justices of the Supreme Court
to carry a firearm into a courthouse in the
scope of their employment.

HB 1137V° removes the requirement for the
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
to apply for federal funding or federal



grants relating to the Office of Missing
and Murdered Indigenous Persons.

HB 1138 V° directs the Human Capital
Management Division and the Civil
Service Division of OMES to administer
a mediation program for complaints
and grievances filed by state-employed
peace officers and highway patrol. These
employees may proceed to a hearing if
mediation is unsuccessful.

SB 375 allows Department of Public Safety
(DPS) officers to police and set speed limits
on roads located on land owned by a state
beneficiary public trust if there is an
interlocal agreement between DPS and
the trust. The measure also allows a state
beneficiary public trust to pass a resolution
restricting public use of its roadways if the
roadway is outside municipal boundaries
and not designated for public use.

HB 2779 directs DPS to use $750,000 of
its appropriated fiscal year 2026 funds for
the School Secure Program.

HB 1419 requires street-legal utility
vehicles to be capable of maintaining speeds
of 50 miles per hour. Street-legal utility
vehicles registered as motor vehicles may
operate on U.S. Highways in counties with
a population less than 75,000. Registered
street-legal utility vehicles may also operate
on U.S. Highways with posted speed limits
of 50 miles per hour or less in counties with
a population greater than 75,000.

HB 1487V° creates the following specialty
license plates:

¢ Church Studio License Plate;

¢ Ralph Ellison Foundation License
Plate;

e Star Spencer High School License
Plate; and

e Tulsa Air and Space Museum and
Planetarium License Plate.

HB 1684 requires military surplus vehicles
to be registered in order to operate on
streets and highways beginning November
1, 2025. The owner of any military surplus
vehicle that, due to the age of the vehicle,
was unable to receive a tag after November
1, 2022, may not be penalized for having
an expired registration.

HB 2459 V0 exempts mobile food vehicles
that did not have an automatic fire
extinguishing system prior to July 1,
2024, from the requirement to install them
according to current code, as long as they
have portable fire extinguishers installed
in their vehicles. A six-liter Class K-rated
portable fire extinguisher is required for
all cooking equipment involving solid fuels,
vegetable oils, animal oils, or fats.

All mobile food vehicles utilizing liquified
petroleum gas must be inspected by and

receive a permit from the Oklahoma
Liquified Petroleum Gas Administration.
The permit is in conjunction with the
operational permit issued by the State
Fire Marshal.

The measure also requires the State Fire
Marshal to annually inspect and issue
operational permits to mobile food vehicles.
Annual inspections coordinated by the State
Fire Marshal must be held within each of
the four quadrants of the state and twice
within counties with a population exceeding
400,000. The provisions of this measure
expire July 1, 2026.

HB 1731 clarifies that child endangerment
includes driving while impaired with a child
in the vehicle.

HB 1751 V° makes numerous administrative
changes to Service Oklahoma.

Major administrative changes include:

¢ Requiring Service Oklahoma to send
all notices by first class mail;

¢ Prohibiting persons from holding
both a state-issued driver license
and identification card at the same
time;

e Allowing a driver license expired for
three years or less to be considered
a valid form of ID when renewing an
Oklahoma driver license;

Providing that driver licenses or

ID cards issued by mail or online
are valid for four years. Service
Oklahoma cannot renew or replace a
driver license or ID card by mail or
online unless the previous issuance
was done in person;

¢ Allowing an emblem to be placed on
a driver license or ID card indicating
100 percent disabled veteran;

Providing that information on
applications for disabled placards is
confidential;

Clarifying the process for collecting
blood or breath evidence;

¢ Allowing licensed operators to retain
the fees for a disabled veteran
license plate; and

¢ Allowing licensed operators to retain
$3.56 for the annual renewal of each
frac tank, construction machinery,
rental trailer, commercial trailer, or
semitrailer registered.

HB 2013 allows a driver license or state ID
cardholder to designate that they have been
diagnosed with epilepsy. The cardholder
may choose if the designation is on the
card or in the Oklahoma Law Enforcement
Telecommunications System.

HB 1789 allows recreational vehicle dealers
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to be exempt from their manufacturer-
designated areas of sales responsibility
when the sale is at a sponsored off-premises
sales event located within government
facilities or fairgrounds. A dealer cannot be
denied a permit to sell at an off-premises
location on the grounds that the sales
promotion is being held within the relevant
market area of another dealer of the same
line-make and must get written approval
from the manufacturer and the sponsoring
entity where the event is located.

HB 1996 removes the requirement that a
sheriff send notice by first-class mail when
disposing unclaimed personal property held
as inmate commissary.

HB 2111 exempts establishments engaged
in vehicle leasing from interstate commerce
vehicle inspections.

HB 2158 provides a definition of common
entity as it relates to equity interests in
a factory, manufacturer, manufacturer
branch, distributor, or distributor
branch. The measure also requires
dealer management systems to maintain
commercially reasonable data security
standards and allows an authorized
integrator to access said system if they
are also compliant with commercially
reasonable data security standards. The
measure modifies reasons for which a
license can be denied, revoked, or suspended
and requires certain factory compliance.

HB 2159 creates a misdemeanor crime
for manufacturing, distributing, selling,
or installing counterfeit supplemental
restraint systems components and
nonfunctional airbags.

HB 2160 aligns the regulations for new
motor vehicle and powersport vehicle
franchise agreements under the Oklahoma
New Motor Vehicle Commission.

Major changes include:

¢ Designating new powersports
dealers and salespersons and
factories as regulated entities;

e Qutlining conditions of sale of a
dealership when more than one
dealership is owned in whole or in
part by the selling dealer;

¢ Requiring written notice of intent to
exercise right of first refusal; and

¢ Qutlining procedures regarding the
treatment of deficiencies during
compliance periods prior to any
termination of agreement.

HB 2215 prohibits law enforcement
from seizing the license plate of a motor
vehicle when issuing a citation for failure
to maintain insurance coverage.

HB 2263 V° prohibits the operator of a
motor vehicle from using or holding a cell



phone in a school or work zone. Violators
could be fined up to $100. Municipalities
are authorized to enact related ordinances.
DPS is prohibited from assessing points for
violation and law enforcement is prohibited
from confiscating or extracting information
from the cell phone without consent.

HB 2297 directs Service Oklahoma to enter
into a reciprocity agreement for driver
licenses with the country of Ireland.

HB 2364 requires the Department of
Corrections (DOC) to assist discharged
inmates in obtaining a REAL ID
noncompliant driver license. If efforts to
assist the inmate fail, the department must
assist the inmate in obtaining a REAL ID
noncompliant identification card.

SB 216 extends the expiration date of an
inmate’s driver license for a period of six
months after release if it expired within the
last three years of their imprisonment. DOC
must provide inmates with documentation
to obtain a provisional license before being
released from custody. The measure also
requires Service Oklahoma to notify a
revoked- or suspended-license holder that
they must apply for a new driver license.
Notice must be made within three days of
reinstatement.

HB 2724 allows the Oklahoma Highway
Patrol to donate surplus vehicles with more
than 90,000 miles to local law enforcement
agencies in counties with a population of
less than 100,000 residents. The donated
vehicles must be used for authorized law
enforcement efforts.

SB 54 V9 removes the requirement
for a blood or breath alcohol test to be
administered within two hours of arrest.
The measure adds to the list of offenses that
may be considered aggravated DUI and
clarifies that aggravated DUI is a felony.
For a first aggravated DUI offense, the
first 10 days of the sentence is not subject
to probation, suspension, or deferral. For
a second offense, the first 30 days are
not subject to probation, suspension, or
deferral. Any subsequent offenses adds an
additional 30 days which are not subject to
probation, suspension, or deferral.

SB 146 allows retirees from public safety
agencies to utilize the services of the
Department of Public Safety’s Mental
Wellness Division.

SB 336 modifies the definition of transporter
as used in Title 47 to include people who
deal vehicles to a salvage pool.

SB 368 modifies the definition of kayak
within the Oklahoma Vessel and Motor
Registration Act to include kayaks that are
powered by hand cranks or pedals.

SB 462 allows a municipal police officer
who retires under the Oklahoma Police
Pension and Retirement System to retain
custody and possession of his or her
municipal-issued firearm and badge.

SB 527 extends the timeframe a secured
party has to deliver a lien entry form
and the required lien filing fee to Service
Oklahoma or a licensed operator from 25
to 45 days. The measure requires a secured
party to mail an additional copy of the
release of a security interest to a dealer
after receiving a written request from a
licensed used motor vehicle dealer.

SB 544 renames the Fraudulent Documents
Identification (FDI) Unit within DPS to
the Identity Verification Unit (IVU). The
measure clarifies that DPS is the only
law enforcement agency to have access
to information collected through the use
of computerized finger imaging without
a court order. DPS is authorized to issue
a fictitious driver license for criminal
investigation purposes provided the license
is returned promptly at the conclusion of
the investigation.

SB 552 prohibits a state agency that
receives federal or state funds from
using, procuring, or contracting with
any biotechnology equipment or service
from a federally-designated biotechnology
company of concern.

SB 562 designates the assault and
battery of any driver, attendant, guard,
or passenger of a rolling stock transit
vehicle as a felony. The measure creates
a definition of rolling stock transit vehicles,
which includes vans, cars, railcars,
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locomotives, trolley cars, ferry boats, and
vehicles used for transporting the public.

SB 574 V0 authorizes the Attorney General
to use up to 10 percent of the funds
appropriated to the Oklahoma Opioid
Abatement Revolving Fund for statewide
opioid abatement projects approved by the
Oklahoma Opioid Abatement Board.

SB 391 dissolves the Opioid Overdose
Fatality Review Board and moves the duties
of the board to the Attorney General’s office.
Entities must comply with the Attorney
General’s requests for records in accordance
with these duties. The Attorney General
may assign these powers and duties to any
of the office’s employees.

SB 921 clarifies that in order to participate
in the Impaired Driving Accountability
Program (IDAP) a person must submit
a request to participate and payment to
the Board of Tests for Alcohol and Drug
Influence within 30 days from receiving
a license revocation notice. Service
Oklahoma can revoke a person’s license
if a law enforcement officer provides a
sworn statement that the person refused
to submit to a chemical test and the officer
believes the arrested person was driving
under the influence.

SB 634 adds seven executive directors of
state agencies to the Impaired Driving
Prevention Advisory Committee.

SB 837 V0 authorizes Service Oklahoma
to enter into a licensing agreement with
the Oklahoma Zoological Society for any
licensing fee required to use their logo or
design. For each license plate issued, the
society can receive up to $20 per plate.
The measure also allows the Greenwood
Historical District License Plate to be
designed in consultation with Tulsa
Juneteenth, Inc. and allows the plate to
be issued to motorcycles. For each license
plate issued, the Tulsa Juneteenth Festival
can receive up to $27 per plate.

SB 1108 transfers all duties related to
aircraft registration to Service Oklahoma. m



HB 2764 provides a quarter-percent cut to
the top marginal personal income tax rate
and restructures the income tax brackets.
Beginning with tax year 2026, the top rate
will be lowered from 4.75 percent to 4.50
percent, and the number of tax brackets
will be reduced from six to four.

The measure also establishes a rate
reduction trigger mechanism to phase out
the personal income tax by quarter-percent
increments when revenue conditions are
met and certified by the State Board of
Equalization at its annual December
meeting. To trigger a rate reduction, the
comparison year total collections amount
must exceed the base year total collections
amount plus the income tax reduction cost
threshold. The income tax rate reduction
threshold is the single tax year fiscal impact
of a quarter-percent tax cut multiplied
by 1.25. When a trigger is met, the rate
reduction will take effect in two tax years.
The measure also includes a safeguard
provision to automatically nullify a rate
reduction trigger if a revenue failure is
declared.

HB 1372 grants a 50 percent reduction
in gross production taxes on oil and gas
produced from wells on the Oklahoma
Corporation Commission’s (OCC) orphaned
well list. The reduction lasts for 36 months.
A producer overseeing a recovery project
for an orphaned well must file a $25,000
security interest for each recovered well
with the Secretary of State, which will be
held in interest for OCC’s well plugging
fund.

HB 2260 V° establishes three tax credits
for civil engineers and their employers
beginning in tax year 2026. Qualified
engineering businesses that employ a civil
engineer receive a tax credit equal to five
percent of the compensation paid to an
engineer until January 1, 2031, or ten
percent if the engineer graduated from an
Oklahoma college or university. The credit
is capped at $12,500 per employee per year
and may be claimed for up to five years.
An employer may also claim another tax

credit for up to 50 percent of the tuition
reimbursed to an employee for up to four
years of employment until January 1, 2031.
Additionally, the engineer hired is eligible
for a tax credit of $5,000 per year for up to
five years until January 1, 2031.

SB 287 extends the sunset date of the
aerospace engineers and employers tax
credits through tax year 2031.

SB 50 establishes a sales tax exemption for
the sale of firearm safety devices.

SB 59 establishes a sales tax exemption
for sales to or by a 501(c)(3) organization
with the main mission of providing school
supplies and clothing to public school
students.

HB 2610 modifies a tax credit for
nonrecurring adoption expenses by
increasing the maximum credit amount to
15 percent of qualified expenses, limited to
$3,000 for single filers and $6,000 for joint
filers. The prior maximum was 10 percent
of qualified expenses, limited to $2,000 for
single filers and $4,000 for joint filers.

SB 301 increases the annual cap for the
biomedical research institute donation tax
credit from $1 million to $1.5 million and
lowers the cap for the cancer research
institute donation tax credit from $1 million
to $500,000, both beginning in tax year
2026. For the biomedical research institute
tax credit, the maximum individual credit
is $1,000 for single filers, $2,000 for joint
filers, and $25,000 for corporate filers. For
the cancer research institute tax credit,
the maximum credit is $1,000 for single
filers and $2,000 for joint filers. To receive
donations through the tax credit, an eligible
biomedical research institute must have
at least $20 million in funding from the
National Institutes of Health each year.

HB 1183 simplifies how motor vehicle
excise tax is determined for vehicle
purchases by requiring the tax to be based
on the actual sales price of the vehicle. By
removing the 20 percent adjustment cap,
the average retail price of the vehicle is
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no longer considered in determining tax
liability for vehicle purchases beginning
July 1, 2026.

SB 684 amends various provisions of
the Parental Choice Tax Credit Act. The
measure:

¢ Removes taxpayer information from
the online tax credit recipient list;

¢ Defines accrediting association
and requires participating schools
to meet the program accreditation
requirements by March 1, 2027;

Directs the Oklahoma Tax
Commission (OTC) to annually
calculate and apply a percentage
adjustment formula for the $5
million homeschooler tax credit cap;

e Allows unused private school
credits to be reallocated to the next
fiscal year limits when a taxpayer
loses eligibility or chooses to forgo
participation in the program. If the
credit is forsaken prior to September
1, it may be reallocated for the
current application year to the next
eligible taxpayer;

e Removes the requirement that the
private school credit be paid in two
installments and instead requires
the full credit amount to be paid by
August 30;

Requires the Oklahoma Department
of Human Services (DHS) and the
Oklahoma Health Care Authority
(OHCA) to verify an applicant’s
income-based benefit eligibility
when requested by OTC;

Sets the application period for
the 2026-2027 school year and
subsequent years as March 15
through June 15;

Grants priority consideration for
claimants who received the credit in
the prior year, regardless of income.
First priority still goes to those



HB 1279
Oklahoma Parental Choice
Tax Credit Program

®)

Taxpayer receives
notice of denial

Taxpayer has 15 days
to file a written protest
and request an oral hearing

7,

Oklahoma Tax Commission
has 60 days to rule on
written protest
If an oral hearing was requested
along with the written protest, OTC

must give taxpayer 10 days' notice
prior to date of oral hearing

If desired, taxpayer has
30 days to appeal the
OTC ruling directly with
the Oklahoma Supreme Court

with a combined adjusted gross
income below $150,000; and

e Requires participating private
schools to electronically provide
student enrollment information to
OTC by June 15 each year.

HB 1279 establishes procedures for
submitting and settling an appeal for
denial of a tax credit under the Oklahoma
Parental Choice Tax Credit Program. A
taxpayer must file a written protest within
15 days of receiving the denial notice. If an
oral hearing is requested by the taxpayer,
OTC must allow the taxpayer at least 10
days of lead time from the mailing date
to appear and present in support of their
protest. OTC has 60 days to decide on the
protest. This decision is final unless the
taxpayer appeals to the Oklahoma Supreme
Court within 30 days of a certified copy of
the order being mailed.

HB 2011 allows firefighters to claim an
income tax credit for up to $250 per year
to cover medical expenses for detecting
cancer. For tax year 2028 and subsequent
tax years, the total amount of credits will
be capped at $1.5 million per year.

SB 688 exempts aerospace parts
manufacturers from the payroll
requirement if they applied for the five-
year ad valorem manufacturing exemption
between January 1, 2020, and March 16,
2021. The waiver also applies to facilities
that were denied claims, provided they still
meet all other qualifications for exemption.
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SB 577 requires manufacturing facilities
receiving the five-year property tax
exemption to submit annual jobs and
payroll reports to OTC to be shared with
the Incentive Evaluation Commission. This
report is included in the liability exemptions
that allow OTC to share confidential tax
records.

SB 687 V0 transfers claims processing and
reporting requirements for the broadband
equipment sales tax rebate program from
OTC to the Oklahoma Broadband Office.
Upon claim approval notices from the office,
OTC must pay rebate claims with the
$14,071,691 appropriated to the Oklahoma
Broadband Rebate Revolving Fund.

SB 1112 requires local lodging taxes to be
levied based on gross receipts before any
discounts, unless the business receives
reimbursement from a third party for
offering a discounted or complimentary
room.

SB 681 requires a county assessor to
include instructions for obtaining a
senior property tax freeze when mailing a
valuation increase notice to a homestead
property owner.

SB 190 reauthorizes the income tax
checkoff for regional food banks beginning
in tax year 2026.

HB 1205 repeals an obsolete tax
credit for advanced small wind turbine
manufacturers. m



HB 2758 creates the Preserving and
Advancing County Transportation (PACT)
Fund and establishes an off-the-top
mechanism for revenue from natural gas
gross production taxes to be deposited into
the fund. The fund can accrue up to $75
million each fiscal year and will be used to
construct and maintain the county highway
system. It will be distributed as follows:

* Two-thirds allocated to counties
based on their per-county-
mile highway construction and
maintenance ratio. The measure
sets the target ratio at $4,000 per

county road mile, and money will be
allocated to counties with the lowest
ratio first until all counties reach the
target ratio. Any remaining funds
from the two-thirds allocated must
be given to counties based on the
number of county road miles and
county bridges; and

¢ One-third allocated to counties for

the reconstruction of county bridges
on the portion of the county highway
system defined as a major collector
route. Counties must submit

project proposals to the Oklahoma

Department of Transportation
(ODOT) for evaluation against
certain criteria as laid out in the

measure.

HB 2772 appropriates $610 million to the
Rebuilding Oklahoma Access and Driver
Safety (ROADS) Fund for fiscal year 2026
and directs ODOT to use $20 million of
its ROADS funding each fiscal year to
construct, repair, and maintain highway
weight stations until June 30, 2033.

HB 1103 requires the Transportation
Commission to notify a previous property
owner if the land they sold to the

Beavar
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County name
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commission is going to be offered for sale.
The notice must contain an offer to sell the
property back to the previous owner at no
greater than the original price, provided the
previous owner did not use federal funds
to purchase the property. Notices must
be sent by registered mail and posted on
ODOT'’s website. Previous property owners
have 90 days to accept the commission’s
offer of sale.

HB 1486 and SB 61 designate the
following memorial highways, bridges, and
intersections across Oklahoma:

¢ ABLE Agent Lori Thomas Memorial
Bridge;

¢ Brooks Mittasch Memorial Bridge;

¢ COP Andy Blizzard and ACOP
Justin Durrett Memorial Highway;

* Dawson Sumner Memorial Highway;

¢ Don and Shirley Staires Memorial
Highway;

¢ Donald Ray Ward Memorial Bridge;
¢ Eldon Hogue Memorial Bridge;

¢ Gary Don Rayner, PLLS Memorial
Bridge;

¢ Harvey Bollinger Sr. Memorial
Bridge;

¢ Tke Glass Memorial Intersection;

¢ Joe Collins Memorial Bridge;

¢ LCPL John C. Reevs Memorial
Bridge;

* Mayor Jeff Shockley Memorial
Highway;

* Monte Duane King, PLS Memorial
Bridge;

¢ Novak and Jean Bullard Memorial
Bridge;

¢ PFC David P. Manners Memorial
Bridge;

¢ PFC Lewis Othel Branscum
Memorial Bridge;

¢ Representative James E. Covey
Bridge;

¢ Senator Roy A. Boatner Memorial
Highway;

¢ SFC Brandon O. Poynter Memorial
Highway;

e SFC Tomas L. Avey Bronze Star and
Purple Heart Recipient Memorial
Highway;

e Shilah Carrillo Memorial Bridge;
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¢ SSGT Kenneth Michael Pannell
Memorial Highway;

e The Honorable Rick Littlefield
Memorial Highway;

¢ Trooper Bob Impson Memorial
Highway;

e Veronica Butler and Jilian Kelley
Memorial Highway; and

e Will Hardin Memorial Highway.

HB 1486 also modifies the name of a state
highway designation to the CDR Ernest
“Chief” Evans Medal of Honor Recipient
Memorial Trail and the location description
of The Honorable Leonard Earl Sullivan
Memorial Bridge.

SB 341 modifies the process for selling
state-owned railroad assets by directing
ODOT to initiate requests for proposals.
Interested parties will have 120 days
to respond to the proposal. ODOT must
evaluate all proposals and, if necessary,
conduct an economic impact or activity
study. ODOT then has 90 days to present
their recommendation to the Transportation
Commission. The commission has the final
decision on whether the sale of the railroad
assets is in the best interest of the state.
Additionally, the measure establishes
that purchases under a lease-purchase



agreement are subject to approval of the
commission.

HB 2082 removes the requirement for
ODOT to maintain any streets, roads, or
parking lots within the State Capitol Park
and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Park.

Aerospace

SB 730 directs the Oklahoma Department
of Aerospace and Aeronautics (ODAA)
to annually develop and adopt a five-
year airport construction program. The
program must list any federal and state
funding available for developing airport
infrastructure. The department must also
adopt a statewide airport system plan
detailing a 20-year plan for publicly-owned,
public-use airports and setting the service
level, role, and functional classification
of all airports within the airport system.
The system plan will help determine
the issuance of public funds for airport

infrastructure. An airport must be included
in the system plan to be eligible for funding.

SB 920 requires a person constructing or
modifying any building that would exceed
the federal obstruction standards within
one-nautical mile of a publicly-owned
heliport or vertiport to first obtain a permit
from their local airport zoning authority.
The measure also authorizes ODAA to
develop a statewide network of unmanned
aircraft systems (UAS) and advanced air
mobility (AAM) detection systems and
create a statewide or regional command
and radar system to support the systems.
The department may also partner with the
federal government to invest in and operate
UAS and AAM infrastructure in the state.

SB 912 increases the number of members
on the Oklahoma Aerospace and
Aeronautics Commission from seven to
nine to allow legislative leadership to each
have one appointee to the commission. The
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legislatively-appointed members must have
three years of experience in the commercial
space industry, a state or federal space
agency, or administration. Additionally,
the measure transfers all employees from
the Oklahoma Space Industry Development
Authority (OSIDA) to ODAA, keeping both
entities and their respective funds separate.
The Oklahoma Aerospace and Aeronautics
Commission will be the governing body for
OSIDA, and the director of ODAA will serve
as the chief executive officer of OSIDA.

SB 1150 appropriates $15 million to ODAA
to upgrade airport facilities.

SB 135 renames and expands the
Oklahoma Aircraft and Engine Testing
Development Grant Program to incorporate
rocket engine testing. It is now called the
Oklahoma Aircraft and Rocket Engine
Testing Development Grant Program. m
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SB 530 authorizes the Oklahoma Veterans
Commission to establish a private, non-
profit, charitable organization known as the
State of Oklahoma Veterans Foundation.
The foundation will solicit, manage, and
expend contributions of money, property,
and services to support the commission
and the Oklahoma Department of Veterans
Affairs (ODVA). The foundation is not a
public body and may receive contributions
from any public or private source. The
department is authorized to create the
foundation’s board. The foundation
will make all of its financial records
and documents, except privileged and
confidential information, available to
auditors.

HB 2836 creates the Safeguarding
American Veteran Empowerment Act,
which establishes guidelines for individuals
and businesses providing compensated
services related to veterans’ benefits. The
measure:

¢ Prohibits someone from receiving a
fee for referring a veteran to another
entity for help with their veteran-
related benefits;

Prohibits someone from charging

a veteran for help with a benefits
claim if the claim is filed within one
year of leaving active duty unless
the veteran signs a waiver;

Requires advisors to increase a
veteran’s benefits to be paid; and

Requires advisors to provide a
specific disclosure before consulting
on veterans’ benefits matters.

HB 2769V° amends numerous provisions
related to the powers, duties, qualifications,
pay, and retirement benefits of the Adjutant
General. To become the Adjutant General,
the appointee must be a higher-ranking
Oklahoma National Guard member with
at least eight years of service. The Adjutant
General must also receive the same pay and
retirement benefits as a Major General,

'VVeterans &
Military Affairs

regardless of whether they have been
federally recognized at this rank.

The measure also:

* Requires a member of the Oklahoma
National Guard to respond to a
notification of pending judicial
punishment within 45 calendar
days;

Prohibits a member of the Oklahoma
National Guard from being reduced
in rank except when the rank
reduction results from nonjudicial
punishment;

Prohibits federal officials from
convening a court-martial
proceeding under the Oklahoma
Military Code unless the Governor
granted prior consent;

¢ Allows the Governor to reappoint
a former officer who had been
dismissed;

Requires the Governor or Adjutant
General to determine eligibility for
pay and allowances for the time
after an executed part of a court-
martial sentence is set aside;

¢ Allows forgery to be punishable by
court-martial;

Prohibits any member of the state
military forces from knowingly using
or ingesting marijuana products;
and

e Adds domestic violence against
a spouse, intimate partner, or
immediate family member as a
crime punishable by court-martial.

To provide financial assistance to the
Oklahoma National Guard members who
are not old enough to receive their full
retirement pay but have at least 25 years
of Oklahoma National Guard service,
the measure also creates the Oklahoma
National Guard Supplemental Retirement
Pay Revolving Fund. Beginning November
1, 2027, funds may be used to provide
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payments to Oklahoma National Guard
members from the time they become eligible
for retirement benefits from the Defense
Finance Accounting Service until federal
retirement benefits commence.

The measure also creates the Oklahoma
National Guard Career Assistance Program
to provide financial assistance to Oklahoma
National Guard members who enroll in a
technology center school. Subject to the
availability of funds, a member may qualify
for full tuition assistance for up to three
years.

HB 2516 creates the Base Infrastructure
Needs and Development — Schools Program
for improving school infrastructure on
military bases. Further, HB 2518 creates
the Base Infrastructure Needs and
Development — Technology Program for
infrastructure investments, including the
purchase of licenses and software associated
with military simulation training. The
Legislature appropriated $21 million to
be shared across both programs.

SB 930 facilitates the acceptance of
relinquished federal jurisdiction over
certain military properties, subsequently
granting the State of Oklahoma concurrent
jurisdiction. This change is intended
to ensure that state law enforcement
services are readily available on military
installations, specifically for issues related
to juvenile delinquency and welfare. The
measure outlines a procedure for the state
to request this jurisdiction, including the
necessary documentation and requirements
for filing.

HB 1414 allows veterans who served as
military police for four or more years to use
those years of service to meet the four years
of peace officer experience required to run
for county sheriff. Veterans must present
their Certificate of Release or Discharge
from Active Duty form at the time of filing.
Lastly, the Secretary of the State Election
Board may create an additional form for
candidates to prove completion of the
required peace officer experience.



HB 2775 authorizes $41.6 million from
the Legacy Capital Financing Fund to
construct, refurbish, or expand military
facilities for the Military Department.

SB 450 repeals the Oklahoma Military
Base Closure Prevention Task Force.

SB 723 clarifies that certain positions at
ODVA are exempt from civil service rules
under the Civil Service and Human Capital
Modernization Act. m
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HB 1029 would have recreated the
Oklahoma Funeral Board until 2026 in
accordance with the Oklahoma Sunset
Law. The Legislature addressed this veto
by extending the board in HB 2286.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“HB 1029 would extend the life of the
Oklahoma Funeral Board — a state agency
that, by now, should be consolidated under
a more appropriate umbrella.

For too long, the Funeral Board has
shielded the funeral industry from
meaningful competition in the sale of
caskets, urns, and other funeral related
merchandise and services. These barriers
keep prices artificially high for grieving
families. Instead of modernizing, the Board
has preserved outdated regulations and
entangled businesses in unnecessary red
tape.

Before granting another sunset extension,
the Legislature should seriously evaluate
where this Board belongs and what its core
duties should be. Until the Funeral Board
becomes more accountable and responsive
to legislative oversight, its continuation
should not be rubber-stamped.”

%, Appendix |
Summary of Vetoes

HB 1030 would have extended the State
Board of Cosmetology and Barbering until
2025 in accordance with the Oklahoma
Sunset Law. The Legislature addressed
this veto by extending the board in SB 676.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“This bill would extend the life of the State
Board of Cosmetology and Barbering —
a state agency that, by now, should be
restructured or consolidated under a more
appropriate umbrella.

Before granting another sunset extension,
the Legislature should take a step back
and ask: What does this Board really need
to do, and who should be in charge of it?
Until the Board becomes more transparent,
responsive, and aligned with the needs of
today’s workforce, its continued existence
should not be taken for granted.”

HB 1157 would have modified regulations
over the sale of propane tanks.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“This bill does several things, and none of
them good. This bill grows government and
cedes authority to an unelected bureaucrat,
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giving Oklahomans less power over their
government. Additionally, it adds another
permit and gives the administrator the
authority to buy vehicles and add to our
state fleet. I have been clear that I will not
sign legislation that grows government and
makes it harder for businesses to operate
in Oklahoma. Earlier this year, I issued
Executive Order 2025-03, aimed at reducing
the state’s costly oversupply of vehicles.
Last year, I issued Executive Order 2024-
13, requiring state agencies review and
reform their permitting processes. This bill
flies in the face of both of those Executive
Orders by expanding the state’s bloated
fleet and adding yet another unnecessary
license.”

HB 1378 would have expanded the
agriculture sales tax exemption to include
timber and forestry management products.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“This bill would extend timber, seedling
production, and forestry management to the
list of sales tax exemptions for agricultural
products. However, timberland already
carries the lowest agricultural property
tax assessments. Instead of addressing
supposed inequality, this bill would allow a
double tax benefit for industries benefiting
from timberland. Before expanding sales
tax exemptions, the Legislature should
revisit the obscure valuation standards
that underpin these classifications.”

HB 1521 attempted to consolidate all public
high school graduation requirements under
one section of law.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“Although this law improves high school
graduation requirements, it mistakenly
repeals essential mandates for teaching
U.S. history, government, and foundational
documents like the Constitution and
the Declaration of Independence. Civic
education is not optional, it’s vital. The
benefits of this bill don’t outweigh the harm
of removing requirements that connect
students to our nation’s founding principles.



We should modernize education without
erasing our history.”

HB 1910 would have authorized the
Conservation Commission to establish the
Urban Agriculture Cost-Share Program.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“I appreciate the intent behind this
legislation, but I cannot support the
invention of new programs with vague goals
and no accountability. If local communities
want to start gardens or green spaces, they
don’t need a government mandate—they
need freedom, private partnerships, and
fewer obstacles. I won’t ask citizens to foot
the bill for a program that should be driven
by local businesses, nonprofits, churches,
or local governments.”

HB 2170 was an OTC administrative
process update bill that would have allowed
OTC to charge a fee for reissuing a tax
refund.

Governor’s Veto Message:
“Don’t stick a new fee into a cleanup bill.”

SB 37 would have allowed the Oklahoma
State Bureau of Investigation to respond to
a mass casualty event caused by a violent
crime without a request from local law
enforcement.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“T am committed to protecting all four
million Oklahomans from those who seek
to harm them, but growing government and
creating new, unfunded revolving funds
will not accomplish that end.

Should law enforcement feel it needs more
money to protect Oklahomans, they should
approach that request through the normal
appropriations process.”

SB 128 would have given tenants more
time to resolve their debts during the
eviction process.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“This bill seeks to expand minimum wait
times in eviction proceedings, making the
already burdensome and difficult process
of obtaining an eviction that much more
burdensome. The existing procedures
already provide adequate due process
and notice. This bill would also do the
opposite as intended. Instead of assisting
renters in arrears, it would incentivize
landlords to specifically not rent housing
units to low-income households, for risk of
greater eviction costs. We cannot overcome
economic realities with good intentions.”

SB 208 would have required the
Department of Wildlife Conservation to
create a system of registration and licensing
for any person or entity providing guiding
services.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“I refuse to sign legislation that creates
more unnecessary licenses for Oklahomans.
We haven’t needed a hunting guide license
for the entirety of our history, and I see no
need to create one now. I remain committed
to limited government that focuses on real
problems—not creating new hurdles to
operating a business or hunting in our
state.”

SB 333 would have allowed city or county
housing authorities to undertake housing
projects anywhere in the state after
coordinating with local governments and
existing housing authorities in the target
area.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“Much like a SB 580, which I vetoed last
year, SB 333, would allow local public
housing authorities to operate statewide
for construction and rehabilitation projects,
expanding their reach—and their eminent
domain powers—far beyond their local
jurisdictions. This threatens private
property rights and undermines local
control.

Housing authorities exist to meet local
needs under local oversight. Broadening
their authority statewide risks confusion,
overreach, and less effective service to the
communities they were created to serve.
Government should not insert itself into
private industry to dictate housing needs
across the state.”

SB 363 would have exempted institutions
that grant degrees used for religious
purposes within a religious organization
from being accredited by the State Regents.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“Private religious institutions shouldn’t
have to play ‘mother may I’ with the State
Regents. This bill is another example of
government stepping into a process it
shouldn’t have a role in. If a student chooses
to pursue a degree at a private religious
school, they should be allowed to do that
at the institution of their choice.”

SB 465 would have exempted institutions
of higher education from the maximum
number of event licenses issued annually
under the charitable alcoholic beverage
event license and charitable auction license.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“Institutions of Higher Education are
seeking special treatment when it comes
to auctions and events involving alcohol.
No other charitable groups—Ilike cancer
foundations or local nonprofits—would get
the same break this legislation provides.
Our laws should apply equally to everyone.
In any event, the Legislature should pass a
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law that removes the limit for all charitably
and non-profit organizations.”

SB 522 would have required the Oklahoma
Medical Marijuana Authority Executive
Advisory Council to organize a task force to
research and provide recommendations on
purchase and possession limits for licensed
medical marijuana patients.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“This bill would require the Oklahoma
Medical Marijuana Authority Executive
Advisory Council to organize a special
task force. This is like holding a meeting
to schedule a meeting about meetings.
Creating yet another advisory group is
bureaucracy dressed up as productivity.
We don’t need more panels, roundtables,
or reports that end up collecting dust. We
need action, leadership, and real solutions.”

SB 583 would have updated administrative
provisions used by OTC to determine tax
noncompliance.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“Government shouldn’t be in the business
of ‘gotcha’ with hard working business
owners. This bill expands the Oklahoma
Tax Commission’s authority to shut down
businesses over easily remedied paperwork
errors, even when those businesses worked
to fix those errors . Although the bill
would also extend the grace period for a
noncompliant businesses before closure,
I believe this bill will result in more
unnecessary business closures. I therefore
believe this bill will too harshly penalize
hardworking Oklahomans.”

SB 773 would have allowed the Attorney
General to obtain any information or
documentation pertaining to prescription
drug transactions. The measure also would
have outlined financial and procedural
obligations for PBMs involved in an appeal
of a final order issued by the Attorney
General.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“Oklahoma statute already gives the
Attorney General authority to go after
bad actors in the PBM space. This bill
hands additional power to an Attorney
General who has shown again and again
that he will abuse it. To date, he has used
his office to sue agricultural farmers, tech
companies and other Oklahoma businesses
for political gain.

After increasing his budget 68% since
taking office, and asking for another 204%
increase for next year, the Attorney General
is making another attempt to grow his office
and expand his authority. Senate Bill 773
gives the AG new tools to go after more
industries and keep the fines and fees levied
on them, without meaningful oversight or



checks on his actions. This bill gives him a
financial incentive to sue people.”

SB 799 would have modified statute
regarding digital communication between
students and school personnel.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“This is ripe for abuse. It gives bad
actors wide breadth to take advantage
of vulnerable youths and adolescents.
This bill lets schools replace parents with
‘alternate adults’ when the parent doesn’t
object to a mailed letter fast enough. That’s
not due process, that’s displacement. The
bill defines these alternates broadly,
including case managers or employees
from shelters or agencies, giving them
authority meant for parents. It doesn’t go
far enough in ensuring that effort is made
to find student’s parents or guardians.
It’s an erosion of parental rights. Helping
vulnerable and homeless students is
important, but sidelining families is not
the answer.”

SB 875 would have required a contracted
entity holding a capitated contract with
the Oklahoma Health Care Authority to
meet the 11 percent minimum primary
care services expense requirement or be
subject to a scoring penalty on subsequent
requests for proposals.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“This bill would mandate the Oklahoma
Health Care Authority (OHCA) to impose
steep, additional penalties on contracted
entities that fail to meet existing minimum
spending thresholds for primary care
services. It’'s unclear why legislation is
necessary for what seems to be a contractual
issue already within the OHCA’s and health
providers’ purview.”

SB 898 would have removed the
requirement for the disclosure statement
accompanying public construction bids to
be under oath.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“Eliminating the requirement for
construction bidders to submit disclosure

statements under oath weakens a
straightforward but meaningful safeguard.
Truthful bidding depends on accountability,
and having sworn statements under oath
is neither difficult nor burdensome. This
change not only undermines transparency
but also raises questions about who benefits
from avoiding a sworn declaration.”

SB 915 would have established
requirements for future commercial solar
facilities located on land leased by the
Commissioners of the Land Office.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“The Commissioners of the Land Office
(CLO) exists for one purpose: to generate
maximum returns from state-owned lands
for the benefit of public education. This
bill imposes unnecessary restrictions that
hinder the CLO’s ability to fulfill that
mission. Notably, this bill doesn’t place
the same restrictions on other lands. If this
is good policy it should apply to everyone
equally and not single out state owned land.

To serve our schools effectively, the CLO
must retain the flexibility to manage its
assets in the most profitable and efficient
manner. Every dollar lost to bureaucratic
constraint is a dollar not reaching our
classrooms.”

SB 924 would have allowed the Oklahoma
Employment Security Commission to adjust
the appeal process for unemployment
benefits to address possible fraud or
incomplete claim submissions.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“This bill would allow the Oklahoma
Employment Security Commission to alter
the administrative appeals filing process
in a way that creates uncertainty for the
people and businesses they serve. This
language is incongruous with the stated
intention of the bill, and its operative
terms are undefined in the statute.
Administrative appeals for unemployment
should be transparent and straightforward
and allow both the citizen and employer to
know what is expected without needing a
law degree. In short, this language would
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create ambiguity for both the Commission
and the citizens it intends to serve.”

SB 927 would have modified how certain
physician members of the Medicaid Drug
Utilization Review Board are appointed.

Governor’s Veto Message:

“This bill would give the Oklahoma State
Medical Association outsized control over
the Medicaid Drug Utilization Review
Board by effectively handing them three
of the ten appointments. If the Association
is only required to submit three names for
three slots, they're not ‘recommending’
anyone. They’re just making the
appointments themselves. That’s not a
check-and-balance—it’s a handoff of power.

If the Association can’t produce six names
to allow for a real selection process, maybe
it’s time we reconsider whether this Board
is still serving a useful purpose at all.”

Pocket Vetoes

The following measures were not signed
by the Governor within 15 days of
adjournment, resulting in a pocket veto.

HB 2513 would have required ODMHSAS
to designate an individual to implement
the requirements of the consent decree
resulting from Briggs et al v. Friesen et al.

HB 2645 would have provided a $20,000
income tax credit for doctors practicing in
rural areas.

HB 2646 would have exempted gambling
losses deductible for federal income tax
purposes from the $17,000 cap on itemized
deductions.

HB 2753 would have permitted rural funds
approved under the Oklahoma Jobs Act
before July 1, 2025, to continue receiving
certification for future applications.

SB 207 would have established the
Oklahoma Rare Disease Advisory Council
within the State Department of Health. m
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Editor’s note: The number of requested Senate bills and joint resolutions is not available at the time of publication.

Legislative Production

4 House Bills House {oint Senate Bills Senate J.oint I
Resolutions Resolutions
Requested 2,196 43
Introduced 1,928 35 1,185 22
Sent to Opposite Chamber 472 5 342 3
Conference Granted 11 39
Sent to Governor 269 3 252 3
Approved by Governor 70 0 77 0
Filed with Secretary of State 29 0 18 0
Vetoed 40 0 34 0
Line Item Vetoed 1 0 0 0
Veto Override Attempts** 30 0 20 0
\__Law without Signature 158 3 141 3/

**Qverride count includes bills that were successfully overridden in one chamber, but not the opposite chamber.
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House Bills

HB 1001 ....ccceeuvnene 14
HB 1003 .......ccccee. 14
HB 1017 ....cccoveeenne 13
HB 1021 ...cccvene 39
HB 1022 .................... 39
HB 1027 .....ccoeeeene 26
HB 1029 .....cccccecee 49
HB 1030 ......ccveeeeee 49
HB 1031 .....ccveeeeee 54
HB 1032 .....cccceneee 54
HB 1033 ......ccoceeee 54
HB 1034 ......ccoceueee. 54
HB 1035 ......ccccenee 54
HB 1052 ......cccocue 26
HB 1060 ..........c......... 38
HB 1062 .....ccccceeennns 3
HB 1066 .................... 14
HB 1075 ...ccccoveeene 12
HB 1076 .....ccccoeevennns 7
HB 1084 ......ccooeveenen. 9
HB 1086 ......ccoceueeee. 11
HB 1089 .....ccccceeneeee 30
HB 1091 ... 26
HB 1095 .............. 25, 39
HB 1096 ........ccc...... 11
HB 1103 ......ccoeee 44
HB 1122 .......ccce.. 29
HB 1124 ... 28
HB 1126 .....ccovveeeenen. 2
HB 1137 ..o 39
HB 1138 .....ccocve 40
HB 1157 ..o 49
HB 1160 .....ccccvveveenneee. 9
HB 1178 .....ccoeceeee 16
HB 1183 ..o 42
HB 1187 ..o 9, 24

HB 1216 ....cccocvveeennee. 7 HB 1486 ......cccoceueeee. 45
HB 1217 ..o 14 HB 1487 ...cccveee 40
HB 1222 .................. 39 HB 1497 ..o 9
HB 1256 .....ccocvveveennee. 7 HB 1498 .....ccoovvvneen 9
HB 1257 ..o 7 HB 1501 ..o 9
HB 1270 ....cccoeieenes 3 HB 1512 ..o 9
HB 1273 ... 14 HB 1516 ....ccocvvenneennee. 9
HB 1277 ..o 12 HB 1521 ..o 49
HB 1278 .....cccceeeeee. 31 HB 1541 .....ccee. 2,5
HB 1279 ............. 11, 43 HB 1542 .....cocvveneene. 2
HB 1282 .....cccccece 13 HB 1543 ....ccccoeeeee 21
HB 1287 .....cccceceeeee 13 HB 1547 ....cccceeneee. 26
HB 1356 ....coovvereennnne 2 HB 1549 ....ccocvveneenen. 5
HB 1360 ........ccoc..e. 14 HB 1563 .....ccccoeueeee 15
HB 1364 .....cccceeneeeee. 15 HB 1565 .......ccceueee. 35
HB 1365 .....cocvveneennen. 7 HB 1566 .................... 35
HB 1369 ......cccccecee 20 HB 1571 ..o 29
HB 1372 ............. 20, 42 HB 1574 ....ccccevenee 35
HB 1373 ..o 20 HB 1575 ..o 35
HB 1376 ......ccccecuee 24 HB 1576 ......ccccoeueee 32
HB 1378 .....cccoeveneee. 49 HB 1579 ....cccceeeeneee 35
HB 1389 ....ccovveeenne 32 HB 1585 .....coveeenne 34
HB 1392 .....ccccceceee 26 HB 1588 .....ccoeviiiins 2
HB 1393 ....ccccoeeeee 11 HB 1592 .....cccceeeeeee 15
HB 1412 ..o 12 HB 1595 .....ccooeeeene 15
HB 1413 ..o 14 HB 1597 ....ccccoevne 15
HB 1414 ........ 18, 25, 47 HB 1600 .................... 31
HB 1419 ... 40 HB 1601 ......cccocueeee. 12
HB 1422 ... 20 HB 1607 ......ccccocueee. 24
HB 1438 .....cccccvenneeee 21 HB 1628 .....cccccoeceene. 7
HB 1458 .....ccoeeeee 26 HB 1646 ......ccccoeueenneee. 7
HB 1460 ........ccc...... 14 HB 1658 ................... 33
HB 1462 ........cc.c....... 14 HB 1663 ........cccu..e. 25
HB 1465 .................... 12 HB 1664 .................... 25
HB 1466 .................... 11 HB 1666 .................... 21
HB 1483 .....ccceeeee 11 HB 1678 .....cccceueee. 18

Session in Review | 54

HB 1684 ........ccc....... 40
HB 1688 ......cccoeeueeeee 31
HB 1693 ........cccce. 15
HB 1727 ....ccccoeeee 12
HB 1731 ...ccooveeenn 40
HB 1732 ....ccccoevee 11
HB 1738 .....cccoeeeee 32
HB 1743 ....ccovveee 38
HB 1751 ..o 40
HB 1777 ...cccveee 38
HB 1789 ....ccovveenenne 40
HB 1808 ........ccc...... 33
HB 1810 ....cceeueneee 33
HB 1811 ..ccccovviieeee 9
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HB 1833 ..o 6
HB 1847 ....ccoveeene 35
HB 1850 .......ccceueee 38
HB 1863 .....cccceeueee. 35
HB 1865 ......cccoceueeee 18
HB 1886 ......cccecuee. 15
HB 1910 .....cceeeeneeee 50
HB 1935 ....ccoveeenne 14
HB 1940 ........cc......... 11
HB 1955 .....ccccceeneee 12
HB 1958 .....cccveeeenne 12
HB 1965 ........cc......... 35
HB 1991 ....ccccoeeeneee 16
HB 1993 .....ccocoeenne 16
HB 1995 ............. 12, 14
HB 1996 ........cccu.e. 40
HB 2011 ............ 31, 43
HB 2013 ............. 31, 40
HB 2036 .........cc.c....... 38
HB 2037 ....ccovveunenne 26
HB 2047 .....ccccceee 11
HB 2048 .................... 34



HB 2049 .....ccccevneenes 32 HB 2369 .....ccccovuvevenenee. 3 HB 2783 ...ccccvveieenes 24 SB 1108 ..cccveiieenne 41

HB 2050 .....cccoeuveneee. 33 HB 2374 ..coooveeveee 8 HB 2784 .............. 31-32 SB 111 cooiieieieieiee 8
HB 2052 .................... 33 HB 2376 ......cccuveee.. 16 HB 2785 .....cccuvveeee. 24 SB 1112 ..ooeeeiieee. 43
HB 2068 ...........cuuueeee. 16 HB 2392 .......cccuvvvveee 35 HB 2788 .....cccvvvvvrnns 27 SB 1126 ......cccuvveeeee.. 26
HB 2072 ....ccovvevveenee 5 HB 2459 .....ccveevenee 40 HB 2789 .............. 21, 27 SB 1129 ..ccvevveeee, 10
HB 2080 ......cccvvvveeen. 5 HB 2513 ......cccuveeee. 51 HB 2790 .............. 27, 35 SB 1135 v, 9
HB 2081 .....cccvvvvveeeee 35 HB 2516 .......ccvvvveeeeee 47 HB 2791 .............. 27, 36 SB 1136 ...coceeeerneeee. 26
HB 2082 .............. 24, 46 HB 2518 .....ccvveevenee 47 HB 2792 .....ccveuvnee. 28 SB 1137 o, 26
HB 2083 ......ccccuveeee.. 26 HB 2584 .................... 33 HB 2793 .............. 28, 32 SB 1140 ..ooeeeeiinnee. 26
HB 2084 .......ccvvvvvveen 7 HB 2610 .......ccuvvveeeee 42 HB 2794 ................ 8, 28 SB 1141 ..o 26
HB 2085 .....cceevverenee 7 HB 2619 .....cceeevnene. 38 HB 2795 .....ccveevenee, 19 SB 1143 ..ccveveeee, 19
HB 21083 .......ccuvee.. 37 HB 2622 .................... 15 HB 2796 .......ccuuee.... 28 SB 1150 ............... 27, 46
HB 2104 .........ouuvueeee. 16 HB 2645 ............ou.... 51 HB 2797 .....vvvvrnnnns 32 SB 1151 ............... 21, 27
HB 2105 .....ccveuvneee. 16 HB 2646 .................... 51 HB 2798 .....ccveevenee. 12 SB 1152 ............... 27, 30
HB 2108 .......ccuveee... 24 HB 2647 ... 35 HB 28083 ......cccouvvveeeen. 3 SB 1153 ..oooeeeiieee 26
HB 2110 ....ouvvvviniiinnnnns 8 HB 2673 .............. 25, 30 HB 2804 .......cevvvvvveeen 3 SB 1155 ..oeeeeiieee. 27
HB 2111 .cccveveee, 40 HB 2674 ......coevnee. 23 HB 2807 ..oeovvevverennee 3 SB 1160 ......... 16-17, 27
HB 2117 ..o 38 HB 2705 ........cuueee... 16 HB 2818 ......cccuvveeee. 16 SB 1168 ....ccoeevvveeen. 37
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HB 2147 .....ccuveeenee. 25 HB 2728 .....ccveeveneee. 28 HB 2837 ....ooovveveeeee 3 SB 1171 cvvveeeieieene 8
HB 2151 ..o 11 HB 2729 .......cccuvee... 28 HB 2888 ......cccouveeeee.. 13 SB 1178 .............. 27, 32
HB 2158 .....cccovvvvvneees 40 HB 2731 ... 28 HB 2903 .......cccvvveeeee 13 SB 1179 ..., 27, 35
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HB 2263 .......cconee. 40 HB 2774 .............. 27, 32 SB 1073 oo 2 SB 209 ...oocveieieirine 8
HB 2286 ................ 7,49 HB 2775 .............. 27, 48 SB 1075 oo, 7 SB 212 ...vvieeiin, 11
HB 2287 ceooveeeeeennn. 10 HB 2776 ... 24, 27 SB 1076 oo 6 SB 216 weevvreeeeenn. 41
HB 2289 .....cccoevneee. 23 HB 2777 .............. 27, 32 SB 1077 oo 2 SB 235 e, 12
HB 2295 ................... 31 HB 2778 ..o 35 SB 1083 .o, 5 SB 249 ....ooeeiein 29
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SB 287 ....ooveiieienn 42 SB 50 ..o, 42 SB 662 ....cceeverierinnn 5 SB 841 ...oovveiierenn, 11
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